We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for an overnight break having decided to break our long car journey , we are so glad we did ! Arrived just in time to order dinner and were made very welcome indeed .
What an amazing meal , every morsel was a delight and a feast for the eyes , we could not fault a thing from the home made bread and butter to the exceptional desserts!
After dinner we sat by the wood burner and played board games before retiring to our cosy and well appointed room .
Breakfast was excellent too and served in the lovely room overlooking the garden .
Warm welcome , friendly team , excellent facilities, great chef and owners in Mark and Anne who really engage with their guests and are clearly rightly proud of their wonderful Bar ,Bistro and B&B .
We will return ......hopefully sooner rather than later !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Prunella19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Just remembered I forgot to post a review when I should have as it is totally desereved. Stayed for two nights first week of July for my Wife's birthday...everything absolutely superb from breakfast, bar to dinner. Everyone so friendly...can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Qashqai08-Widnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Delightful Bistro. Tasty meals. Beautifully presented. Friendly atmosphere.
We spent a great evening celebrating a Ruby anniversary. Staff very attentive and helpful. A lovely place to celebrate a special occasion.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Stayed for 1 night, lovely comfy room,which was immaculate, Cosy bar area, food was amazing, I had halibut, hubby had guinea fowl, both superb. Breakfast was delicious, local ingredients presented with flair, will definitely be back, many thanks to all staff, for a genuine warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverspider111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Ideal setting for visitors to Ullswater, Glenridding and Helvellyn. Only about 10 minutes from M6/A66. It is at eastern end of the Lake which is only five minutes walk from the hotel. the steamers are a bout 8 minutes walk.

Hotel is well appointed with small but well presented rooms. Very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with super accessories. Great TV and wi-fi.

Service is very pleasant and helpful. Small bar area is very homely. We ate here for an evening meal. whilst pricy and a bit 'nouvelle cuisine' it was superb food with a very knowledgeable chef. Can certainly recommend the home made butter with warm bread before the meal and the home made ice cream for dessert. The halibut and guinea fowl we had for mains was lovely. Breakfast had good choice and really well served. only minor complaint here is that the tables are very close together for this time of day!!

Small but good choices of well kept local beer complemented everything the hotel. presented.

Room Tip: Our room was small so if large room needed maybe best to check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
3 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
434 reviews
4.2 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.3 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
935 reviews
11.4 km away
The Glenridding Hotel
The Glenridding Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenridding
452 reviews
0.2 km away
The Crown Inn Pooley Bridge - A Thwaites Inn of Character
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Address: High Street | Elm House, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range: ₹ 7,036 - ₹ 15,967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1863 is more than just another guest house. Owners Anne and Mark offer their guests the quality of a boutique hotel but with the homely welcome of a traditional B&B. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere encourages visitors to take time to unwind in comfortable surroundings, enjoy locally-sourced, seasonal dishes cooked up by our skilled chef before retiring to the bar for a night cap or to bed for restful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm House Hotel Pooley Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing