We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 56
US$ 54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fort Khejarla(Khejarla)
US$ 109
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kanchi Resorts(Bhilwara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
251
77
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
77
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural villageayurvedic massageoff the beaten trackreal indiarupees per personox cart ridesmall poolrooms are lovelylocal childrenindian citiesspent one nighttwo night staycouple stayingtheir facesrelaxing stayen routememorable experience
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2010

If I were to describe my stay in Fort Barli in one word, it would be 'Royal'. the first thoughts a s i entered the village from the main highway leading upto the fort were that of the lavishness with which the royal families of yesteryears would have stayed despite being in the middle of nowhere. A magnificent fort, lush green lawns, authentic rustic pathway leading upto an intricate doorway, a nice cool courtyard, an air conditioned dining hall decorated with beautiful life like paintings of the royal family, a clean swimming pool, and an open spacious family sitting area. i would run out of adjectives in describing the place. to top it all, clean bathrooms attached to lavish bedrooms with intricately embroidered bedspreads and upholstery and you cant help but feel jealous about not been born with blue blood!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offtomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

This small fort dates back to 1675. It has been under its present ownership for sixteen generations and has been renovated as a charming heritage hotel by the family in recent years.

It is strategically located on a plain right on the edge of the unspoilt village of Barli and makes for a delightful stay away from the main tourist drag. There are just eight rooms each styled with traditional Rajasthani decor. The room pictured is the Royal Suite and is the most expensive and the best: a real treat. It is located just off the semi-private outdoor living space of the courtyard which offers a cool retreat in the heat of the afternoon.

There is not a lot to do here. The fort organises some (quite pricey) excursions including a bullock cart ride around the village. Unless you fancy being like a celebratory for a day, you will get more out of visiting the village on foot. You can do this quite easily yourself although we benefitted from being accompanied by a member of staff from the fort who took us to places we wouldn't have known about otherwise. The village people are as yet completely unaffected by tourism and you will be made very welcome.

The fort itself is very comfortable and charming. We stayed two nights and on both occasions dinner was served by the small pool overlooking the village. The service was particularly attentive, especially the first night when we were the only guests and had three members of staff hovering around our table.

Other than the village visit the other must-do activity is to look round the fort itself. If the owner, Anirudh Rathore, is present he is very happy to show guests round and explain the history of the fort. He makes no charge for his tour which also includes a part which has yet to be renovated.

We loved it here. The only small negative was that our bill was rather more than we had been expecting with "extras" including the bottles of water which had been provided without being asked for.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

My family and I rented 5 rooms for a night on our way from Jaipur to Udaipur. It's a long drive, and we needed a stopover to break it up. We couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. The road to the fort (off the highway) was a bit bumpy and through a busy, little town. Once you get through the town, you reach a small village immediately surrounding the fort. It's lovely because all the small children get so excited to see you, and they all yell 'hi' and slap on the car. Their smiles and enthusiasm is so fun.

The fort itself is gorgeous. This isn't a five star luxury hotel with everything you want on order. This is a beautiful, old, meticuously clean, and traditionally-Indian fort (now hotel) in the middle of the Rajasthani desert. The rooms have window unit air conditioners and antique furniture with Rajasthani accents, like the bedspreads and pillows. There is a minibar with chilled drinks which is nice. The bathrooms are obviously newly equipped -- with granite countertops and gleamining showers. Don't expect perfect sanitation, as this is a very old fort. The toilet may be a bit slow, and the shower may sputter a little. However, if you are looking for an adventure, this is a very comfortable place to be.

The nights are great -- the weather was cooler, so we enjoyed drinks at the pool. The fort has impeccable lighting, it really looks beautiful under the moonlight. Dinner was in the dining room, which has crystal chandeliers, marble floors and portraits of the fort's royal owners. Opposite the enclosed dining room (enclosed in glass and with AC), there is an open courtyard and then a covered sitting area with plush chairs and swings. After dinner, we went out to a smaller grass area and watched the stars -- which are nice and bright. It was a Hindu holiday, so we listened to the women in the village singing religious songs. After star gazing, we sat in the courtyard and swapped stories. It was a really peaceful experience.

The service was really good. The staff is friendly and professional, and we really appreciated them during our stay.

Dinner (and breakfast for that matter) is whatever they serve...though they did ask what we liked. The freshly prepared assortment of Indian dishes (potatoes and cauliflower, spicy cabbage, chicken curry and lentils) along with rice and Indian breads was delicious. My Indian family loved it...and they are a tough crowd. Breakfast was fruit, yogurt, Indian breads (hot off the griddle) and eggs made to order. If you don't like Indian food, this may not be the place for you, as I don't think they can really accommodate exclusively Western diets.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAPatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

A fort in a rural village where the people were so fabulously out of touch with tourists. Genuine smiles from people who wanted to say hello for no other reason but to say hello. Quality of the rooms varies considerably given that it is a genuine fort which has been meticulously and artistically restored. Very warm hosts who put on a fabulous Christmas for us even to the extent of organising a cricket match between we the Aussie visitors and young men in the village. The restuarant is excellent offering a wide range of quality food.
Only criticism was the overpriced local trips organised by the hotel management. Our advice- just say no!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

It was an extremely beautiful heritage hotel having all the possible amenities. folk dances were very rejuvenating with authentic rajasthani cuisine. bullock cart safaris were alot of fun. BOrn fires were with loads of entertainment were alot of fun.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhasharma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews