We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
61
24
10
6
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
24
10
6
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome corned beef pie for sunday lunch curry wonderful hospitality great idea welsh pub ribeye visited this pub garlic mushrooms to start owners and staff all enjoyed our meals an understatement nice atmosphere served quickly business trip cheesecake
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Impromptu visit to the rock for Sunday lunch both myself and my husband were very please with the food we were given I had beef and my husband had pork accompanied by fresh veg / cauliflower cheese a special mention for the roast potatoes, my husband said they were the tastiest he's had. Finished off by forest fruit cheesecake, apple pie and cream. There was a pianist playing which is rare in this day and age. Can highly recommend this place will definitely be going back where the owners and staff were lovely and very hospitable try a visit you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shazhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. We were so warmly welcomed and felt at home immediately. We stayed in the duck egg room. Everything you require is provided and was of excellent quality. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Evening meal was lovely and portions plentiful. Breakfast was continental and the choice provided was amazing and there was something for everyone. There is a supply of books if you had forgotten yours and even a supply of basic everyday medical items if required i.e paracetamol, plasters, lemsip etc. If you are in the blackwood area this is a wonderful place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChrIan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed over on a Friday night due to attending a friends wedding at The Maes Manor.

We arrived at lunchtime to be greeted by Jennifer in the car park showing us through to check in

From this moment on, nothing was too much trouble!

Paul kindly drove us to the wedding avoiding the need for a taxi, really kind gesture

We stayed in the Black and White room, that was nicely decorated and tastefully furnished

The ensuite whilst a little small has a good hot shower and the little touches such as shower gel and moisturiser were well received

Upon our return from the wedding we had a drink in the bar noting that our hosts had laid on nibbles free for the guests.

Breakfast was available in the morning in the lovely kitchen area with a wide range of options

We have been lucky to have travelled extensively throughout the world but rarely have we experienced such excellent customer service. Very good value for money.

Thanks Jennifer and Paul for making our visit to Blackwood memorable.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Had a family get together here on a Saturday lunch time,we have lived near here for 2 years and had been on about visiting since day one,pity we didn't as we realised what we had been missing out on after our visit,food was lovely,staff were very helpful and welcoming we all agreed that we would be visiting the Rock regularly.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank janter_796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Belated Birthday family get together for lunch. Atmosphere was great and welcoming. We were 6 adults, 1 child plus a 7 month in a high chair all sat together with plenty of room. Menu for Sunday Lunch was as tasty as it looked too and enjoyed by all of us. Childs portion had plenty of meat on it plus all the vegetables. The owners Mr & Mrs Taylor made us welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful especially with our 2year old grandson. Selected this place for a homely lunch as I had been the week before for an evening meal with friends to celebrate my 60th. A good selection of evening meals and deserts at reasonably prices.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LizzieNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews