We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
36
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic views been coming here for years swimming pool perfect holiday the river full kitchen coastal walks short walk dartmouth castle local area on arrival steam train high standard timeshare apartment tennis court
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

At top of a VERY steep hill. No options for restaurants or groceries. Too steep and narrow to drive. Too far to use as a home base for travelling each day. Had to pay high extra for heat that isnt great due to high ceilings. Our room had no view though our room otherwise felt like a fishbowl with all the windows facing the driveway, so had to keep the curtains all closed making it a dark cave. If had known this would never have stayed. Would have chosen to stay a couple of days on the Dartmouth side of the river otherwise. Ended up renting something elsewhere for 4 of the 7 day week rental. Kingswear Park was not an inexpensive rental and we are not travel snobs but this place would only be good for someone not wanting to leave it EVER who had brought enough supplies to eat for a week and who wanted to stay in their room the entire time as the roads are unsafe to walk or drive on!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank candbirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elinor G, General Manager at Kingswear Park Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us but feel some of the comments you have made in your review are an unfair reflection on Kingswear Park.

First of all, I would like to address your comment that Kingswear Park is “not an inexpensive rental”. As you exchanged through RCI and did not book with us direct, we do not set the price you paid for you exchange; this is entirely decided by RCI. We have made comparisons to other local accommodation and we are very competitive in our rental pricing if you book direct. Further, you were clearly upset about the apartment you stayed in. It is unfortunate that this apartment is the only one which does not have any form of view, however, it was the only apartment RCI had been allocated and the rest of the week was either owned or already booked; we would and do always consider moving guests to an apartment with a view if the opportunity is there. If RCI had been allocated more than one apartment, we would always allocate guests to the sea view rooms first.

To address your first point, yes, we are atop quite a steep hill but our “hilltop position” is stated within the first three sentences of our RCI listing. We do offer a basic grocery delivery for your arrival on Saturdays, we send out a booking form for these four weeks before the arrival date we received a completed form but you did not order groceries. At the same time, we send out a map which informs our guests where the nearest supermarkets are so they can pick up any larger grocery supplies they need on the way.

I also question why you say you chose to rent somewhere else for 4 of the 7 nights but didn’t check out form us until night 6.
It states on the confirmation you would have received from RCI that there is an additional charge for electricity used during your stay. It is clear from the photos on our RCI listing that we are an old-fashioned building with architecture to match, and this does include high ceilings in some apartments. However, your bill was actually lower than the two other one-bedroom apartments which both have regular height ceilings.

Finally, I want to address your comments that the roads around Kingswear Park are “unsafe”. I understand that coming from Canada, your roads are much wider than those in the UK. This is something out of our control. You were informed by my Office Manager on arrival that the village does have a local taxi driver who is willing to do trips up and down the hill as well as further afield if you were unsure about driving on UK roads. With regards to walking, the roads do not have sidewalks along them for most of the walk down to the village, however, locals regularly walk up and down them and come to no harm. My Office Manager also reassured you of this fact when you checked in. As for being far away from local attractions, this is something our guests usually prefer and a point that can be seen clearly when looking on a map.

I say again that I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay at Kingswear Park but I could not let these untrue comments go by without being responded to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

The resort is self is wonderful, stunning views. It’s very quiet and piece full. Rooms are excellent size fitted 4 adults and 2 children well, although the kitchen was tiny and only room for 1 person in it. The respite is at top of hill, so car was needed up and down. I think it would of been very helpful if the resort offered transport up and down, even if a small charge was paid, as it meant someone had to drive and this was difficult due to limited parking in town and become expensive with parking costs.
However it’s a lovely place which is kept to a high standard with a swimming pool, thank you to all x x x

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We have owned a week in Drake for about 15 years now but have not had a chance to use it ourselves for about 10 years until we packaged the kids off and headed down this year. The apartment has been completely refurbished which has made it a really comfortable and well equipped space. Nice big sofas and lovely big bed, loads of space and modern kitchen equipment. The swimming pool was absolute bliss in the hot weather. What really sets it off is the location overlooking the Dart estuary and Dartmouth. Spent many hours with a cold beer(s) just watching the boats sail up and down. Elinor and the team really look after you while you are there and the apartments are spotless, great job :-)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

We spent a lovely week in September 2016 at this beautiful location. The rooms were quite spacious, nicely furnished and had a full kitchen. The grounds were so lovely and the kids enjoyed the indoor pool daily. The walk to town was steep to say the least and the climb to get back was a vigorous workout, but it was worth it to catch the scenery both ways of the Dart river. I highly recommend this place for all these reasons and more, it was ideally situated to tour this part of England, we travelled to Berkley Castle, Stonehenge, Exeter, Torquay and we took the ferry to Dartmouth. What a wonderful trip, what a darling accomodation!!!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexandria2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elinor G, General Manager at Kingswear Park Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We always love to hear that our guests enjoy the stunning views as much as we do. We hope we can welcome you back in the future to continue exploring all the wonders of our piece of heaven. Kind regards, Elinor and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We are timeshare members and this was an exchange. The apartment was up to timeshare standard but there are no other other amenities other than a small swimming pool which we didn’t use. There is a small lounge with a well used pool table that frankly has see better days. It is one of the smallest timeshare units we have exchanged into so I suppose this is the reason there is nothing much here, which is the reason I have marked it as I have.
Kingswear as a place is really disappointing as there is very little in the way of anything, but what is there you can’t get near them as the only parking is at the marina at the other end of the village; and not cheap to park. Kingswear Club is right at the top of the village and walking is very difficult, no pavements, narrow streets and on a hill that would give you a heart attack! meaning you have to take the car whenever and wherever you go out. It’s also at the end of the line (literally) so you either has to go back on yourself for miles, Brixham is the closest at 4/5 miles away, or spend £5/ £8.50 return and take the ferry to Dartmouth. Obviously the roads around here are not the greatest to drive having a lot of narrow lanes and the amount of cars that are everywhere makes it very stressful so it maybe peaceful when you get here but...............
I’m not normally this negative about a place but try to be truthful and accurate as I can. As you may have gathered, we will not be rushing back here anytime soon.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Allmac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elinor G, General Manager at Kingswear Park Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you had expected. I am pleased you liked your apartment but yes, as you say, we are a very small resort.I am unsure of the exact date you stayed but we do have other activities throughout the grounds, such as a croquet lawn, mini golf course and tennis court; I can only apologise if the weather hindered you from using those facilities.
As a rural location, the roads can seem scary if you are not used to driving down country lanes but there is a bus service from the village which can connect you to anywhere in Torbay. There is also a local taxi who is willing to do trips to and from the village (or further afield), we just recommend you book him in advance. His number is listed in the Guest Information folder in all apartments.
Again, I am so sorry to hear that you did not have as good a time as you were expecting and hope that you might consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards, Elinor and the Kingswear Park team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews