We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
360
57
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
360
57
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini fridge little gem well stocked bar kippers high standard lake district portion sizes b bs guest house smoked salmon friendly hosts eggs benedict comfortable bed breakfast was delicious great shower cumbrian breakfast stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Just remembered I forgot to post a review when I should have as it is totally desereved. Stayed for two nights first week of July for my Wife's birthday...everything absolutely superb from breakfast, bar to dinner. Everyone so friendly...can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Qashqai08-Widnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Stayed for 1 night, lovely comfy room,which was immaculate, Cosy bar area, food was amazing, I had halibut, hubby had guinea fowl, both superb. Breakfast was delicious, local ingredients presented with flair, will definitely be back, many thanks to all staff, for a genuine warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverspider111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Ideal setting for visitors to Ullswater, Glenridding and Helvellyn. Only about 10 minutes from M6/A66. It is at eastern end of the Lake which is only five minutes walk from the hotel. the steamers are a bout 8 minutes walk.

Hotel is well appointed with small but well presented rooms. Very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with super accessories. Great TV and wi-fi.

Service is very pleasant and helpful. Small bar area is very homely. We ate here for an evening meal. whilst pricy and a bit 'nouvelle cuisine' it was superb food with a very knowledgeable chef. Can certainly recommend the home made butter with warm bread before the meal and the home made ice cream for dessert. The halibut and guinea fowl we had for mains was lovely. Breakfast had good choice and really well served. only minor complaint here is that the tables are very close together for this time of day!!

Small but good choices of well kept local beer complemented everything the hotel. presented.

Room Tip: Our room was small so if large room needed maybe best to check first
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We recently stayed here for two nights. It is beautifully decorated and our room was spacious with a large comfortable bed. The breakfast choice was very good and superbly cooked. We ate there one night and really enjoyed the experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DesertersSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We have been here 3 times over the past 18 months.
The food is superb. Yes the portion sizes aren't massive but that's not the reason you go there! Beautifully presented, amazingly tasty and locally sourced.
The service is always first class and the environment is relaxing, warm and welcoming. A lovely retreat following a day out in the elements.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RachMG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews