We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Sandals Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Sandals Experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at Sandals Grande Antigua in April 2012 for our Honeymoon. This resort is beautiful and very well maintained. Everyone there is more than willing to make sure your stay is enjoyable and you have best experience possible. We stayed at the Caribbean near the smaller main pool. The Mediterranean Village rooms and Lobby are spectacular but I prefer a village like feel over a hotel feel so we chose the grove. The beach is beautiful and it helps that Anitgua is an amazing island in general. We did the circumnavigation tour and we loved it. I would highly suggest looking into that excursion when you get there. Shirley Heights on Sunday nights is also a must do. The food was pretty good for an all inclusive. Elanors is the best so make sure you make reservations as soon as possible and go at 8:30 am because they get filled up fast. My favorite meal was the Antiguan Lobster and Sugarcane Pork Tenderloin at Elanors. The service at OK Corral and Barefoot was EXTREMELY slow and not as friendly as most of the service you get from other places. Dan the restaurant manager is great and really cares about his guests, restaurants and staff. Althea at the pool bar is so much fun and is a whiz at remembering everything! The pizza was a pleasant surprise and was delicious. Overall we had a great stay and hope to be back to Sandals some day soon!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,826
    1,638
    592
    333
    249
See reviews for
153
5,486
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,745)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest HIlls,NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I just came back from Antigua . We stayed @ the Sandals . From the day we landed till the date of departure the hospitality sucks big time. It was our first time there and my husband ordered a steak never got it until later on, the server said that maybe my its mixed with the potato he said there is no way he can miss a steak. Other days our room was not cleaned till 3-4pm. We have stayed at Sandals in the Bahamas and we would go back there in a heartbeat. Even at the airport they were very rude. Staff member making a comment about how he is not making any money because the White people don't spend. It was just very unprofessional and service really suck.We would never go back to Anitgua.

Room Tip: Hospitality counts where ever you go. And you get poor hospitality than you just have go on trip adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MJM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRICS, Manager at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Warm greetings from Sandals Resorts International! You are very important to us and we welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please e-mail us at (customerservice@sandals.com). We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Tom and I spent 5 wonderful days here. The staff was the friendliest I've ever expeienced. The food was fabulous, even the pizza was great. We used most of the non motorized water sports. Sailing , Kayaking, and scuba diving all included. Great relaxing , yet active vacation. We have been to all the other Sandals. We decided this was our favorite !

Room Tip: Mediterranean Village 5th floor great view of grounds and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Sandals Grande Antigua on the second week of April and enjoyed every moment of it!
Very good service. Good accommodations. We stayed on the seventh floor MedVillage and had a spectacular view from our suite. Overall very good food. Cafe de Parish has one of the best coffee.
I would suggest a massage at the Spa; it's a bit expensive but well worth it. Very nice beach (public). Wi-Fi was available at ~$42.00 a week and reception was okay except for our room (none at all). The grounds were very lush. What else? We came on Saturday and customs did not take more than 15 min.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lelik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our third stay at a Sandals Resort and for the third time, we loved it. Last two were at Saint Lucia and Montego Bay Jamaica. Like all Sandals resorts the grounds are spectacular. The landscaping makes you feel like you are in paradise. The rooms are spotless. If you have a problem it's taken care of immediately. We stayed in a beach front concierge suite on the Carribean section of the resort. It was very convenient since we love the beach. The newer Mediterranean section was beautiful and a little more lively since the main pool is located there. All the restaurants were very good but we liked Eleanor's and O K Corral the best. They also have a Japanese restaurant, an Italian restaurant, a barefoot beach restaurant, and Bayside which changes the menu every night. All the places were very good. The water sports were great. We took a Hobie Cat (sailboat) out every day for about an hour. The sailing is good because there are always trade winds. The SCUBA was top shelf. Nice dive boat and very well organized. The beach at this place was nicer then some places. The sand felt like cotton. All in all we loved this place and would definitely go back. Almost forgot to mention, the staff at this place were terrific.

Room Tip: They have tree frogs that chirp all night. I love it and find it very relaxing but if you think it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobbyfdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
2.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
6.1 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
9.4 km away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
12.4 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
18.4 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price range (per night): ₹ 31,157 - ₹ 73,368
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing