We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful restaurant in front of the Crown Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wind Jammer Restaurant - CLOSED

Wind Jammer Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Cook Islands leading affordable fine dining restaurant with first class cuisine, international service and candle-lit setting. Modern Italian cuisine using the freshest produce and the highest-grade meats. Every meal is created from scratch. Desserts are top class using the best imported ingredients. An absolutely beautiful dining experience. Italian wines available too.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant in front of the Crown Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Lovely food and the fish was sensational but the price is up there it is worth what you pay. Great service

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Wind Jammer Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience Windjammer Restaurant.

We are pleased to read that you loved the beautiful cuisine, the gracious Polynesian service and we agree with you about pricing, so much so, that pricing is currently under review and will be reduced to deliver exceptional value for money.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Aurand Tou
Manager - Windjammer Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    66
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food and nice dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Crown Beach Resort for 7 days in ate at Wind Jammer on 3 nights during that stay. Overall, the quality and taste of the food was excellent. Staff were friendly and efficient. The decor wasn't quite up to the standard you'd expect in a fine dining restaurant, but it is in a comfortable island style that makes you not feel underdressed in a t shirt, shorts and jandles. Would highly recommend this restaurant - wasn't cheap, but we thought that the price was fair for the quality of food (and similar price to similar style of restaurant in NZ despite the costs of getting product out to the Cook Islands)

Main criticisms we would have was that no bread was brought to the table (kind of expect a bread basket in a nice restaurant) and appetizer options for people who can't eat seafood were a bit limited.

Over the three nights we experienced the following dishes:
Duck breast (appetizer) - nice, but lacked real flavor
Dips and breads (appetiser) - nice
Seafood chowder (appetizer) - excellent - had this twice
Calamari (appetiser) - beautifully prepared
Eye fillet (main) - excellent flavor and beautiful presentation
Rack of veal with green beans and kumara/potato bake- great presentation and nice flavor
Stuffed Chicken breast on vege medley - excellent
Mahimahi fillet on a seafood risotto - one of the best fish dishes I've had - excellent
Pork belly with vegetable medley with coriander, mint and cashew nut salad - another excellent main meal, although the flavor of the marinade for the pork belly didn't really come through
Green bean and pine nut salad (side dish) - large portion; great flavor
Chocolate tart - excellent, although VERY rich
Creme brûlée - absolutely amazing - highly recommend this one

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

High quality very tasty and reasonably priced. Something out of the ordinary and lovely flavour combinations. Well worth a visit or two!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Wind Jammer Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Windjammer Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved our quality 'continental' cuisine not readily found elsewhere on Rarotonga. Diners seeking island-inspired cuisine should not dine at Windjammer, but should make their way 20m down the stone path to our sister restaurant 'Oceans' on the beach; or try out our Iberian inspired kitchen offering mouthwatering tapas, just 10m down the same stone path, before you get to Oceans Restaurant.

All in all, our chefs continue to test food combinations to create new, beautiful cuisine. We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Aurand Tou
Manager - Windjammer Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining Rarotongan style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a lovely meal at Wind Jammer restaurant. The atmosphere was relaxed, and we enjoyed the live music which was not invasive so we could still carry on a conversation. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was delicious.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Owner at Wind Jammer Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Windjammer Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved our cuisine, our friendly Polynesian service, our live music by Garth Young on Piano, and more.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Aurand Tou
Manager - Windjammer Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice dinner- lovely service and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Dinner was great and the owners and staff were exceptionally friendly. Make sure you have a drink out the front prior to your meal- sunset is gorgeous...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank FromBareIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Wind Jammer Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Windjammer Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved our beautiful cuisine and that you enjoyed our friendly polynesian service.

We do recommend that all diners start the evening off with a sunset cocktail at one of our sister restaurants 'Oceans Bistro on the waterfront', before commencing a gastronomic journey with us at Windjammer.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Aurand Tou
Manager - Windjammer Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wind Jammer Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing