We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
10
27
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
27
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second floor no elevator duck historic hotel glass of wine good size coffee maker restaurant downstairs excellent food and service the main street quebec city both nights within walking distance lovely place off season charm veranda
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We booked a room here for two nights. In the past we had stayed at Auberge Lakeview and decided to give this auberge a try.

Small Auberges are hit and miss. My wife and I have stayed in wonderful auberges and not-so-wonderful auberges. This place is definitely past the "best before" date.

I want to be clear that this review is not about Le Relais restaurant which is in the same building but 100% about the Auberge above.

From the uninterested person who checked us in, to the smoke detector that went off in the night, to the dog that whined everytime it did, this was not a fun experience. The room was very small, more european sized, and the mattress was so old that the bed sagged in the middle. The door was poorly insulated for sound and the guests who showed up late and very "happy" were rather loud.

Rather than stay another night of unpleasantness, at 5am I booked us into another hotel.

We had a wonderful experience there, though we missed Le Relais.

Moral of the story: eat at Le Relais but stay somewhere else.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MungoDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Maria our server was very friendly and gave us great service even though it was quite busy. Food was delicious and portions were ample. We tried a variety off the menu. Glad we stopped in. We will return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FrancoisS840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Historic hotel located in very nice old town. Staff were very courteous and friendly and provided excellent service. Amenities reflect that the historic qualities and available services and add to the charm of the hotel.

Second floor veranda is a great place to sit, soak up some sun, people watch and enjoy a drink.

Ground floor restaurant is a popular spot with the locals and provides excellent food and service.

An enjoyable stay in a historic hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Everett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This place was recommended by other travelers but we found it to be less than satisfactory. The room was on the 2nd floor, up a steep set of wooden stairs (no one available to help with luggage). It had one window that looked out over their outdoor restaurant. The room was small; the mattress was not comfortable. The window air conditioner was noisy and it was hard to get the temperature we wanted. The reception person was pleasant but not very helpful with ideas or suggestions. The cost was too high for what is offered.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here for the Louise Penny book signing in late August. We had a good idea what this inn would be and it was as expected - a step back to Victorian times in Knowlton.

We requested the larger suite (Room 1) and it was very comfortable having a separate sitting room area. The bed was extremely comfortable. The furnishings were pure Victorian. It was immaculately clean.

We enjoyed a glass of wine on the porch that overlooked the main street. We got a small discount at the restaurant and did have breakfast there (not included in the rate but a reasonable charge).

Room tip: Room 1 has a separate sitting area and is on the side of the hotel. Quiet.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews