We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Hosting and Accommodation on the Isle of Wight”
Review of Osterley Lodge

Osterley Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osterley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Lake B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We as a family have been visiting the Isle of Wight for over 30 years, On this particular occasion we required a Guesthouse/Hotel suite for our stay.

It was a simple phone call to book 4 rooms and the prices were unbeatable. The rooms were excellent and as much as could be expected from a guesthouse, A review before this mentions they didn't have enough room to move around but this is baloney, unless you wanted to have a party inside your room.

In general the hosts were fantastic and bent over backwards to help out a disabled visitor and with some personal requests were dealt with instantly throughout our stay.

The rooms in general were fantastic, warm, had good quality lining, towels, televisions and bathing facilities.

There is a large lounge for the use of guests with many comfy chairs and television, Also a 24 hour bar is available.

On a final note - The breakfast is outstanding with a continental breakfast including options such as Croissants, Full English, Scrambled Eggs and of course one cannot forget the Fresh Poached Smoked Haddock.

Room Tip: Request the Osterley Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had stayed here about 8 years ago but could not remember what it was like. As soon as we walked in the door we knew, nothing had been changed it is in bad need of a update. We were taken to our room which was a suite, a small box with 2 seater sofa and small chair, there was kettle with tea coffee etc. Bedroom was cramped with double and single bed, no room to walk round. Bathroom was the worst, mix and match toilet and bath, blue and white, towels had seen better days, so bad we could not use then we went into Sandown to buy ourselves new ones. After using our towels went to dry them on radiator in bathroom but dust down the back was so bad decided better of it. Would not be staying here again and woulld not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara15208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

we booked your place at short notice and found it to be comfortable, relaxing and very much to our expectations. The bedrooms were nice and clean and the we had everything we needed. Mr. Horton fed us very well and it was nice of him to remember what we all ordered. The coffee was really good. Also, there were no bedbugs which is a big plus as one of us is quite sensitive. All in all, we had a really relaxing stay and enjoyed our holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriole1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We decided to spend a few days away for a bit of R & R and chose the Isle of Wight as we both love the Island. We had found Osterley Lodge on the Isle of Wight Website and decided it was in an ideal location (a lovely costal walk to either Shanklin or Sandown). Mrs Horton was really lovely and very helpful and at breakfast on our first morning she had given us a wedding card which was on our table. Our room, situated on the first floor at the front of the house which was a delux double with en-suite was clean and the bed was very comfortable and very quiet even though we faced the main road. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and it certainly set us up for the day. All in all we had a lovely break after our wedding and we would most certainly think of going back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Had booked into a hotel in Shanklin and was not happy with the accomadation so checked out straight away,Drove towards lake and saw vacancies at Osterley Lodge so stopped and enquired,glad we did as the owner was very helpful and gave us a double with ensuite on the ground floor, She showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome,Had a great nights sleep and considering it was rainning all night did not hear a thing.Had breakfast in the morning which was lovely,A full English cooked to order and served hot and not dripping in grease.Yet again was greeted by the owner very nicely.Would reccomend to anyone for a quiet nights stay and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Osterley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osterley Lodge

Address: 62 Sandown Road, Lake PO36 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lake
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and comfortable accommodation await you. Suite available with sitting room, also de-luxe rooms. Licensed. Choice of breakfast menu. Between Sandown and Shanklin we are near the Cliff Path, buses and train station. Secure storage for bicycles. Guests have access at all times. Private parking and garden. Regret no children under 5, or pets. Reduced ferry fares available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing