We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in the Garden”

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were holidaying with friends who had been to the Tumunu before and they recommended this for dinner. The restaurant has a lovely outdoor garden and is lit up by fairy lights which made it look amazing at night. Service was good and the food excellent. Don't be put off by the friendly cat who sleeps on top of the bar inside.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiebe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very pleasant evening in the garden. (Aerogard spray provided). I was not disappointed with my dish of prawns. Excellent with a dozen prawns. Tables are set in the garden with fine gravel underfoot and soft lights in the bushes & palms.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

This is the kind of place that either appeals to you or it doesn’t. It is very quirky with pictures and things all over the walls and some on the floor too. There were very few people in the restaurant when we arrived at 7.30 and by 7.45 pm we were the only ones left. Choices on the menu were slightly odd but my smoked fish was good. The steaks we had were not of the best quality and the plate came overflowing with accompaniments which we didn’t need or want. We weren’t offered dessert as we felt the staff wanted to get home - we did too! Not for us.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rizzy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Tumunu is very close to the popular Edgewater Beachfront resort and provided great food and service with indoor or outdoor dining options. Went twice this last week in Raro and never get tired of looking at the items covering the walls. The owner, Eric is always ready for a friendly chat with guests. Enjoy!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We were looking for somewhere for dinner close to Edgewater Resort and found Tumunu. It is really interesting inside with lights and posters to look at so you won't be bored while waiting for the meal. We had the seafood platter for two and by the time we cleaned that up we were certainly not hungry. All types of yummy seafood including tuna (which is so plentiful on Rarotonga it is probably used for cat food). There was a cat sitting on the bar, come to think of it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank go_to_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing