We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
354
57
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
354
57
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini fridgelittle gemwell stocked barkippershigh standardlake districtportion sizesb bsguest housesmoked salmonfriendly hostseggs benedictcomfortable bedbreakfast was deliciousgreat showercumbrian breakfaststayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed for two nights over August Bank holiday. Super staff throughout. Great room and super bathroom neither huge but beautifully decorated and of super high standard. Would def request Room 2 again, on the front of the building but very quiet. The breakfast is fabulous and we had one of the best dinners we have had in years in the restaurant. Fine dining in Pooley Bridge.

Room Tip: The price of b & b accomodation is fantastically reasonable, budget price for fabulous rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stayed for one night over the August bank holiday weekend. Received a warm reception upon arrival and shown to our fabulous room. We stayed in room 6 which is very elegant in décor, spacious and has a stunning modern en-suite bathroom. There are 2 large velux windows built into the eaves which provide pleasant views and allow plenty of natural light into the room (have night blinds attached so you can enjoy a good night's sleep). In the far corner of the room is a lounge area with sofa and TV which made the room feel very homely and made even better as the TV has Netflix! Attention to detail is obviously something the owners pride themselves on here and it really does make all the difference.
We got a great night's sleep and the bed is probably the comfiest to date I have ever slept on!
The bar/lounge/dining area are lovely too and breakfast was spot on. Great choice of fruit, cereals, juices, pastries and also your choice of cooked breakfast from their menu. Service was great and so was the food.
We loved our stay at 1863, at first we thought that the room price was a little on the high side (room 6 is the most expensive) but when we arrived it became very clear why and we are so glad we paid a little over budget for what we received.
The property is in the heart of Pooley Bridge but a little away from the hustle and bustle of the centre (literally 2 min walk) which makes all the difference. A parking space was available throughout our stay.
Should we visit Pooley Bridge again then we will undoubtedly stay at 1863! Spot on!

Room Tip: Room 6 is fabulous!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We arrived after a tiring 5 hour drive, but it was well worth it. The whole place exceeded our expectations. Beautiful bedroom (Room 6), thoughtful decor throughout the small bar, lounge and restaurant areas. Friendly, efficient staff. And then...the food!! Exceptional - as good as any dinner or breakfast in any top London restaurant or hotel. Cannot recommend it enough. We were only sorry that we stayed only one night. I hope we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the largest luxury room at the top of the building.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Good breakfast and friendly helpful staff. The bedroom was clean although smaller than expected. The 1863 is ideally located to explore Pooley Bridge and the Lake is a short easy walk from the property.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We managed to stay in ROOM 6 which is the GRAND DELUXE SUPER KING ENSUITE ROOM and it was very comfortable and my partner totally fell in love with the decor.
We took lots of photos for decorating ideas and then fell asleep in the bed (which was very comfortable indeed).

I went downstairs at 6 am and sat down by the bar and looked out toward a bird feeder which was very busy indeed. I took time to study the quality of the aesthetics of the dining area and bar and could tell that plenty of thought and attention to detail had gone into the refurbishment of this fine establishment.

The owners (Anne and Mark) have done themselves proud and although we only had a vegetarian breakfast I could tell Mark is one hell of a fine cook.

10/10 and will def be returning very soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HappyMonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews