We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
392
41
16
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
41
16
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail homemade lemonade tasting menu upgraded to a suite addo elephant park private plunge pool deck overlooking nespresso machine friendly and prompt service fine dining hand written separate sitting area course dinner south africa citrus farm four poster bed large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We arrived at Woodall after a long drive, tired and not in the best mood. We were welcomed with home made lemonade and wet towels for our hands and faces. Immediate love. This is a place with such attention to details that it is impossible not to be impressed. The bungalow wA
as fantastic with An outdoor shower and a private terrace. And they managed to be pure luxury without the slightest feeling of snobbism or such. Just friendly and warm. The value for money is amazing and the drive to Addo is just a few minutes. Oh, and yes, the food was great too!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Lovely accommodation, superb food and styling, really all the bells and whistles! 5 minutes drive from the Addo Elephant national park - means you can go in and out of the part all day - even back to Woodhall for lunch.

Room Tip: The suites facing the dam are enormous and you really do have total privacy
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stay over at Woodall each Winter and continue tobe amazed at the quality of food ,accomodation and service. They dont maintain standards they constantily improve them. The gardens and accomodations are immaculate with so many personal and thoughtful touches. Staff are all helpful, well trained with ready smiles.They actually appear to want to help you. The food is exceptiona,both taste and presentation. We did not go on the Woodall Game Drives or experiance the spa but other guests raved about their experiance. I know the people in the game drive saw more varieties of game in Addo than we did doing a self drive. All in all this must rank as one of the best three accomodation establishments in south africa.and exceptional value you get more than what you paid for.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic and have their own character. we love room,suite, no 6
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREEN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Well what can I say, Woodall was amazing, we stayed in the luxury suites with living room, huge bedroom with a huge four poster to match, a huge bathroom with huge wet room style shower and bath, or if it had been a bit warmer we could have tried the outdoor shower and indeed our own plunge pool in our own patio area ( of course ).
Drinks were served in the seating area overlooking the lovely pond, where many birds enjoyed a swim, we were given personalised menus and thoroughly enjoyed every meal, the standard is very high. We decided to go for a walk into the orange groves and after opening the gate we were suddenly accompanied by two of the owners dogs, Merlot and Bubbles who tagged along wagging their tails : ) We were lucky enough to have Ruan as our Guide for a safari trip, he must have done these trips hundreds of times but he made us feel like we were his first safari guests, he is so amiable and knowledgeable and we were so lucky to come across two lions just after a Kudu kill, we stopped for a lovely picnic and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience , thanks Ruan.
On our return we found little notes and treats on our bed and in the evening our electric blanket was already put on, lovely. Woodall was a beautiful place to stay and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernyruff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned back to London, after a 10 day holiday in south Africa. We are a family of 5 ( kids aged 9, 6 &4 yrs) and wanted to spend 3 days in addo in a bit of spoilt luxury. We loved our time at Woodall CH&Spa. The staff were friendly and professional. Following our daily safari trips we would return back tired with a dusty dirty hire car....but each morning we would walk to breakfast and the car was always washed clean! We were left chocolates on our pillows each night with lovely handwritten notes wishing us a lovely stay and the children were left an a4 scroll of an African animal story. Another lovely touch was an invitation for the children to participate in the Easter Sunday egg hunt in the garden, the staff really enjoyed watching the kids have fun. The food was excellent and breakfast was massive in both choice and quantity!
The only let down was the trip that was booked for us from the staff to enjoy the Addo Elephant Back Safari rides, which took us 1.5 hours (35km) driving along a windy, rocky, bumpy mountain climb to the venue. When we finally arrived, another family arrived at the same time having caught the 10 min flight from Addo town. For another £200, it would be worth the extra money to save you another 3 hours to spend at Addo - searching for wildlife.( after all, you are already paying for 5 star luxury accommodation!). Woodalls response to my feedback is that the recent rainfalls have caused more road deterioration that they had realised. The Elephant rides & the staff at Woodall are both so excellent, I found myself to be easily forgiving! We stayed in the luxury suites, four poster bed, outdoor showers, plunge pool.....real hardship! Thank you To all the team at Woodall!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews