We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
10
27
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
27
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second floor no elevator duck historic hotel glass of wine good size coffee maker restaurant downstairs excellent food and service the main street quebec city both nights within walking distance lovely place off season charm veranda
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We loved our stay at the Auberge Knowlton. We went to the annual agriculture fair for a day of fun, food and carnival rides. We really enjoyed a tasty dinner and very good service in the restaurant located on the first floor. However our room on the second floor over looked the outside dining area and was a bit noisy. The location is wonderful and there are several antique stores and a bakery within walking distance. You can imagine stagecoaches pulling up in front of this hotel, it evokes a period of time gone by. I would stay here again, just a different room.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Like many others we were interested in this part of Quebec because this area is the backdrop of the wonderful Louise Penny mysteries. We rented a car in Montreal and arrived in late afternoon to find no one at the desk, and a note to check in with the restaurant. We found it challenging to hoist our sutcases up to the third floor, so request lower floors if you care. The beds and pillows were not so comfortable, and we did have noise from the surprisingly busy street/highway in the front of the inn. Our dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the service from the hard-working Marie was great.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We stayed here as we were following suggestion to explore Louise Penny area. Hotel was fine and perfectly clean and comfortable but our room on the second floor was VERY dark even on a sunny day. Outside the room was a nice veranda for sitting, reading and people watching however the roof of the veranda blocked all light from our room. It would probably be better to be up on the third floor. The associated restaurant, Le Relais was very nice with a great patio. Friendly staff in restaurant, not very helpful at the front desk.

Room tip: Do not stay in the front of the hotel on the second floor as it is very dark.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nhbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We booked a room here for two nights. In the past we had stayed at Auberge Lakeview and decided to give this auberge a try.

Small Auberges are hit and miss. My wife and I have stayed in wonderful auberges and not-so-wonderful auberges. This place is definitely past the "best before" date.

I want to be clear that this review is not about Le Relais restaurant which is in the same building but 100% about the Auberge above.

From the uninterested person who checked us in, to the smoke detector that went off in the night, to the dog that whined everytime it did, this was not a fun experience. The room was very small, more european sized, and the mattress was so old that the bed sagged in the middle. The door was poorly insulated for sound and the guests who showed up late and very "happy" were rather loud.

Rather than stay another night of unpleasantness, at 5am I booked us into another hotel.

We had a wonderful experience there, though we missed Le Relais.

Moral of the story: eat at Le Relais but stay somewhere else.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MungoDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Maria our server was very friendly and gave us great service even though it was quite busy. Food was delicious and portions were ample. We tried a variety off the menu. Glad we stopped in. We will return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FrancoisS840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews