We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it be customers are not always wrong.”
Review of The Rock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rock
Ranked #2 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Reviews of the Rock, some are effusive, good, nice etc. but there are a surprising number drawing attention to the attitude of the owners.
My experience would fall into the attitude category.
Yesterday from the Lunch Menu I selected Breaded Fish, with a polite request "please do not overcook the fish" The fish arrived fantastically overcooked, breading the color of well done toast, fish dry and tasteless. The waitress responded that's as the chef cooked it, as if to end the matter. Following her response and politely reminding her of "please do not overcook" request.
Somewhat nonplussed she asked did I want it replaced? Taken aback when I said please she dissapeared. Minutes later the owner appeared tableside. Proceeding to lecture on how fish should be cooked, how he knew better than customers. Attempt's to explain the request for not overcooked were ignored whilst he proceeded to finish the lecture. Followed by instructions for me (and my companions) to leave the premises immediately
At no time did the discussion get heated or loud but, Owners rules customer wrong.
The irony in this is apparent on a sign posted at the entrance.."Customers are reminded abusive behavior is not tolerated" No I guess they have the owner for that.
Sad really.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank Maesycwmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Recently had a great Sunday lunch - Menu was simple and the food was excellent.
we were served quickly and the staff were really attentive.
Food was very tasty .... in fact the Cheesecake was to die for !

couldn't recommend enough - a return visit is definitely on the cards.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belleam0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Impromptu visit to the rock for Sunday lunch both myself and my husband were very please with the food we were given I had beef and my husband had pork accompanied by fresh veg / cauliflower cheese a special mention for the roast potatoes, my husband said they were the tastiest he's had. Finished off by forest fruit cheesecake, apple pie and cream. There was a pianist playing which is rare in this day and age. Can highly recommend this place will definitely be going back where the owners and staff were lovely and very hospitable try a visit you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shazhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. We were so warmly welcomed and felt at home immediately. We stayed in the duck egg room. Everything you require is provided and was of excellent quality. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Evening meal was lovely and portions plentiful. Breakfast was continental and the choice provided was amazing and there was something for everyone. There is a supply of books if you had forgotten yours and even a supply of basic everyday medical items if required i.e paracetamol, plasters, lemsip etc. If you are in the blackwood area this is a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrIan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed over on a Friday night due to attending a friends wedding at The Maes Manor.

We arrived at lunchtime to be greeted by Jennifer in the car park showing us through to check in

From this moment on, nothing was too much trouble!

Paul kindly drove us to the wedding avoiding the need for a taxi, really kind gesture

We stayed in the Black and White room, that was nicely decorated and tastefully furnished

The ensuite whilst a little small has a good hot shower and the little touches such as shower gel and moisturiser were well received

Upon our return from the wedding we had a drink in the bar noting that our hosts had laid on nibbles free for the guests.

Breakfast was available in the morning in the lovely kitchen area with a wide range of options

We have been lucky to have travelled extensively throughout the world but rarely have we experienced such excellent customer service. Very good value for money.

Thanks Jennifer and Paul for making our visit to Blackwood memorable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackwood hotels
3.9 km away
The Halfway House
The Halfway House
#5 of 6 in Blackwood
98 reviews
0.5 km away
Maes Manor Country Hotel
Maes Manor Country Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blackwood
218 reviews
3.7 km away
Gellihaf House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Brewers Lodge
Brewers Lodge
#4 of 6 in Blackwood
38 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock

Address: Tredegar Road, Blackwood NP12 1DD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwood
Price Range: ₹ 5,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Paul and Jennifer Taylor extend a warm welcome to you here at The Rock. The former winners of the Enterprise Inns National Pub of the year competition have put their plans to emigrate down-under on hold. Having taken on the tenancy of The Rock in July, they have completely refurbished the entire hostelry throughout. We offer an elegant, well stocked bar, choice of real ales, interesting selection of wines and some old fashioned soft drinks which all catch the eye as you approach. The menu is comprehensive, predominantly fresh food based, catering for both those on the move lunchtimes, as well as those who prefer to linger. Our specials are innovative and changed regularly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing