We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
153
92
18
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
92
18
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cullen skink country hotel open fire isle of arran lounge bar red squirrels four poster bed lovely garden bath and shower hotel is beautiful owners and staff stayed here for one night single room first class enjoyable stay warm welcome home from home
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The inn is historic and is located in an idyllic setting -- a bit off the beaten track, but still accessible to walkers and cyclists and the island buses. We loved sitting in front of the fire in the lounge whilst having our before dinner drinks, and found the food in the restaurant to be reasonably good. The bedroom itself was small and rather basic, and the mattress was in dire need of replacing -- it was not a comfortable night's sleep. The towels we were provided had been freshly laundered and neatly folded and yet were still completely wet. Odd that housekeeping did not notice how wet they were while folding them and placing them on the bed ... contributed to the sense we had of a lack of attention to detail. But the setting was so perfect, we were glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38josie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and it was very lovely. We stopped in a garden room and feel that the mattresses could do with replacing as mine was a bit 'dippy' but still managed to sleep ok, probably down to the rushing river right outside.
Red squirrels roam this area around the hotel.
The highlight of this hotel was the food, we ate all three nights in the hotel and each meal was beautifully cooked and the service and staff was great. The breakfasts were ok too although it did take a while for us to get a second helping of coffee one morning as there was only one server. I also felt that the breakfast tables with the plastic tablecloths were a bit out of place.
I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay on Arran, despite it being in a remote location with limited wifi and no phone signal it didn't take much driving to access all other parts of the island.

Room Tip: Consider mobility as you have to climb stairs to get to the rooms which are nice when you get there.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We enjoyed our 2 nights at The Lagg Hotel at the very end of July. The staff were fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. The room had everything required of it as well as good views over the garden and stream. The hotel's restaurant was excellent with a wide choice of dishes and the haggis, neeps and tatties starter was an absolute classic! Not to be missed.
Breakfast was also very good but there is one minor criticism and that is the use of plastic tablecloths at breakfast - the standard of The Lagg Hotel is SO much better than plastic tablecloths!
This is a great place from which to explore the rest of Arran and carries an interesting history having been built in 1791 - we wanted a relaxing break and we got one at The Lagg.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Lagg hotel recently. The room was very spacious, clean and had everything needed.
The hotel is an old building (1791 if I remember correctly) so don't expect all mod cons. The location is quite remote and there is very limited phone signal, depending on the type of break you are looking for this may be a good thing.
The restaurant was excellent and provided a wide choice of dishes, the Cullen skink is highly recommended as is the cheeseboard which features a range of Arran cheeses. Breakfast is full and hearty with several options including full Scottish.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Food is delicious. Staff very friendly. Room is basic but clean. Hotel requiring TLC. Hotel has a nice cosy atmosphere. Location is extremely remote and quiet which is nice. Nice place for a very quiet break.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews