We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gellihaf House(Blackwood)
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Brewers Lodge(Blackwood)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
56
21
9
6
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
21
9
6
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomesalmonfor sunday lunchpiano playerwelsh publittle touchesowners and staffnice atmospherefamily get togetherserved quicklyan evening mealcheesecakelovely mealmaes manorpaultablemenu
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Recently had a great Sunday lunch - Menu was simple and the food was excellent.
we were served quickly and the staff were really attentive.
Food was very tasty .... in fact the Cheesecake was to die for !

couldn't recommend enough - a return visit is definitely on the cards.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belleam0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Impromptu visit to the rock for Sunday lunch both myself and my husband were very please with the food we were given I had beef and my husband had pork accompanied by fresh veg / cauliflower cheese a special mention for the roast potatoes, my husband said they were the tastiest he's had. Finished off by forest fruit cheesecake, apple pie and cream. There was a pianist playing which is rare in this day and age. Can highly recommend this place will definitely be going back where the owners and staff were lovely and very hospitable try a visit you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shazhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. We were so warmly welcomed and felt at home immediately. We stayed in the duck egg room. Everything you require is provided and was of excellent quality. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Evening meal was lovely and portions plentiful. Breakfast was continental and the choice provided was amazing and there was something for everyone. There is a supply of books if you had forgotten yours and even a supply of basic everyday medical items if required i.e paracetamol, plasters, lemsip etc. If you are in the blackwood area this is a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrIan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed over on a Friday night due to attending a friends wedding at The Maes Manor.

We arrived at lunchtime to be greeted by Jennifer in the car park showing us through to check in

From this moment on, nothing was too much trouble!

Paul kindly drove us to the wedding avoiding the need for a taxi, really kind gesture

We stayed in the Black and White room, that was nicely decorated and tastefully furnished

The ensuite whilst a little small has a good hot shower and the little touches such as shower gel and moisturiser were well received

Upon our return from the wedding we had a drink in the bar noting that our hosts had laid on nibbles free for the guests.

Breakfast was available in the morning in the lovely kitchen area with a wide range of options

We have been lucky to have travelled extensively throughout the world but rarely have we experienced such excellent customer service. Very good value for money.

Thanks Jennifer and Paul for making our visit to Blackwood memorable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Had a family get together here on a Saturday lunch time,we have lived near here for 2 years and had been on about visiting since day one,pity we didn't as we realised what we had been missing out on after our visit,food was lovely,staff were very helpful and welcoming we all agreed that we would be visiting the Rock regularly.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews