We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

hi this was my third trip to the rarotongan resort and also the best i went with my 7 year old daugher and the kids club is excellent as i was on my own she was safe there so i could snorkel by myselk and get a drink from the bar i also met some wonderful people which i plan to stay in contact with i believe a hoilday is what you make of it i went to fully relax and unwind and the rarotongan is ideal for that and after a while you learn to relax and get on island time will be back

Room Tip: beachside rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela261316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Kia Orana Angela261316,

Thank for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

It was our sincere pleasure to be able to welcome you back to our Resort for a third time :-)

We certainly have a large selection of activities and facilities available to keep guests of all ages entertained during their tropical sojourn in paradise!

Not only do we have popular Moko’s Kids Club for children 4 – 11yrs, we also have our Banana Beach Playland Creche for infants 0 – 3yrs!

And our stunning Aroa Marine Reserve can keep both children and adult’s entertained for hours on end.

It’s also great to hear that you made a few new friends while you were with us – we look forward to welcoming you back to your “home away from home” in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    320
    219
    138
    155
See reviews for
506
365
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa was the location for my daughter's March 2012 wedding. The Resort wedding planner, Laisa Browne, was absolutely amazing. Laisa has the planning down to a fine art; nothing was too much trouble and her vast experience in coordinating functions meant that the ocassion ran smoothly and was completely stress free. Our 70 guests were treated to a wonderful wedding celebration; the venue (Treetops) looked beautiful, a stunning selection (and amount) of delicious food, the bridal flowers were gorgeous and the wedding cake simple but moist and perfect for an island wedding.
My family stayed at the resort's Villa Onemaru; a 3 bedroom villa with private pool, fantastic sound system, located a few hundred metres down the road from the resort. This was perfect for entertaining our wedding guests; we held the hens party (prior to a bus trip around the island) and also a post wedding get to-gether the day after the wedding. We visited the main resort for breakfast each day where the food selection was good; the fruit selection included avodados and the best passionfruit I have ever eaten (yum!!). The resort restaurant probably could do with a make over but as long as your expectations aren't too great then you'll be very happy.
A SPECIAL THANKS to Laisa for a memorable, beautiful wedding ocassion that we will always treasure.

Room Tip: The Villa Onemaru was fabulous for a family wedding or get-together. If staying in the main resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolandphil106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Went to Rarotonga for a family hol on 24 Dec til early Jan2012. Great place to stay for a holiday esp with children ....... the adult part only part has great pool we visited in the evening for a drink at the pool. We stayed inthe main resort as had a 4yr old and had 6 adults as well. Best place to stay and experience the beautiful island of rarotonga. The rooms we had were right by the water so could get up and head for the water wheneva we wanted and the beach is well cared for by the staff. You must stay at the Rarotongan was great. Will be going back there for sure.
The staff were very helpful and we hired cars from the hotel and booked tours from there also.
Loved the place and the staff. Memorable holiday and weather was great only 1 wet day in 9days

Room Tip: Ground level beachside rooms are amazing and right next to the wedding area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Kia Orana Ann C,

Thank you for your review regarding your festive season family holiday with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

It was our pleasure to be able to extend to you our warm island hospitality and we are happy to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your paradise escape.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge.

We also have rental cars and minivans available to hire from right here at the resort through our Best of the Islands Tour Desk. Having your own transport can be a great way to see Rarotonga you can stop and see anything you like from galleries, to restaurants, to beautiful beach spots ideal for a picnic.

Once again – it was our pleasure to welcome you to our resorts on our recent stay, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Rarotonga Cook Island is an amazing place for a family vacation. Locals are friendly and the country is beautiful. However the Rarotongan Resort was very disappointing with poorly maintained rooms - we had 4 interconnecting rooms for 8 nights each for our family reunion. Air conditioners malfunctioned on numerous occasions and despite maintainence called to fix. Console was extremely dusty in all rooms. Had to request for towels as we were only given one replacement towel despite requiring three. I had requested possibility of later checkout until noon for ONE of the rooms (for free please) so our family can have somewhere to rest prior to our flight departure later that night - was informed they have strict policy requiring payment for later checkout - $95 for 2pm checkout, which we politely declined, thank you. At check-out, was informed that we have not paid our accommodation despite full upfront payment made at time of booking! Thankfully I had email evidence of payment on iPad - I was offered 'free' two minute Internet access to kindly on-forward copy of this email to the hotel - told them not happening and to sort this out themselves. Would NOT recommend Rarotongan Resort to anyone - better options elsewhere eg Pacific, Crown, or try rentraro.com for your various budgets. Shame as staff manning the activities and restaurants/bar are great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowllygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Kia Orana Rowllygan,

Thank you for your recent review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our Food & Beverage and Activities staff during your stay.

We are disappointed to read you experienced issues with your air conditioning units during your stay. I am pleased to confirm that the air conditioning units for your rooms have now been replaced during a refurbishment program recently completed at The Rarotongan.

We have also raised your comments with regards to the towels provided with our Executive Housekeeper. As a result of your feedback we have revised our housekeeping operating procedures and increased our stock levels for toweling to avoid incidents of this nature repeating.

Late check-outs can be requested via our Front Desk however, these can only be confirmed subject to availability and only 24hours prior to departure. Our standard check-out time is 10am however, for NZ$95, guests can book a late check-out until 2pm and NZ$15 per hour after 2pm. We appreciate that you felt a complimentary was justified however, the rooms you had booked required to be serviced in preparation for guests arriving the same day of your departure.

I do apologise for the inconvenience experienced upon your departure in regards to your account payment details – we have implemented new systems to ensure that all payment information is received and attached to guest booking files prior to arrival which will ensure that this does not happen again.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

What an enjoyable stay! Our boys (7, 9, 16) had the freedom & safety to swim, snorkel & kayak all day whilst we relaxed. All the staff were so polite & helpful - nothing was too much trouble. A special thanks to the great batman Tutor and the awesome team @ the Activities Hut. Although the rooms were a little small they were very clean & functional. The food at Captain Andy's was really really tasty and great value. We loved our holiday & will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our two bedroom beachside suite was close to beach, pool etc & with 3 children it worked well wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Kia Orana Nicole H,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in April 2012.

It was our sincere pleasure to host you and your family for your tropical island holiday :-)

Your comments regarding “Tutor” (Jiuta) and the Activities team have been passed on to them all and they are absolutely delighted to have been of assistance during your stay!

We have a wide range of accommodation options to suit our guests starting with our Garden Rooms (which are all available as interconnecting) – however, for guests seeking a little bit more space and comfort, we also have Deluxe Beachside or Deluxe Beachfront Suites available. Our Deluxe Suites have in room whirlpool spa baths, private outdoor showers as well as large decks where guests can truly relax and soak up the tropical island sunshine :-)

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our shores and Resorts in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
8.9 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.6 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
8.8 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,850 - ₹ 22,439
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing