We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Practical house for a group, wonderful setting...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red Ridges

Outside facing beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside facing beach
View from Master bedroom Kitchen. Dinning
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Outside facing beach
View from Master bedroom
Kitchen. Dinning
Living
Double
Access to the beach
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kessingland, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joannaray...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Practical house for a group, wonderful setting, natural surroundings”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely holiday. The children were very happy to go in the sea, play tennis on the beach and football. My husband and I jogged along the prom each morning which was very peaceful and made more fun by the passing of smiling dogs on their walks. Local people we met were very friendly.
we had everything we needed in the house and were very comfortable. the owner had even provided candles so when there was an electrical storm we could get some light until the electrics returned.
the only negatives were there were quite a lot of flies when we arrived which meant that we couldn't leave windows/doors open but these did clear up as the week went on and there were jelly fish on the beach which made us a bit nervous about swimming, altho apparently ok. All in all a wonderful holiday with those who wanted peace staying home mainly and others exploring southwold, Aldeburgh and Snape. Thank you for a memorable and lovely happy holiday, we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Cleanliness and layout of the house, lots of space
Liked least: flies but understand its a hazard of being waterside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amanda P
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great House, Great Location, Great Holiday.”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a brilliant holiday this summer at Red Ridges. It was ideal for any age as we had our children and elderly parents and also my sister. There was plenty of room with everything we needed for our holiday, the house was lovely and clean and modern. My parents had the master bedroom and said they both slept very well and enjoyed standing on the balcony in the morning talking to people going past. We also had other family members come and see us for the day, they all thought the house was lovely in a great beach location. All in all it was a great place to stay, in fact we have booked to come again, the only down side was the weather which in this country there is nothing you can do about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, very spacious/ peaceful
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skytosh
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely beachside location but very disappointing house”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a shame. The house had badly stained carpets, chipped walls, chipped woodwork, there was dog hair matted into the rugs and blowing like dustballs across the downstairs rooms' floors. I even found some on my 4 year old's plate. The ensuite loo bangs against the wall every time someone gets up from it and a few other fittings are hanging on by a thread. The place needs a thorough clean, the floors mopped and some tlc decorating. Dead flies on window ledges and dusty ornaments etc and the hot water boiler sounded like a small aircraft was taking off every time the boiler was heating - unfortunately this very loud noise originates from next to the childrens bedroom so mine were woken early every single morning by it. The mattresses were horrendous, seen better days and need to be dumped and left us with having to draw short straws for bad backs every morning. Its not a house that felt cared for and felt very much like just a money-earner for the owners based on the location. Real shame. Wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: How dirty the house was.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Not sure what was really wrong here except the person, as the house has had a lot of investment, it is well cared for. If there were paint chippings then it would be from this season and is something we will address at the end of the season. The double bed in the main bedroom has been changed already. As for the boiler I can only assume that the immersion switch was on as well as the gas boiler (used on for emergency). Its a shame but I can not believe this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattyjdav...
Studham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Spacious holiday rental in a great location. We stayed here with our three sons and our dog and we loved stepping out the back to the sea! Closer to great restaurants, pub and shops! We would come back here again!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 186
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing