We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Raetihi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raetihi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2017

A relaxing stay between North and South Island . The staff are excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Food was of very good quality, enjoyed talking to locals in the restaurant. Could have stayed for longer ! Water taxi trips were an exciting experience . Would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Water view room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janelolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Raetihi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Arrival across the sound from Te Mahia by water taxi was a romantic start to a two day stay in this exceptional lodge. The weather was rough when we arrived but we woke the following morning to sun and blue sky. The water is a stunning, an almost unbelievable colour and the vegetation is rich and lush. Our sea view room was very comfortable as was the lounge with sofas and armchairs and log fire. We walked to St Omer to see the shipwrecked Amokura with such a poignant and interesting history along with the connection of her onetime captain Frank Worsley who later went on to be commander of Endurance on Ernest Shackleton’s 1913-16 Antarctic expedition. Otherwise we read, wrote and rested, nursing heavy head colds and relaxing after the last couple of weeks of hectic international travel. This was the perfect place to do it. All the staff from boat to reception have a lovely balance of relaxing friendly manner and attentive efficiency. I don’t hesitate to give the maximum score and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend Sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Our Seaview room was very comfortable and our meals were absolutely delicious. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I especially enjoyed the most amazing deep tissue and hot stones hour long massage from Juli. Definitely recommend it as accommodation not to be missed, even if you are not walking the track. Ideal for a rest day on the four day walk.

Room Tip: A Seaview room is very pleasant, especially with a balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annefoot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed here at the beginning of February for 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer. The staff are excellent and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. The restaurant is excellent. Getting there from Picton is a smooth and enjoyable boat ride. We were lucky to see dolpins on a boat trip around the sound. The glow worms just down the track are well worth a visit. We had a seaview room which was very comfortable and recently remodeled.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GeorgeTyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We arrived after 8 hours on a 25 km walk as part of the Queen Charlotte Track. We were warmly met at the jetty by Liane, and that welcoming approach characterised all of the staff during our 2 night stay. The lodge is secluded, relaxing and well appointed.

Would strongly recommend to walkers to build in a day's break, as we did, to recharge our batteries in this beautiful place. Had the best massage ever from Juli - still feeling thankful for how good our bodies feel after what was a very long walk for us. And there are plenty of activities on offer, if you wish.

The food was superb. Best seafood chowder. The Brazilian and Chilean chefs add to the range and quality of the menu choices. Recommend the pork belly, the salmon and the lamb shanks.

Not surprisingly, there are guests who come only for the dining, or the relaxing.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough Region hotels
17.9 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
320 reviews
8.2 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
6.8 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
36.4 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
635 reviews
4.4 km away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raetihi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raetihi Lodge

Address: 7124 Kenepuru Road | Double Bay, Kenepuru Sound, 7282, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Marlborough Region
Price Range: ₹ 11,635 - ₹ 18,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Raetihi Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquillity and sense of being 'at one' with the native bush, the expansive water views and birdsong of the Sounds, coupled with the feeling like you're sitting in the comfort of your home, being spoilt with the service of a boutique hotel, is what luxurious Raetihi Lodge prides itself on. Extensively rebuilt and re-modelled with new interior design concepts throughout, our accommodation, restaurant and facilities are rated 4-Star Plus Hosted Qualmark with luxury and comfort amidst the serenity and nature of the New Zealand native beach trees and bush. Our new floating jetty makes accessibility a joy. A waters edge retreat with stunning views over the water, Raetihi Lodge sets its own standards for gracious and unsurpassed hospitality and excellent dining. The Marlborough Sounds attracts local and international visitors who share a passion for activities such as boating, fishing, hiking, bush walks, sailing, kayaking, bird-watching, photography and just relaxing enjoying the finer things in life. Nestled in a secluded bay of extraordinary natural beauty in the Kenepuru Sound, Raetihi Lodge has built a reputation as one of the most popular destinations in the Sounds dating back to the 1930's. ACTIVITIES 'The Sounds' are simply New Zealand's foremost marine playground for yachting, fishing, swimming, sailing and sight-seeing. Why not consider: • Walking Tracks: Queen Charlotte Track and Nydia Track • Fishing: Half day or Full day Guided Trips • Boating: Half and Full-day Skippered Sailing trips, plus Bareboat Charter facilities, Boating Safaris in your own outboard motor boat, Mussel Cruises, Historical Tours of the Sounds • Scenic Flights and transfers: by helicopter or float plane • Marlborough Wine Tours AROUND RAETIHI LODGE Relax with a wide variety of recreational options available. • Complementary mountain bikes, kayaks and stand-up paddle boards (SUPs) are available for your enjoyment • Complementary use of fishing rods and dinghy rowing boats, or try your hand fishing off the jetty. • Treat yourself to a relaxing massage • Follow one of the bush-walking tracks over the Nature Reserve • Take a swim in the bay • Retire in the guest lounge to read, play board games or watch TV, or lounge by the warmth of the fire with a good book • Ever-changing light conditions present stunning photographic opportunities, as evidenced from the Photo Gallery in the Lodge. • The marine environment and natural bush provides amazing opportunities to observe native birds, flora and fauna. • Play 12-holes of golf at the Nopera Golf Course nearby, which is sheep grazed with fenced greens. (Nominal green fee and golf hire available) • Enjoy a game of Boules or croquet on the French Courtyard and lawn • Picnics can be supplied from our restaurant for any of your activities. CUISINE, WINE & DINING Sitting by the water's edge, dine on an ever-changing feast of seafood, mouth-watering New Zealand meats and fresh local produce, themed to suit the season and complemented by the finest regional wines in New Zealand. Everyday dining at Raetihi Lodge in the Marlborough Sounds is informal but elegant and relaxed, the epitome of fresh New Zealand cuisine. Our Restaurant welcomes casual diners for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Our new floating jetty makes accessibility easy, and you can tie up without hassle. GETTING THERE By Boat • Our skipper and Guest Transfer boat, Miss Raetihi Lodge, can collect you from Te Mahia Jetty or Portage in the Kenepuru Sound, OR Waterfall Bay or Torea in the Queen Charlotte Sound • Private boats are welcome to use the floating jetty and tie up on one of our moorings (Mooring fee if staying overnight) • Water Taxi • Kayak to us for lunch or a coffee! By Air • Float plane from Picton or Wellington • Fixed-wing plane from Wellington, into Nopera Airstrip • Helicopter from anywhere, landing on our Helipad By Road • Drive the very scenic Kenepuru Road directly to Raetihi Lodge • Cycle, if you're keen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raetihi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raetihi Hotel Marlborough Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing