We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary delight...”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We recently attended a Seafood Evening at the Horn of Plenty. Scott Paton, the head chef, was a delight to meet and Scotts youthful, enthusiatic and comprehensive approach to the demonstration was ever so inspiring. The Horn of Plenty is the perfect venue to experience such culinary expertise with it's glorious restaurant views over the Tamar Valley and attentive waiting staff.

We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StratRums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 530 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent a lovely evening with friends, sampling their wedding menu. Staff were attentive, knowledgeably and friendly. Food was stunning and wine was also very good, we have promised ourselves to return as soon as possible. Wonderful setting for a wedding or a weekend get away destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedeeWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Having recently visited the Horn of Plenty or the first time this year, I was please to see that its exceptional standards remained the norm.
For those yet to visit, you will not be disappointed. The Hotel itself is beautifully appointed overlooking a stunning wooded valley, with Cornwall in the distance.
The principle delight of a visit to the Horn of Plenty is that nothing is too much trouble for the staff who without fail, are friendly and attentive.
The restaurant matches the overall high quality of the Hotel and on this visit, delivered as it has previously.
Dinner was in the region of £50 per head and for the quality of the overall experience, defiantly good value. I think those who complain about portion size or cost don’t necessarily appreciate that this is a fine dining restaurant with two AA rosettes, in a stunning location.
From the moment we arrived at the Horn of Plenty, everything from the friendly service to the elegant surroundings was perfect, making an unbeatable dining experience in this part of the world.

This was not our first visit and without doubt, will not be our last.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Delightful place for a country wedding. Quite a cosy, welcoming feel... Thinking it's the country home of our hosts. Food was great. Service was wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyed the Cornish ceilidh. Loved the common rooms - the drawing room where guests can chill for a ceilidh break. The library was provided as a place for my children to have a rest.

It is no wonder that this place is well-known all over the West of England.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Recently ate at the Horn. First time back since new ownership. Place the same as usual, lovely house and setting. Dinner menu at £49 for 3 courses, not cheap. Food was cooked to a reasonably good standard, but, the portions were very small. My companions starter arrived and we thought it was a free appetiser until my order was placed on the table. My main was duck breast, of which I was served 3 thin slices (1/3 of a duck breast) with two pieces of cardboard potato, veg and a teaspoon of jus. At £25-30 a main that is not acceptable in my opinion.
Service was good as usual, let down by overpricing i'm afraid. Maybe the kitchen was low on duck that evening!! have to say overall a bit average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank btf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
27.8 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,143 reviews
31.0 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,422 reviews
12.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
346 reviews
4.1 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
527 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range: ₹ 9,140 - ₹ 12,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing