We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stayed for one night over the August bank holiday weekend. Received a warm reception upon arrival and shown to our fabulous room. We stayed in room 6 which is very elegant in décor, spacious and has a stunning modern en-suite bathroom. There are 2 large velux windows built into the eaves which provide pleasant views and allow plenty of natural light into the room (have night blinds attached so you can enjoy a good night's sleep). In the far corner of the room is a lounge area with sofa and TV which made the room feel very homely and made even better as the TV has Netflix! Attention to detail is obviously something the owners pride themselves on here and it really does make all the difference.
We got a great night's sleep and the bed is probably the comfiest to date I have ever slept on!
The bar/lounge/dining area are lovely too and breakfast was spot on. Great choice of fruit, cereals, juices, pastries and also your choice of cooked breakfast from their menu. Service was great and so was the food.
We loved our stay at 1863, at first we thought that the room price was a little on the high side (room 6 is the most expensive) but when we arrived it became very clear why and we are so glad we paid a little over budget for what we received.
The property is in the heart of Pooley Bridge but a little away from the hustle and bustle of the centre (literally 2 min walk) which makes all the difference. A parking space was available throughout our stay.
Should we visit Pooley Bridge again then we will undoubtedly stay at 1863! Spot on!

Room Tip: Room 6 is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

We arrived after a tiring 5 hour drive, but it was well worth it. The whole place exceeded our expectations. Beautiful bedroom (Room 6), thoughtful decor throughout the small bar, lounge and restaurant areas. Friendly, efficient staff. And then...the food!! Exceptional - as good as any dinner or breakfast in any top London restaurant or hotel. Cannot recommend it enough. We were only sorry that we stayed only one night. I hope we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the largest luxury room at the top of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Good breakfast and friendly helpful staff. The bedroom was clean although smaller than expected. The 1863 is ideally located to explore Pooley Bridge and the Lake is a short easy walk from the property.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We managed to stay in ROOM 6 which is the GRAND DELUXE SUPER KING ENSUITE ROOM and it was very comfortable and my partner totally fell in love with the decor.
We took lots of photos for decorating ideas and then fell asleep in the bed (which was very comfortable indeed).

I went downstairs at 6 am and sat down by the bar and looked out toward a bird feeder which was very busy indeed. I took time to study the quality of the aesthetics of the dining area and bar and could tell that plenty of thought and attention to detail had gone into the refurbishment of this fine establishment.

The owners (Anne and Mark) have done themselves proud and although we only had a vegetarian breakfast I could tell Mark is one hell of a fine cook.

10/10 and will def be returning very soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We had great expectations for this restaurant but they really didn't meet our expectations. They knew in advance that we were diabetic but from the start they failed. The amouse bouche was sweet and was served with treacle bread! What part of diabetic didn't they understand? Starters was ok but again the bread was sweet. Main course steak was wonderful but hardly any vegetables. We were hungry. Other than cheese, there was no desert offered to suit our needs. Even the coffee was served wuth a sweet chocolate. We went away disappointed. They really thought that a slice of cheese would suit our needs. Our intake of vegetables and carbs was so so low, we were nearly in a hypo. Thankfully other hotels nearby could cater for our needs. Even a conversation with the chef/ manager did not help. He saidi he might have made us a desert, but we might not have wanted it!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
3 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
426 reviews
6.1 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
11.3 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
11.4 km away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
9.1 km away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Address: High Street | Elm House, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range: ₹ 6,802 - ₹ 10,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1863 is more than just another guest house. Owners Anne and Mark offer their guests the quality of a boutique hotel but with the homely welcome of a traditional B&B. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere encourages visitors to take time to unwind in comfortable surroundings, enjoy locally-sourced, seasonal dishes cooked up by our skilled chef before retiring to the bar for a night cap or to bed for restful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm House Hotel Pooley Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing