We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails in jam jars”

Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Shipwreck Hut is an awesome little beach bar situated right on the sand at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, overlooking the beautiful lagoon. Perfectly positioned to enjoy the sunning sunsets while sipping one of the famous "jam-jar cocktails". We also offer cold beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and "home cooked" bar meals. We serve our bar meals from 5:00pm until 8:00pm (but not on BBQ nights). Saturday - Beach BBQ 6:00 pm with live music with Steve (your host), booking is essential. (BBQ's are number dependant.) Tuesday - Live music 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm with Ian & Anania aka The Rockin' Jandals. Thursday - Live music with Rio & Anania from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm. The Shipwreck Hut is exactly what you would expect from a fun loving little beach bar in the South Pacific. Come and see us. :-)
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Again, another place that we had never visited. Great atmosphere, right on the beach and the accommodations looked great -might check this out for our next visit :)

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank eclairtaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review, very happy that you enjoyed our little beach bar.

Be great to have you stay with us. Just give a call / email direct for the best deals. :-)

Meitaki ma'ata,

Steve, Geraldine and the A team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Seems to have dropped standards a bit since the last time we were here 3 years ago.
Playing to the location with nothing special to offer really.
The meals were ok really.
We won't bother returning again, too much other good competition now.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank WayneK160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your review.

Hope you have a great holiday on Rarotonga.

Kia manuia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Nice beach bar where you can enjoy a drink while watching the sunset. They have A choice of a few beers by the bottle or cocktails. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Seat_13c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review, glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you again.

Meitaki,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

It's rated as one of the best beach bars in the world - and have to agree this is a pretty special place. We had a couple of cocktails (they were ok not brilliant) and watched the sun go down. the bar is right on the beach and is v quirky and cool and lovely friendly service.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jtimmsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Meitaki,

Steve, Geraldine and the A team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Great guitarist and fabulous sunset location but cocktails were watery and not great value compared to others on the island , with only one nip and no happy hour. Have a wine or beer rather than a cocktail and enjoy the sunset with great music I think which is on Tuesday and Thursday

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SueC3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your great review. In respect to our cocktails, the Long Island Ice Tea has 2.5 shots, the Mai Tai has 2 shots so it really depends on what you order.

Thank you for the compliment for the music, we have live music on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays for our awesome beach BBQ.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Meitaki,

Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Titikaveka, Rarotonga
 

Been to Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing