We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GODDESS TOUR!”
Review of Fort Barli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Barli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We travelled here as part of a small group tour. The hotel is just gorgeous and the rooms are lovely. Traditional family hospitality, including a fun dress up night is Sari's this family has had for generations, the owners daughter, spent time with us showing us around the fort, and it was amazing to see how much work and effort has been done here.... lovely pool to cool off in after we had a horse and cart ride through the small quaint village

Room Tip: make sure you tour the fort with the owner.... great view from the top!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Fort Barli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2016

Fort Barli is being renovated bit by bit. We stayed in the King's room and I was blown away by it. So much history in just one place. The family who run this hotel are warm and friendly and eager to show you around and tell you it's history. The dinner we had here was set up by the swimming pool and it was lovely. We had a dress up night in saris which was fun.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KarenP057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

A unique opportunity to stay at a historic fort managed in 16th generation. A great experience both within and outside the fort. The highlight (optional, i.e. for an additional fee): a village tour on an ox-pulled carriage allowing an interesting insight into the life of the rural population. The room was very comfortable, nicely furnished. Everything was perfect except the food (both dinner and breakfast) which we found slightly disappointing compared to all the many other places we have visited before/after during our India trip.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Only stayed one night but had we not been on a tight schedule we could have easily stayed for 2 or 3. Stayed in a room that was big enough to play 5 a side football in!!! This place was an actual Fort about 350 years ago and the atmosphere feels so different to anywhere else. Loved the visit to the village. One of the hotel staff acted as guide. He even invited us in to his own home to look around.The owner met us when we arrived and was very friendly. Food was great -Indian of course - enough for the largest of appetites.Made a new friend - the owners Labrador named Shadow. Sat in the courtyard stroking him while watching the green parrots in the tree. So very peaceful.

Would recommend this to anyone looking for something unique in their Indian adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank borismas7bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Toolbox full of flowers

It’s a fort… not a hotel designed by committee so be prepared to enjoy the age and patina of a building assembled with love and oxen several hundred years hence. I stayed longer than I intended purely because of what it lacked, noise, just the sound of the Hindi music in the village and the parrots in the courtyard, unnecessary stuff, but a comfortable bed, a vestibule, an office and bay window to recline and gaze out of. It defies busy, you arrive unwind and enter a bygone age of quality, worn steps, furniture fit for the Raj and service to match. Part of me wants to recommend it as highly as possible, the selfish gene wants to tell you to stay away entirely I don’t want it spoilt. If you value quality over amenities and are of an age where comfort means taking time to talk to people and not 16 pillows on you bed Fort Barli is as near the top of any list I could make. Good honest people, helpful and friendly without being obsequious. The Fort, the staff and the people of the village are a delight. if you have that innate fortunate ability to “appreciate” you would have found a true secret in our crazy world. I will come back.

john lester griffiths MD LPoC GC

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and stylish, go back 8 times and stay in them all.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bazileous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fort Barli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Barli

Address: Village Barli, Barli 305624, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Rajsamand District > Barli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barli
Price Range: ₹ 4,958 - ₹ 10,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fort Barli is a 350 year old fort strategically located in a village named Barli on National Highway 79. It's an ideal stopover in between Jaipur-Jodhpur, Jaipur-Udaipur. Pushkar/Chittorgarh could be done in a day's trip. The rooms are equipped with AC, study desk, minibars, tea/cofee makers and attached washrooms fitted with modern amenities. The hotel offers swimming pool, bullock cart rides, astrologer on call, traditional massage, guided fort tour etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Fort Barli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Barli Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing