We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Indian holiday”
Review of Fort Barli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Barli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Take the time to visit this wonderful village and delightful hotel situated within an ancient fort. The charming owners and staff will make your visit special. The rooms are all decorated in different styles, and this is a relief if you are tired of the homogeneity of chain hotels. While this hotel is somewhat off the beaten track, that is what makes it special - enjoy the journey, the countryside and the wonderful people you will meet in the village of Barli.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - we had three different rooms. Go with the flow.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Fort Barli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Located in the sleepy hamlet of Barli, this 17th century fort is a throwback to the might of the Rajputana royalty. Built in 1675 by Raja Moti Singh from the royal family of Jodhpur, Fort Barli is now in the hands of the 16th generation of the Rathod family. The fort and the village stand frozen in time as the world speeds by on it’s own merry way. The 8 room Barli fort is a relief to overused senses. Be it listening to the chirping of the birds or straining to identify a constellation during clear nights, this place offers you a disconnect from the world not easily available. But does that mean living frugally?

The opulent luxuries at the Fort Barli offer you a chance to feel like royalty without it’s stresses. The strong built walls hold stories of Rajputana valour while a collection of photographs on the walls gives you an insight into the most recent history of the family. Restored in 2010, the fort holds numerous knick knacks from all over Rajasthan. Be it a collection of weapons or musical instruments.

The 8 rooms of the Barli Fort are different from each other. With hardwood furniture and colours of red and saffron dominating the frame, your stay at Fort Barli will always remain colourful. The reception hosts a small library for whiling away time listening to the parrots chirping from the Neem tree. Or you can spend your time chatting with Karni Singh and Pallavi Kumari, owners of the property. They will regale you with stories from all over the Rajputana history.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sudiptode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Fort Barli is a delight. It's quite a drive from anywhere in Rajastan but is worth every minute of it.
Arrival is preceded by a tortuous drive through the village but then the panorama opens up through an elephant garden;leading to a central courtyard from which the rest of the Fort radiates.
The public rooms are beautifully and appropriately furnished and our bedroom, looking our over the fields below, was really comfortable.
Our hosts were delighted to tell us about the Fort and its history and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Meals were delicious.
We really enjoyed a bullock ride round the village and being, I think, blessed in the Hindu Temple. The villagers, and particularly the children, were extremely friendly and really welcomed having their photos taken, making their hopes clear that we'd send them copies when we got home.
A wonderful break after the contrast of Delhi, Agra and Jaipur.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank familybieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Built in 1675 by Raja Moti Singh from the royal family of Jodhpur, Fort Barli is now in the hands of the 16th generation of the Rathod family. The fort and the village stand frozen in time as the world speeds by on it’s own merry way. The 8 room Barli fort is a relief to overused senses. Be it listening to the chirping of the birds or straining to identify a constellation during clear nights, this place offers you a disconnect from the world not easily available.

Room Tip: Pick The Suite
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Snigdha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We spent one night at this characterful Heritage Fort Hotel in October. Overall it has a "laid back" informal feel and relaxing atmosphere. Our very spacious suite was a genuine step-back-in-time-experience, surrounded by antique family artifacts and furnishings. There was a lovely carved wooden swing in the courtyard just outside our door. The central courtyard near reception was also an attractive and pleasant place to spend time. There are lovely views from Fort Barli of the village, lake and local countryside. Dinner was a buffet of tasty local cuisine served by the pool, while breakfast was taken at the indoor restaurant. If our stay had been longer we would have definitely done the village tour to get a better feel for local life. Fort Bali was an enjoyable break to our journey.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReadyToGoGo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fort Barli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Barli

Address: Village Barli, Barli 305624, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Barli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Price Range: ₹ 4,958 - ₹ 10,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Barli is a 350 year old fort strategically located in a village named Barli on National Highway 79. It's an ideal stopover in between Jaipur-Jodhpur, Jaipur-Udaipur. Pushkar/Chittorgarh could be done in a day's trip. The rooms are equipped with AC, study desk, minibars, tea/cofee makers and attached washrooms fitted with modern amenities. The hotel offers swimming pool, bullock cart rides, astrologer on call, traditional massage, guided fort tour etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Fort Barli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Barli Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing