We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
8
5
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had stayed here about 8 years ago but could not remember what it was like. As soon as we walked in the door we knew, nothing had been changed it is in bad need of a update. We were taken to our room which was a suite, a small box with 2 seater sofa and small chair, there was kettle with tea coffee etc. Bedroom was cramped with double and single bed, no room to walk round. Bathroom was the worst, mix and match toilet and bath, blue and white, towels had seen better days, so bad we could not use then we went into Sandown to buy ourselves new ones. After using our towels went to dry them on radiator in bathroom but dust down the back was so bad decided better of it. Would not be staying here again and woulld not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara15208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

we booked your place at short notice and found it to be comfortable, relaxing and very much to our expectations. The bedrooms were nice and clean and the we had everything we needed. Mr. Horton fed us very well and it was nice of him to remember what we all ordered. The coffee was really good. Also, there were no bedbugs which is a big plus as one of us is quite sensitive. All in all, we had a really relaxing stay and enjoyed our holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriole1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We decided to spend a few days away for a bit of R & R and chose the Isle of Wight as we both love the Island. We had found Osterley Lodge on the Isle of Wight Website and decided it was in an ideal location (a lovely costal walk to either Shanklin or Sandown). Mrs Horton was really lovely and very helpful and at breakfast on our first morning she had given us a wedding card which was on our table. Our room, situated on the first floor at the front of the house which was a delux double with en-suite was clean and the bed was very comfortable and very quiet even though we faced the main road. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and it certainly set us up for the day. All in all we had a lovely break after our wedding and we would most certainly think of going back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Had booked into a hotel in Shanklin and was not happy with the accomadation so checked out straight away,Drove towards lake and saw vacancies at Osterley Lodge so stopped and enquired,glad we did as the owner was very helpful and gave us a double with ensuite on the ground floor, She showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome,Had a great nights sleep and considering it was rainning all night did not hear a thing.Had breakfast in the morning which was lovely,A full English cooked to order and served hot and not dripping in grease.Yet again was greeted by the owner very nicely.Would reccomend to anyone for a quiet nights stay and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Isle of Wight, and for the fourth time we chose to stay at this really cosy friendly guest house. Mrs and Mrs Horton have always been polite, and accommodating. We like the place because it's very quiet, especially at night, even though it's on a main road. Our comfortable, good sized, clean room with en-suite, TV, tea and coffee facilities, was on the first floor, overlooking the quaint back garden, and even with the windows open it was still quiet. Although there are 8 rooms rented, and is always mostly full, you can barely know that there are other guests staying. We only find out that there have been more arrivals when we go down for breakfast, and are surprised how we never hear anything, or anybody.

So, how this Marja can say it was noisy, it's hard to understand. We can never hear the cisterns filling, let alone any other plumbing noises or banging. Not a footstep either.

As regards to Breakfast, this is something both I and my husband look forward to, as there is a variety every day, apart from bacon, eggs, and sausage, which I have to mention are delicious, especially the bacon, is really tasty, None of your run of the mill cheap supermarket stuff, I'm sure.
Breakfast is always plentiful, and there is a choice of cereal as well, yoghurts,, jams, and juices. So you are not only treated to a full English cooked breakfast, but you have the added advantage of having cereal to your hearts content. What more can you ask for. Set you up for the day.
Mr and Mrs Horton are always ready to please, very polite, and helpful, and very nice that we keep going back to this Gem of a B&B through our own choice. We feel at home, and compliments nicely our yearly trip to the Isle Of Wight. Especially as it is in a very good location within short distance of the beach at SANDOWN, and the lovely village of Shanklin. The Osterley Lodge has plenty of off street parking, and if needed, the bustops are within walking distance.
Shame the weather was against us this time, but we still enjoyed our week, had a relaxing time, and every morning we woke up fresh and well rested after a very quiet good night's sleep.
Looking forward to our next visit already, so watch out Mrs Horton, because we will be in touch again as soon as we make plans.
My husband and I recommend this B&B without hesitation. Perfect location for a quiet break away. And good value for money. *****

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarionS575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews