We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Zemi Beach House, Hotel & Spa(Shoal Bay Village)(Great Value!)
US$ 509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoal Bay Villas(Shoal Bay Village)(Great Value!)
US$ 288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palms Holiday Suites(South Hill)(Great Value!)
US$ 276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carimar Beach Club(West End Village)(Great Value!)
US$ 342
US$ 308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
49
61
28
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
61
28
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrendezvous baydune preservelaid backbed was comfortablegreat food and drinksbankie banxstaff was very friendly and helpfulribsoff seasonlounge chairsblowing pointrum punchaghbeachcaribbeanislandanguilla
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My 2nd time in Anguilla & I chose Right for a small group of Family & Friends!Rendezvous Bay is by far the best beach on this island-every day for 14days I congratulated myself on my choice,& all 10+1/2 of us agreed wholeheartedly!This small family run hotel is absolutely what a beach holiday is all about!You shower & sleep in the room(which was large & very clean & a comfortable bed-all the screens kept Mosquitos somewhat at bay-windows & louvred screened back door let in the breeze)While in the Caribbean,living outdoors is a Pleasure!The grounds were lovely,we appreciated the shade of the palms,the beach with super fine white sand was spectacular & the staff made our stay so memorable.From Will(friend & manager)Lucette(reception & reservation & concierge service!!!)Tina,Chelsea & little Orrissia(at the restaurant)& many more-our fabulous cleaning crew,the grounds staff,the superb Madame Chef..we definitely felt pampered but as in one big happy family- Yes,a car is absolutely necessary-to get to a bank,to stock up on a few groceries(small refrigerator in room was appreciated)to wander & experience the many beaches & restaurants & evening entertainment!(Bankie at Dune Preserve-Smokey's with Darvin Mussington-Anacaona's Firefly Thursday evening Anguillean buffet & Mayoumba Folkloric Troupe-Smokey's again on a lively Saturday afternoon-Elvis & Pumphouse with another Mussington(Dilbert)doing some fine Reggae...& probably much more to discover next time)
We all loved our Anguilla Adventure & staying at Great House was Perfect!
We definitely will return & probably in greater numbers!Thank you Will & your Great Houseful!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar,the largest having a king bed & an extra bed with small kitchen(though only small refrigerator, double sink & coffee maker-microwave on request$$$)so if you need space request these! Beach view have early morning sunrise ,Garden view are more shaded.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbarbiemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Owned locally by the family,people who serve you are very friendly. Many have worked there for the many years that we have been going there. The food is excellent and the setting overlooking the bay is so nice.
Book the ferry from the airport, on the Dutch side of St Maarten to Anguilla.
The Great House is a short walk on the beech to the very fancy resort Cuisinart. Should you wish a massage etc you can book there.

Room Tip: Beech view. Best beech on Anguilla.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchwomanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

First time on Anguilla and loved it. The Great house was much less expensive then most beachfront places and had everything we needed. Very quaint and comfortable. The property is a bit older but rooms are very large and very clean. Bar, restaurant, pool, beach chairs, beach towels, very friendly staff. Quiet and laid back. Very short taxi ride to ferry terminal. Outstanding beach. Very calm sea. Short beach walk to Bankie Banx Dune Preserve. Anguilla in general is a bit pricey and remote but definitely worth the trip if you are looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Great House is THE place to stay on Anguilla. Yes,we once had ants in our room and once a centipede....and there are mosquitoes-but they are all over,and never in the room......and, as they say on island: dem gotta eat too! Just wear mosquito milk. It works. We have been here in all weather,months,and years-stayed there about 10 times and will be returning this year as well. It is the real experience. When it pours the sound on the tin roof is so amazing!! No where else like this. When business people go to lunch,they eat here. Also, those who live on St Martin and St. Barts stay here when they stay on Anguilla. Garvey's beach bar,Cuisineart,and Bankies are all on this beach! It is the best beach and the best restau-and the best stafff. My husband and I go every year,if we can. Will is the best! They will honour any request-room change,bed change,lobster lunch on beach,etc., that is reasonable and possible. I went once in May with my daughter. Once I was in the hospital on island and they were super-wonderful. I have celiac disease,and they cook me special gluten-free food with a smile! They are like family. That's it. Go and relax!

Room Tip: Room 104 is great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

didn't know where my friends booked our holiday. didn't know where anguilla was once i found out. arrived at the Anguilla Great House off a recommendation from a friend's grad school friend. i was so happy, it felt like home away from home.

super clean room/bathroom and beds, wifi in common areas, u.s. electricity outlets, portable a.c., a bar and restaurant, adjacent to Garvey's food shack, CuisinArt and another eatery where Banky performs, and on what locals call Anguilla's best beach-- what more could i ask for.. well, let's add stellar 5+ star service, even at what appears to be a modest hotel.

discovered many fellow guests were exchanging # of visit to anguilla stories "this is my 7th time, oh this is our 9th" i will be one of those good folks, and i will return to the Great House.

Room Tip: end units may be nice. we were near the center walkway, no problem. when you walk out from any room, you will be blown away at the simplicity yet profundity of the beach view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews