We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay which touched our hearts!”
Review of Fort Barli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Barli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An amazing stay which touched our hearts!”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We arrived after a long drive from Udaipur and driving down a dirt track could not imagine the site we welcome we received from the owners and the people of the town alike. Our room was spacious, comfortable and overlooking the small town and the fort is a wondrous piece of history that entices you to every corner to explore. We took the of cart ride through town with 6 other people and the local children ran behind eager to have their photographs taken and wave to greet us to their small village. The fort rises up to support the local community and everyone joins in to embrace it. I loved visiting the pottery maker in his workshop and the village, watching the children laugh as our oxcart travelled through the streets. We returned back to tea and a lovely evening meal and then climbed the stairs to the rooftop to witness stars on a clear night the like I haven't seen so clearly anywhere! The owners are courteous, helpful and our proud of their heritage and it was a pleasure to share that with them.

Room Tip: They were all lovely
See more room tips
Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mordy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    65
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
171
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for in night as a stop over in a long journey. Wow what an amazing job the family are doing in renovating this Fort. Stayed in the Princess room, what a delight. Large, comfortable and wonderful decor. Just perfect for imagining how life must have been there in the past.
Service and food excellent. Throughly enjoyed the trip to the local village on the buffalo cart and the tour of the Fort given by the owners. It all adds to the authenticity of the environment.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Two nights in this old family fort run by 16th generation owners. Very peaceful and comfortable. Had a massage (not bad) and henna'd hands. Walked around the village. Also a tour on a bullock cart. People very friendly and two schoolchildren invited us into their class to meet their friends . We also borrowed bike and went off into the countryside and had a lovely time. The fort was virtually a ruin but is gradually being restored. Lots of shady areas with rocking chairs to sit and read. Definitely worth a detour en route jaipur and udaipur. Food good but not outstanding. The owners really work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Lovely swimming pool.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hitherbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The positives are the property is great - a fort but small and personal. There are only a few rooms. There is a nice courtyard and a nice, small pool area with a view. The room was very large and comfortable. It was cold at night when we were there so they put several heaters in the room and brought a hot water bottle to make sure we were comfortable. The food at dinner was good and plentiful. Breakfast was very modest and probably could be improved a bit. The pool area looked great but it was too cool to use and was, at the time, occupied by a lot of pigeons and pigeon poo which probably wouldn't be an issue if lots of people were around and using the pool. The wi-fi was very weak and meant we really didn't have use for the day we were there.
The best part of the experience is the tour they arrange into the village, meeting with locals, visiting the temple and hearing about local life. Very worth a detour to stay here if only for one night on your way through the area.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaklandish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We stayed 2 nights here in a double room that included breakfast.

Firstly I will say that for our travel style we could have done well enough with only one night here.
Fort Barli is in a very, very tiny village of just a few thousand people and besides walking the village and seeing the grounds of the fort/hotel there is not anything else to do.
So if you are a “go-go” kind of traveler one night is sufficient.
If you are the type of traveler who enjoys relaxing and having time to just sit and relax, read, have a coffee or beverage in a unique and special setting then you might prefer having 2 nights.

Certainly the highlight of being in this village is walking through it and meeting the people, especially the children!!
They are the most welcoming and friendly children we have met in all of our travels! They are absolutely enamored with having their photo taken and ask for nothing in return.
The laughter and the smiles on their faces as we interacted with them were precious and will leave us with lasting memories.
One group even invited us into their home to meet the entire family.
This interaction we had with the people of Barli was one of the most unique and special experiences of our entire time in India!

The fort itself was also very special. It is a pretty unique experience to stay in a 400 year old fort.
The room was huge with 2 separate salons, one with the main bedroom and bathroom and then another huge lounge with seating areas, a desk, and amenity area (coffee/tea maker and fridge).
The decor is lovely and the room was clean.
The a/c worked wonderfully but even though they advertise wifi, it is not useable in the room. You must be in the lobby and even then it is an unreliable 3G hotspot.
The bathroom had a tub/shower but the hot water comes from a small hot water tank and only allows about 3 minutes for a shower. Then the next usage requires a 15 minute wait for it to reheat.

The hotel is the only choice for food, as the village only has a few small shops that only sell candy and chips.

The included breakfast looks very sparse upon first glance as they set out a small and limited buffet but they bring hot dishes to order to your table. They offered both western and Indian style food.

Dinner is served starting at 7:30pm. Before then you can order snacks (soups, sandwiches, paranthas, etc) between 11am and 5pm

On our first night dinner was very disappointing as even the Indian dishes had NO flavor.
All of the food was very bland. The owner explained to us that they prepare it this way to cater to their mostly European guests.
Once he learned that we love flavorful and spicy food he made sure that for our second dinner the food would be prepared to our liking and it was!
If you also enjoy spicy food let them know at check in to avoid a disappointing meal. The difference was striking.
We were there two nights, the first night was a buffet and the second they brought us food. We think it was because the hotel was quite empty the second night but that is only a guess.
You don’t really order off of a menu. They just brought us many different dishes (way too much food actually!) But it was all very good and tasty!
Both nights they brought out three different desserts. You didn’t have to choose, you got one of each.

The price of dinner was not included in our rate, but at 800 rupees per person it is very fair for what you get and the fact that there are really no other options. This included a large bottle of water at each table.

If your travels take you near this area, you should stay at Fort Barli. In fact, if you plan to stay in this area it is your only option.
It is a unique place and will give you a memorable experience of your time in India.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fort Barli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Barli

Property: Fort Barli
Address: Village Barli, Barli 305624, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Barli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,877 - ₹ 10,203
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Barli is a 350 year old fort strategically located in a village named Barli on National Highway 79. It's an ideal stopover in between Jaipur-Jodhpur, Jaipur-Udaipur. Pushkar/Chittorgarh could be done in a day's trip. The rooms are equipped with AC, study desk, minibars, tea/cofee makers and attached washrooms fitted with modern amenities. The hotel offers swimming pool, bullock cart rides, astrologer on call, traditional massage, guided fort tour etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Fort Barli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Barli Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing