We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming.”
Review of Frogwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frogwell
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We just stayed at the Frogwell B&B in Strete near Dartmouth. We had the Studio room which was clean, warm, light and airy. The owner made us really welcome right from the start. The room is up a flight of stairs but the view across the field and out to sea are excellent. The house is no more than 300m walk to the village with a good pub and restaurant but take a torch with you on dark nights. Breakfast was served up in the main house in a lovely conservatory looking across to the sea. It was superb. Good local produce cooked freshly for us. All round an excellent place to stay with direct access to the South West Coastal Path.

Room Tip: The studio has the views. The other two rooms are very well appointed however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for our 25th wedding anniversary as Frogwell is close to Dartmouth and all the facilities in the area. The room was extremely well equipped and presented. Our hosts were welcoming but discreet and the breakfasts were very good. The B&B has direct access to the South West coast path and is close to Slapton Ley and Blackpool Sands.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyAlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Well it seems I'm just going to echo exactly what the people before me have written.
The garden room is clean, comfortable, stylishly decorated and has its own entrance. Tea and cake were provided by Linda as we arrived, even though there are facilities to make your own in the room. Not just tea bags either, but earl grey, peppermint, green tea, coffee, decaff coffee, hot chocolate, sugar, a couple of biscuits and fresh milk in the fridge!
There are complimentary and gorgeous smelling toiletries in the ensuite bathroom, soft towels, freshly laundered dressing gowns, a tv with freeview, and a folder full of guest information including menus for local restaurants.
Nothing has been overlooked.
Breakfast was fab, served in the conservatory with views over the garden and field with sea beyond.
All I can say is, stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 night stay at Frogwell. We stayed in the Garden room which was spotlessly clean with so many little extra touches. Bathrobes, toiletries a fridge with fresh milk and water, everything is thought of. The breakfasts were lovely and cooked to perfection. Linda and Derek welcomed us with tea and cake and were lovely hosts. We wouldnt hesitate to recommend Frogwell.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Frogwell B & B just for a break as we love the area. Our room, the cottage suite was lovely, completely spotless with all little details thought of - lovely cotton robes, nice wine glasses and bottle opener and a fridge that worked very well - not to mention the lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Linda and Derek are lovely hosts, they brought us a pot of tea and cake on our arrival and Linda's breakfasts are second to none - the poached haddock was a dream! I would say they could rival the top hotels in the area and we will definitely be back, the cottage is set in such a lovely spot and the garden is very relaxing to sit in. Well Done, I think other B & B's would be very disappointing after our stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lablandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
6 km away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
5.3 km away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
493 reviews
5.3 km away
The George Inn, Blackawton
The George Inn, Blackawton
#1 of 3 in Blackawton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
377 reviews
0.3 km away
Strete Barton House
Strete Barton House
#1 of 2 in Strete
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogwell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogwell

Address: Frogwell, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Strete
Price Range: ₹ 7,409 - ₹ 8,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogwell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogwell self catering accommodationis situated approximately 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of Dartmouth, Devon and is one of the oldest houses in Strete dating back to the 16th century. It is within walking distance of the famous award winning Blackpool Sands beach . We are ideally placed to explore many of the fabulous local attractions The Self Catering Studio is a luxury and superbly appointed large private studio with panoramic views over the beautiful local Devon coastline. Situated separate to the main house with its own access and parking this is a spacious, light, airy, vaulted, centrally heated room with its own private en-suite facilities including balcony and patio. The kitchen contains a oven/grill, ceramic hobs and large fridge with freezer compartment This studio is very well suited to couples seeking some privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Frogwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing