We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
33
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning location furnished to a high standard steam train dart valley the river charlie annex ferry views
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We spent 4 nights as guests of Charlie and Jelena just a few weeks ago and were made to feel like long-lost friends. The barn has been converted beautifully and our ensuite B and B was exquisite at the end of a galleried landing. Charlie's breakfasts were super - especially the mushrooms! The setting is lovely, as the property sits high above the River Dart with walks possible from the door! We are keen to go back in summer months and enjoy dining al fresco and soaking up the scenery. A little gem!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muddyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We traveled here from the US and this was our second visit to Greenway Barn B&B...we just longed to return to this beautiful B&B in an outstanding, beautiful place! We wanted to explore the area more, too. The 'barn conversion' is absolutely wonderful...retains the spacious feeling and yet is very welcoming. Beautifully furnished, in simple, elegant style, and very comfortable. We met English friends here and they were delighted, too. Charles, the host, is really helpful and knowledgeable...and does a great breakfast. We spent 3 nights here, as there were several things we wanted to do in the area. We took the little steam train up the Dart River...an interesting experience...especially for 'train buffs'..and very scenic. Then on Sunday afternoon, we drove over to the shore near Burgh Island, and were 'transported' across the tidal area to the island where we had a beautiful Sunday lunch. A really great experience in the lovely Art Deco Hotel...where so many films have been made...and it is convenient if you are staying at Greenway Barn. A pub in the little village near the B&B is a really good place for dinner, too. Agatha Christie's house, Greenway, is just a short drive or hike away, too...and really worth a visit. She said of Greenway, "this is the most beautiful place in the world"... well, she hadn't seen Yosemite (that is where we live), but it is truly a beautiful place...and we truly enjoyed our stay at Greenway Barn B&B. The views across the Dart River are indeed beautiful!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yosemiteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Stayed for one night the accommodation setting and views were stunning. Greenway Barn sits high at the end of a wood looking down over the river Dart towards Dartmouth.
Couldn't fault anything and would certainly stay again.
Charlie makes you feel at home and makes a mean breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank a1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We enjoyed a lovely one night stop in a very warm welcoming home. Charlie was a very good host and cooked a wonderful breakfast as well as making a roaring log fire for us. Will return at some time.We had the master bedroom with en suite which was superb.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Lovely accommodation in the annexe for our family with 2 teenage children. Fabulous views over the River Dart and quiet surroundings. Charlie is a great host and cooks a great full English breakfast to set you up for the day. Very welcoming, giving you access into the main house to use the games room and wonderful hot tub out the back. Although the 2nd twin room is small, it was fine for our teenagers. They also loved the fact that the wifi connection in the annexe was really strong and reliable! The barn is a lovely walk along the Greenway trail to Greenway House and the ferry across to Dittisham. Would definitely return for longer next time to explore the area further and soak up the wonderful surroundings.

Room tip: We were very happy in the self catering annexe..didn't see the bedrooms in the main house to compare.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews