We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Stay”
Review of Fort Barli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Barli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Built in 1675 by Raja Moti Singh from the royal family of Jodhpur, Fort Barli is now in the hands of the 16th generation of the Rathod family. The fort and the village stand frozen in time as the world speeds by on it’s own merry way. The 8 room Barli fort is a relief to overused senses. Be it listening to the chirping of the birds or straining to identify a constellation during clear nights, this place offers you a disconnect from the world not easily available.

Room Tip: Pick The Suite
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Snigdha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Fort Barli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016

We spent one night at this characterful Heritage Fort Hotel in October. Overall it has a "laid back" informal feel and relaxing atmosphere. Our very spacious suite was a genuine step-back-in-time-experience, surrounded by antique family artifacts and furnishings. There was a lovely carved wooden swing in the courtyard just outside our door. The central courtyard near reception was also an attractive and pleasant place to spend time. There are lovely views from Fort Barli of the village, lake and local countryside. Dinner was a buffet of tasty local cuisine served by the pool, while breakfast was taken at the indoor restaurant. If our stay had been longer we would have definitely done the village tour to get a better feel for local life. Fort Bali was an enjoyable break to our journey.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReadyToGoGo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night, we could have stayed more. The room was beautiful, as was the place. The food was of an excellent standard, both breakfast , lunch and dinner- wonderful flavours and a lot of it. The bullock ride was a great way to see the village and we both liked the fact you are not allowed to give to the people of the village to prevent begging, they then give to the village in other ways which showed to be a great support. We used the pool, and it was lovely to have the sounds of the village around us.
Would we return.... yes !!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Our room was a fantastic suite in the fort, which has a rich and colourful history. Our hosts were most welcoming, and eager to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. Staff were most obliging and friendly; they clearly enjoyed the cricket banter. We were looking forward to some relaxation in a small village after experiencing the bustle of Delhi, Amritsar, Agra and Jaipur. The bullock cart ride on our first evening gave us a real insight into Rajasthan village life- our excellent guide pointed out the temple, wildlife, and some typical houses. We were followed by many smiling happy children, eager for us to take "one photo" and highly amused to be shown their images. Next day we were collected from the fort by the principal of the local school, who proudly showed us around. Despite a lack of facilities, we were most impressed by the dedication shown by his staff, and the children were an absolute delight. They all introduced themselves, shook our hands and were once more keen for some photography. The school was grateful for our small donation to funds, and look forward to receiving photos of themselves which we will send (They have created a collage of similar snaps).Most impressive was the philosophy in the village, in discouraging a begging culture amongst the children, and providing an education which privileged visitors such as ourselves are invited to support- we will be happy to do so.
A simple school visit, but certainly one of the highlights of our holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anwood147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We were made to feel welcome and rather special the moment we arrived at the fort. It is a great chance to have a unique experience in such an unusual setting. Our room was large, comfortable and decorated colorfully. The food was of a good standard with plenty of choice and more than enough in quantity. The family that own the fort are keen to make your stay an enjoyable one along with a team of wonderful staff that really can not do enough for you. There is also a small terrace area with a swimming pool if you have time to relax. The views are fab and you must venture out on the bull cart if given the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fort Barli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Barli

Address: Village Barli, Barli 305624, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Barli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Price Range: ₹ 4,958 - ₹ 10,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Barli is a 350 year old fort strategically located in a village named Barli on National Highway 79. It's an ideal stopover in between Jaipur-Jodhpur, Jaipur-Udaipur. Pushkar/Chittorgarh could be done in a day's trip. The rooms are equipped with AC, study desk, minibars, tea/cofee makers and attached washrooms fitted with modern amenities. The hotel offers swimming pool, bullock cart rides, astrologer on call, traditional massage, guided fort tour etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Fort Barli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Barli Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing