We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Buccoo B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Awesome owner”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The owner Brandon is an intense dude, and during the first hour I spent there, I thought we might clash. I'm actually surprised that a week later I find myself writing that he may just be the most generous host I met in three years of traveling. Things he provided free of charge:

- A British couple had stayed there for three weeks, so for one their last nights, Brandon had a giant fish and lobster dinner prepared for everyone free of charge. He even invited guests to come back who had changed hotels to another part of the island.

- Brought us fresh cooked breakfast from the store one morning.

- Let me use his phone for several calls that definitely cost him

- Shared whatever he had, including a bottle of Johnnie Walker Black that is much more expensive on the island that elsewhere.

Unfortunately, I already know I am forgetting several other things. Nevertheless, he was always buying stuff or bringing stuff to give to his guests for free. You never see that these days with all the penny-pinching owners and managers. Brandon was different.

I also highly recommend this place for solo travelers. Brandon is always inviting people to go out and having events at his place. Also very helpful with ideas and what to do. If you like fishing, Brandon has a boat and seems to be auditioning for the Fishing Channeling, so you'll love him.

On the website, you will also see they have a discount room, like $27 or $28. I stayed there. Was very nice. Had a small kitchen in the separate living room. Was more like a mini-suite, believe it or not. Burner, dishes, coffee maker, etc. Private bathroom, hot water, etc. A/C. The whole works. Also stayed one night in another room. Everything seems brand new and top quality, like in a more expensive western hotel.

Two drawbacks. First, as a backpacker, I really hate when people charge for internet. He charges for the wifi password and about 3.40/hour to use the computer terminal, which is higher than at most internet cafes. I wish he would change this. That said, you pay for the hour, and he doesn't time you, so if you spend a few hours, I doubt he'll ask for more. Likewise, the second time I need to use it, I was short on cash, and Brandon said pay whatever.

The other drawback is that the location is not around a lot of stuff. There are beaches, but not the main beaches (though great if you want privacy). A few bars, but not the main bars from what I could tell. You will need to do some walking or rent a car. That said, I think the same situation will be true most anywhere you stay on the island outside Crown Point or Scarborough. Regardless of this, I was happy to stayed there and had a great time.

Finally, ladies... Brandon is single, very nice and generous, has a great business, a killer boat and an even better boat to come. Just saying....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    47
    6
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
90
98
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Oh Brrrrandon
I have to say that Fish Tobago afforded us one of the best holidays of our lives and that any minor critcisms we had, pale into insignificance compared to the warm hearted and excellent service given by Brandon and his sister Bridgette and to the facilities at this brilliant guest house.
The modern guest house is located in the fishing community of Buccoo which is within easy distance of Crown point airport and local beachs. Fish tobago offers decent accomodation to those who want " the Tobago experience" on a moderate budget.

Set in its own grounds of around half an acre, the guest house is aligned with Bridgettes bungalow from where Bridgette emerges every day with a smiling face to keep the place ship shape and clean. During our three week stay Bridgette cooked the odd meal for us and kept our clothes clean and made sure that we had all the comforts we needed to make sure that every day life ran smoothly. We helped ourselves to the free mangoes from the huge tree in the garden.
Brandon the host is a great guy with a cheeky humour and sunny disposition given that he has his work cut out dealing with the steady influx of mainly young folk from all over the world.
Divers from Sweden, intellectual couples from Norway (thought you would like this Tommy) , travellers from South America, Czecks and Trinis from just over the water wanting a short break to party.
Communal facilies are there for all inc internet ,TV, music centre cooking and washing etc etc.
We spent many nights under the stars nibbling snacks and drinking rum and beers until
the early morn under the moon and stars. Although there are local bars within walking distance along with eateries for chicken and chips to Italian cuisine we found ourselves really just chilling out and Liming to use the local phrase.For a couple who are slightly older than probably the norm this proved a refreshing experience in more ways than one,
Quite often Brandon would join us putting drinks on the table free of charge for all to enjoy.
Here we had top quality Vodka ,rum, and fruit drinks to go at on many nights which was just great ...a real hoot in fact , we made many contacts inc Brandons dog "Toast " and heard some great travel tales..
The last evening of the Swedish guys stay was marked by an international games night which was hilarious followed by a ten minute viewing of the Swedish chef from the muppets.Laugh we nearly collapsed " but we don't talk like that" was the bemused response.

Brandon also arranges trips out from here which are good value but the best was the coast trip by boat to see the stunning coatline inc snorkelling ,visiting the gorgeous fishing village of Castara and the waterfalls which tumble from the steep cliffs into the sea.On return we trolled for Tuna and managed to catch Mahi Mahi and small black fins which where cooked up later .Drinks and food where inc along with snorkel gear and rods and lures.We finished up at the Nylon pool shallows near to Buccoo reef in the water up to the waste with chilled beers as the sun started to decend.
Three times we went out with Brandon fishin,g twice in heavy weather, which tested Brandons seamanship but thankfully he knows his stuff. For serious anglers Brandon can provide bigger boats and top class gear.The experience of being in a piroque on the huge swell was really something. Later I and Tommy the Norwegian journalist / come poker expert went with locals on a 30ft twin engined boat to catch for the families and managed to get some respectable Kings and Barracudas.
Hire a car and you can visit all the island easily. Lady in Red does cheap rentals of 4x4s which are adequate for most maybe a little dog eared but adequate.
To top it off for our last night Brandon and Bridgette cooked my girlfirend enough fish and lobster to invite all the guest to share our seafood treat What a surprise!!
Tobago is great island which still has a 60s carribean charm with chickens everywhere and fish coming out of its pores,Some island may have more spectacular interest points which I would say maybe Tobago maybe has not ( no Volcano) , but what Tobago has is really good everything - beaches, scenery, food, plus carribean soul from its very friendly people .
If you want a real Tobago experience and are willing to understand that you are not booking into the Ritz or best Western this is one place to book straight away.
Dave Plows and Fiona MacKenzie - who will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidPlows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 during a mini tour of the two islands. We did quite a bit of research about places to stay and had read the reviews for Fish Tobago. We saw that amongst the extremely positive reviews there were a few concerns regarding booking problems and room availability. We decided to go ahead and book 5 nights here. We booked a specific room 4 months in advance and received confirmation of our reservation. Additionally as a precaution we emailed Fish Tobago just 3 days before our arrival and received a confirmation of our booking. When we arrived we were told our room was not available - and wouldn't be available for our entire stay. It was quite a frustrating and irritating situation to be in - especially because we had planned ahead and even emailed them - to avoid this exact situation.

After this less than auspicious start to our stay Brandon (the owner and manager) went into overdrive to ensure that the mistakes he had made were not going to ruin our stay. He was very successful at this (hence my 4 star rating). Brandon offered us an alternative room for the first night (which was not at all ideal) but promised us an even better room than the one we had originally booked for the following 4 nights. He was as good as his word and gave us this superior room at the lower price. It was a great room, with all the amenities we had wanted to have as well as a very comfortable bed and good air conditioning.

During our stay Brandon was a great host and it was clear that the one thing he hates is dissatisfied guests. He did everything he possibly could to remedy the issues we had at the start of our stay and succeeded. If it wasn't for the booking issues I would not have hesitated to give Fish Tobago 5 stars - however I know this issue is not a one off and this does mean that for people who want to plan ahead and know where they are staying in advance there will be some issues with a stay at Fish Tobago.

On top of the great facilities on site Brandon also offers many day trips and tours and can arrange a very good deal on car rentals - far cheaper than the guys offering rentals at the air port and around Crown Point. Even better there was no need for bartering as the deal was a set rate. We rented a car for 2 days - it was easy to arrange, no hidden charges and the car was pretty decent (and felt safe).

Fish Tobago is an ideal place if you want to explore Tobago - just be prepared to change your plans and be a bit flexible on your arrival.

Room Tip: It is not clear on the website but The Rainforest Room does not have windows. This was the room we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishTobago1, Owner at Fish Tobago Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
We were very happy to have this client at our guest house. Just wanted to add both sides to the review, as the booking was supposed to start on Wednesday and the client showed up for check in Thursday afternoon without letting us know they would be late. Normally if a client misses a check in date the room becomes available and we normally try to accommodate all requests for accommodation.
Nevertheless we did our best to ensure that our guests are comfortable and we never intend to intentionally displace our confirmed guests. We have been making improvements to our booking and reservations and hopefully you will see the results of this in the near future. We continously try to improve and your feedback is very important to us, good or bad!
Thanks for supporting Fish Tobago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northallerton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Just back from fish tobago 2 week hols,brandon and sister bridget can not do enough for you.We hired jeep through them,also did great day boat trip complete with food and lots of drinks on boat called "whatever"with kirk in control,mount irvine beach 20 min stroll away well worth the walk.will definatly be back to fish tobago guest house as soon as possible!

Room Tip: ask for room 3,best one to take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flish tobago
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This island is realy beautiful and give powerful for everyone. Fishtobago makes me dream and have fun with Brandon and Bridget ! A great place to stay and enjoy yourself !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buccoo
5.6 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.6 km away
Miller's Guest House
Miller's Guest House
#8 of 92 in Tobago
143 reviews
4.5 km away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
59 reviews
5.0 km away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,498 reviews
4.4 km away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tobago Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tobago Guesthouse

Property: Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Address: Buccoo Point 26A, Buccoo Tobago, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Buccoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buccoo
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,164 - ₹ 6,400
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish Tobago Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Tobago Guesthouse is a family owned guesthouse that is a traditionally built two storey house nestled in its own spacious grounds. We are located on the western coastline of Tobago which is one of the most beautiful, unspoilt islands in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Fish Tobago Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Hotel Buccoo
Fish Tobago Guesthouse Buccoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing