We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly experience in Hawksbill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My first trip to Antigua and Hawksbill more than lived up to my expectations . The resort had a "faded gentility" about it, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room that overlooked the nearby beautifull beach was clean and serviceable. There was plenty of choice for mealtimes, and the bar-b-q lunch was always excellent. The cocktails were great and delicious and kept coming!! A good cross section of residents, who mainly joined in the fun. The entertainment each night kept you smiling. I have recommended this resort to friends, and would love to return in a group and know that we would be made most welcome again. It felt like being part of a big family. Great!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuzzytunbridgewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,178)
There are newer reviews for Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 553 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Quality of rooms poor with limited facilities and obvious signs of neglect/disrepair. Food quality low, especially lunch. Staff very mixed in responsiveness and customer focus. Beach good but not entirely private.

Hotel appears distressed with no investment in infrastructure or service levels. Some islanders commented on the lack of a clear future for the resort given lease troubles and corresponding lack of investment by owners.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was our 5th year at hawksbill.....we did miss last year which i think made this year so much more special along with very good friends.....I was so happy to see the same staff there, who are very friendly and helpful. All of them remember us and always welcome us home. It was great to see that the resort was the same awesome place and they were making updates. The food was great and the cooks are so friendly. The beaches are beautiful and i always love the walk to eden beach. It is always great seeing the regulars there that go around the same time. Also love meeting new comers. It was a week of great company, friends, relaxation and tons of laughs. So looking forward to next year......until then.....lots of pics and great memories!

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank jonsusan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was a beautifully located resort that had so much potential however is suffering from a significant lack of investment and an unmotivated and often lazy workforce. A handful of the staff were really charming, however the rest were extremely unmotivated, often rude and did not do anything more than they had to. I was extremely surprised by this - especially for a resort that had quite a few Americans attending who would be used to high standards of customer service.

There were simple flaws that unfortunately just ran through the whole resort. The fact you had to go into the laundry cupboard each morning to ask for a new towel - often feeling like you were inconveniencing the staff who were sitting down chatting - and the towels even then were such poor quality (even though we had to put down a deposit in case we stole any!!!!)

The rooms were of such basic quality I was really quite taken aback.

The food was average to poor, with limited choice and on the lunch menu there were the same things 4 days in a row even though they emphasised there would be change/variety.

Overall given the location and the fact we went with Virgin as it is one of their resorts, really disappointed and the resort reflected badly on my views on Antigua. This was not up to Virgin standards and in no way reflective of what we were expecting.

Room Tip: Probably you may have to upgrade as we were given the worst in the place!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaroStu186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a very disappointing resort. It is in a stunning location with good beaches, but it is let in so many ways. It is dirty (the rooms, communal toilets, eating areas), food is poor quality with limited choice, some staff were exceptionally friendly but on the whole they were grumpy and unhelpful.
The reason there are so many good reports on Hawksbill is that it has a very loyal clientel of people 65yrs+ who have been going for years, want it to stay the same and seem to be able to look past the faults.
If you want somewhere clean, where they make some effort, the food is good there are much better places to go.
The good points were that it was very quiet (30% occupancy) so we pretty much had a beach to ourselves which was lovely and very peaceful.
It also meant we could upgrade our room (we are sure they gave us the worst room in the place - number 51 if i recall correctly) so we paid almost $200 to get a beach bungallow. it was still dirtly but at least had some light and air con that worked.
Do not get a massage - $65 (fair price compared to the UK but it was terrible in a horrible room.
The holiday you get at Hawksbill is not what they present on the smart marketing video on their website. I have added some photos to show the dirt, these are from our room and note that we upgraded our room to one of their best ones.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are dreadful. Get aircon.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CharlieK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
9.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
7.5 km away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.8 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
11.0 km away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
401 reviews
22.5 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: ₹ 8,568 - ₹ 30,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing