We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Islwyn Indoor Bowls Club & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Blackwood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting but I always find it s not dark inside and you seem to struggle to see what you have on your plate. Freshly prepared and piping hot food, with a choice of at least 3 meats to choose from. Usual veg and roast and boiled potatoes with lashing of gravy. Usually choose the trifle for dessert if I have room but all in all fab meal always

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 221helz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

A massive thank you to Leanne and her husband for helping us organise a small do for my mum's 80th birthday. They were both helpful and obliging and nothing was too much trouble.Thank you too to Michelle and the young bar maid who was on duty on the evening. The buffet was fresh and plentiful.A younger staff is just what is needed in the Bowls Club. Older staff are sometimes set in their ways and maybe less ambitious to encourage new clientel. A small gripe was that we would have had to have paid £5 a table for white table clothes. While I understand laundry need to be paid for this seemed very expensive.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank JEMwalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

I got married there last year.My wedding was a low budget wedding but the Islwyn bowls club was excellent value for money. The venue was free and you paid per person for foof. Food was fantastic and the staff were fab especially to two ladies there.I would recommend this place to anyone for a wedding reception or any other party .

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julielawson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Good reviews prompted us to book Sunday lunch for 4 adults and 2 young ones. The restaurant is clean, bright and not cramped. We had a table where we could sit around in comfort without the buggy and high chairs being a problem for us or others.
Soup starter was lovely, the prawn cocktail not special. Good traditional Sunday lunch with the meat served on the plate and vegetables in dishes - quantity ample. Three of us had pork and two had beef - the pork was very good (apart from rubbery crackling) and the beef was excellent. Desserts were not great. We will return because it's a really friendly place and very good value compared with many around.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BriantheVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Popped in on a Thursday, The club has specials every day, The food and service was brilliant, will definitely be visiting again, Heard you have to book for a sunday lunch, we will be.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Islwyn Indoor Bowls Club & Restaurant also viewed

Blackwood, Caerphilly County
Blackwood, Caerphilly County
 
Blackwood, Caerphilly County
Blackwood, Caerphilly County
 
Blackwood, Caerphilly County
Blackwood, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Islwyn Indoor Bowls Club & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing