We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Antigua”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at the Sandal's Grande Antigua from June 3 -10 for our honeymoon. First let me say that the grounds and rooms of the resort are absolutely beautiful. We chose to have butler service which is a must in my opinion, props to N'kosi and Sheldon we highly recomend them.

The pool seemed to be the main attraction at the resort and it was top notch. Most people seemed to just hang out at the resort and not leave, but we chose to partake in a few excursions, which we highly recommend. We chose to go on the zip line trip combined with the obstacle course, which was awesome.
We also got a taxi to take us to the south side of the island to a restaurant that served fresh snapper, called OJ's, very good food and perfect for a sunset dinner.

One thing I must say is that the resort does not give a true representation of the island which is very poor. I highly recomend to explore a bit see Antigua for what it is.

Downside to the resort- Nightlife is pretty lame, in that there was not much that went on past sunset.
Food was good- loved the barefoot restaurant, good seafood for dinner.

Non motorized sports were all free included in the all inclusive package- like kayaking, sailing, and snorkeling.

Great stay, and relaxing must stay!!

PS- July begins the rainy season there.

Room Tip: top floors of the tower were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank memphisboi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,946
    1,689
    607
    334
    257
See reviews for
162
5,656
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,796)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We had gone to Antigua for our honeymoon which was september 2010 and had the room with the plunge pool/butler to make our honeymoon extra special. Our butlers were Dionne and Natasha and they were amazing!!!! the resort was gorgeous, the different types of resturants were great!! every place we ate at had great food, the beach was really nice but the only thing we had an issue with was the vendors on the beach....it is a public beach so they are allowed to be there as long as they dont go on the resort property...other than that it was amazing that we went back to Antigua for our 1st anniversary....even for our anniversary we felt so special because Dionne and Natasha made us feel extra special even though we didnt get the butler room...people are so friendly in antigua and highly recommend this resort to everyone even not on their honeymoon!!!!

Room Tip: both rooms we had were great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beldonna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Absolutely brilliant, first time at Sandals will not be the last. There were people on the beach selling but a polite no thank you and they were on their way

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kell2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandalsCares, Manager at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My grown kids and their spouses surprised my husband and I with a trip to Sandals Antigua in April. Having never gone all inclusive, we were all hopeing that the food, service and facility would measure up to other trips. Wow, did they ever measure! Everything about it, the beautiful rooms, lush grounds, spacious pool, wonderful food was outstanding. My husband and I plan to return same time next year! PS...please add a sunset cruise to your plans...Miramar sailing...simply wonderful!

Room Tip: All our rooms where together on the first floor, main building....Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I were at this resort from May 30th-June 3rd for our nephew's wedding. It was our first time in the Carribean and a Sandals resort. I liked the all inclusive aspect of the resort. The grounds were beautiful and most of the staff very friendly. The food was very good and they did not skimp on the alcohol in the drinks. We had booked one of the Carribean cottages, but ended up with a nice room in the Hibiscus building. Based on some of the reviews I am glad of the change. The room was spacious, well air condidtioned...it was hot and humid during the time we were there! We also had a couples massage and it was wonderful!

My only negatives are the following:

The transportation from the airport was very unorganized!
The check in was very unorganized!
The poolbar in the Carribean section needs some tiles replaced and the "floating mats" were rather shabby.
We also did a snorkle trip through the resort. It was free and was only an hour long. We were taken to a reef not far from the beach and did not see any fish. It would have been nice if the guide would have taken us to another spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkerGirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
2.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,862 reviews
9.4 km away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
630 reviews
9.3 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,333 reviews
12.4 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
17.9 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price range (per night): ₹ 30,198 - ₹ 69,455
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing