We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely enjoyable”

The Laughing Monk Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Strete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family owned restaurant, relaxed atmosphere, serving the best local produce available. We are not a fine dinning restaurant but serving great food is our passion
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited last weekend for our first time - we had been meaning to try here for a while. Ultimately it ticked many boxes - classy yet relaxed ambience , good food choice ( had Meat Loaf special & fish), efficient service and a couple of puddings which were very tasty and not too heavy ( sticky toffee and Bakewell tart ). All well presented. Will certainly return .

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018

We had a delicious meal - we both chose fish. It was cooked to perfection, with a wonderful balance of flavours, and beautifully presented. I had a fillet of brill with pea purée and a potato and bacon ‘cake’. My husband had the special - a mixed seafood grill - as his main and a pork starter which he raved about. We rounded the meal off with a scoop of homemade apple, pear and cider sorbet which was scrummy. The portions were just right. The meal was well worth the money and a trip from Dartmouth if you are staying there.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Lwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

A party of 11. Seamless service, excellent food including dishes not on the menu but done by special request. Impressively high standards with a team who cannot do enough to help which all makes for a memorable evening.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stretebarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

A good middle of the road restaurant in a small village near the south Devon coast. Not open Mondays or Tuesdays. Set in an old school building it has a certain character and is worth driving those few extra miles to.
Like most restaurants in this area fish is the main focus of the menu and the quality is very good.
Do not let the fact there is no parking provided put you off - there are several places to park in the local roads.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Came here for a meal with my partner and food was delicious. A little disappointed that the meat dishes advertised on the sample menu weren’t available though as was really looking forward to the pork belly! Had the John dori and really enjoyed it. Agree with others that the restaurant lacks a little atmosphere though

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank debhan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Laughing Monk Restaurant also viewed

 
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
 

Been to The Laughing Monk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing