We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 245
US$ 237
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$ 209
US$ 189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
US$ 257
US$ 230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$ 325
US$ 240
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 146
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Raro(Avarua)
US$ 132
US$ 128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 109
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 305
US$ 295
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,227)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
279
370
248
158
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
370
248
158
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rarotongan beach resortfishactivities hutgarden roombeachfront suitecook islandsmarine reservecaptain andyscrabtable tennispaddle boardsa bit tiredfamily holidayspa bathdaily activitiesbeach sideoutdoor shower
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Where to start? The only positive thing this resort has to offer is a good location with a beautiful lagoon and good snorkeling. But that is all.

The rooms we had (we had 3 + 2 nights as we had a short stay in Aitutaki) was dirty and falling apart. The linens was dirty, the ashtray was full of old cigarets (we do not smoke) it was just awful. We tried to ask for a different room, we even offered to pay for it ourself, but the staff was very unfriendly and not interested in helping us at all!

Some other fellow Scandinavia’s also overheard the staff calling us stupid ect when we were a few meters away and couldn’t hear them!

And it goes on like this our entire trip... the staff in the restaurant is not at all interested in working. They seem clearly annoyed when having to take our order.

The sad thing is if you look around, you can’t see any smiles on the guest which is quite rare when you are visiting a resort in an exotic destination. We also got to talking with other guest last that confirmed that they too felt it was horrible. Considering what you pay to stay here it’s outrageous!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2018

Kia Orana May,
Thank you for your feedback.
I would have personally welcomed the opportunity to meet with you to address your concerns, and we also have a Duty Manager available from 7am-10pm who would have been more than happy to assist you.
If indeed a staff member behaved inappropriately, as you allege, please send me specific details and I will investigate this immediately.
Kia Manuia,
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

This Resort was fabulous, we had so much fun, night snorkeling, Brian the activities organizer was amazing . It was my first time snorkeling so was a bit unsure, no worries Brian took care of us. What an asset to the Resort Parue tying,ukulele teaching, l don't think there was much Brian couldn't do. It rains a lot on Rarotonga but who cares its warm. Swam in the sea and the pool snorkeled in the sea all in the rain. The coral was amazing and the fish wow. there is more when it rains. The local markets are great. The staff couldn't do enough to make sure we had a great time from the girls at reception, Julie in the shop lovely lady. The wait staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Just one thing it is not a new resort so don't expect fancy rooms. They were okay for us fridge tv tea coffee milk. if you ask you can get a plunger if you need lots of coffee like l do. We are already planning a return trip and taking more friends

Room Tip: garden room up stairs so you can have the door open at night
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank truckstop66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your lovely review.
I am delighted to hear you found the resort fabulous and had a great time experiencing the compliementary daily activities we have on offer for guests.
I have passed your feedback on to Brian and Julie, who were both thrilled to hear of the positive impact they had on your stay, as well as our wait staff and receptionists.
The resort is currently undergoing a refurbishment on all guest rooms and public areas.
It is fantastic to hear you are already planning a return visit with friends to share the wonderful Island hospitality.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist with a return visit.
Kia Manuia, and all the best for 2018.
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We landed in Rarotonga early on Good Friday and since we couldn't check in to our accommodation until noon decided to venture to the Rarotongan for breakfast. Upon enquiring at reception if non-staying people could purchase breakfast I was advised by one of the friendly ladies there that we could. Five seconds later a bald fellow, who also worked there, rudely interjected BUT THEY WILL HAVE TO PAY! Of course we were going to pay! I was really shocked by how inhospitable and blatantly rude this guy was. We should have taken this as a warning and high tailed it out of there as there was worse to come...

So off we went to get breakfast. What a shocker. There was very little on offer and I really feel like I paid $32 for a piece of toast and not much else as this was the only decent thing to eat there. There were no eggs (additional charge of at least $14) and the rest of the food was very poor. I could certainly not imagine staying at this "resort" and eating this "food" every morning.

The thing that shocked me most was that I saw one of the guests filling up her water bottle from one of the drink dispensers (the part of the bottle where her mouth had been was firmly attached to the dispenser, and her fingers were also all over the part that dispenses the liquid) ... this sort of thing is BANNED on cruise ships for obvious reasons ... here was this girl filling up and to make it worse a staff member was looking on, waiting to fill the dispenser up further. Ewww ...

The floor in the "restaurant" looked like it hadn't ever been cleaned during its lifetime. The table cloths were stained with muck ... I am gobsmacked that a "resort" like this could possibly have such a foul place for its guests to eat.

I was really annoyed we paid so much for the terrible "breakfast" but at the same time was SO thankful we weren't staying in this dump. I can't vouch for the rooms but the outside of the resort looks very dated. I reckon the only thing going for this place is its location on a gorgeous beach with lots of fish.

We cycled around the island several times and trust me, there are much better places to stay. I'm sure this place only survives because of "fly/stay" packages offered by travel agents as nobody in their right mind would choose this place when there are so many other great places on offer.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank BeingisBelieving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 April 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your feedback and that of the other members of your group.
Even though you were staying elsewhere in accommodation that does not have a restaurant, we were delighted to be able to assist you with offering you breakfast on a Public Holiday when almost all restaurants on the Island are closed.
For guests staying with us, the tropical breakfast buffet is complimentary and we are honoured to welcome back many thousands of returnee guests each year.
The continental tropical buffet includes seasonal fresh island fruits, fresh fruit salad, home-stewed fruits, Bircher muesli, homemade yoghurt, fresh-baked breads, pastries, muffins & croissants, cereals, toast, spreads, fruit juices, tea & coffee, with other hot breakfast options available for a small charge.
Meals and drink prices are in line with what you pay at other similar outlets around the island, which are more like Australia and New Zealand than Bali, and cheaper than Fiji. Please note that as we are a small tropical island in the middle of the South Pacific, apart from some locally grown fruit and vegetables, we need to import many items. During Public Holidays there is a 15% surcharge.
The Resort has a Duty Manager available from 7am – 10pm daily who would have been happy to meet regarding your concerns, and I would have been happy to meet with you personally as well.
Kia Manuia
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We chose to spend our Easter there in a twin bedroom suite with two kids. The room was great for a family. What the resort's website doesn't say is that kids club and babysitting are unavailable on public holidays, this majorly impacted our experience as kids club was a large reason for us choosing to stay there. We also found most of the activities printed on their daily newsletter didn't go ahead. We were told this was due to short staff which also affected the service at the restaurant and bar. Staff were pleasant but seemed stretched. There was no-one to come back and take drinks orders etc. The food we ordered was very ordinary and expensive for what we got. Eg $10NZ for a bowl of fries (due to Easter surcharge). Go out for tea if you stay there. The beach was nice and ok for all day swimming and the water toys were good too. Overall, the location was good, but the service was lacking.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James-Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 April 2018

Kia Orana Cindy,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our direct beachfront location with the best all-tide snorkeling on the island, as well as the complimentary use of the water sports equipment.
Our meals and drink prices are in line with what you pay at other similar outlets around the island, which are more similar to Australia and New Zealand than Bali, and definitely cheaper than Fiji. Please note that as we are a small tropical island in the middle of the South Pacific, apart from some locally grown fruit and vegetables, we need to import many items.
As is common in the hospitality industry, there is a 15% surcharge in our restaurants and bars on Public Holidays.
We are pleased to be able to offer our guests a babysitting service. Reservations for this service are subject to availability of approved staff members and must be reserved 48 hours in advance. We apologise if, due to demand, we were not able to provide a babysitter at the times you would have liked. Children over 4 years old can enjoy the supervised Kids’ Club between 9am-12noon, 2pm-5pm and 7pm-9pm Monday to Saturday. Please note that the Kids’ Club is closed on Public Holidays.
The Resort has a Duty Manager available daily from 7am to 10pm who would have been happy to meet with you to address any concerns you had during your stay, and I would have been also pleased to meet with you personally.
Kia manuia
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Sadly one of the worst dining experience I have ever had.
My husband and I and two of our friends had the misfortune of eating breakfast at the buffet. We had to pay $27 plus holiday surcharge,each. At first glance it looked ok, and being a poor Island we felt it ok to pay a little more to help the locals.
It was our first day on the Island, we were tired and hungry and didn’t have time to explore much for somewhere to rest and have breakfast whilst waiting for our accommodation to be ready nearby.
The hotel looks nice from the outside and also online. There is access to a very nice looking beach, with some amazing fish. The young lady in the restaurant that took our money was very pleasant and even apologised for the cost as it was a public holiday. She also said to us “you can eat as much as you like”. I now know why.
The fruit looked ok, nothing spectacular and they had pancakes that tasted ok too, but who would pay $30 just for a bowel of fruit or 2 pancakes.
We basically settled for toast, croissants with a little cheese, the butter had all melted so we gave that a miss, and a couple of pancakes as the hot food offered was so lacking and undesirable, spam as an option??? No bacon for those that enjoy meat, no eggs either and if you wanted eggs you had to pay more! I looked at the Burcher muesli and looked away, it looked like something you would use for bricklaying, I know that sounds harsh but honestly I wouldn't touch it.
The floors were grimy and the tablecloths looked like they hadn’t been washed in a decade. We have eaten food from many places around the world and have had better value and quality in some third world countries.

My suggestion to anyone booking this place to eat – is DON’T!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Davina01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 April 2018

Kia Orana Davina,
Thank you for your feedback.
Even though you were staying elsewhere, we were pleased to be able to assist you with offering you breakfast on a Public Holiday when almost all restaurants are closed.
For guests staying with us, the tropical breakfast buffet is complimentary.
The continental tropical buffet includes seasonal fresh island fruits, fresh fruit salad, home-stewed fruits, Bircher muesli, homemade yoghurt, fresh-baked breads, pastries, muffins & croissants, cereals, toast, spreads, fruit juices, tea & coffee, with other hot breakfast options available for a small charge.
Meals and drink prices are in line with what you pay at other similar outlets around the island, which are more like Australia and New Zealand than Bali, and cheaper than Fiji. Please note that as we are a small tropical island in the middle of the South Pacific, apart from some locally grown fruit and vegetables, we need to import many items. During Public Holidays there is a 15% surcharge.
The Resort has a Duty Manager available from 7am – 10pm daily who would have been happy to meet regarding your concerns, and I would have been happy to meet with you personally as well.
Kia Manuia
Haimona Browne, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews