We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
252
77
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
77
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural villageayurvedic massageoff the beaten tracksteeped in historyreal indiaox cart riderooms are lovelyswimming poollocal childrenindian citiestwo night staycouple stayingrelaxing stayen routespent one nightmemorable experienceworth the detour
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Fort Barli is a residential fort that sits in the centre, and high above, the village of Barli in Rajasthan. The owners family have lived in the fort for many generations, they have recently renovated approximately half of the fort and opened their doors to guests. The setting of Barli Fort is magnificent as is the welcome from hosts Karni and Pallavi who are keen to share the history of their home and their respective families. The staff at Fort Barli are friendly and helpful and produce amazing food served either in the dining room or at the pool side with local entertainment provided for guests in the evening.
As a hotel the rooms are spectacular, don't expect modern 5 star hotel facilities as this is C17 centre rural Fort however the renovation is superb and the owners have managed to retain the history and individuality of each room.
The village of Barli is delightful and well worth exploring, especially if you take advantage of a guide from the Fort. The village people are extremely friendly and welcoming, they have so little yet are happy to share with guests from the Fort. A morning spent visiting the shoe maker and his family, watching the potter at work, visiting the Temple and finishing up at Vijay Shree Public School was one of the highlights of our visit to Rajasthan.
For the future Karni and Pallavi eventually plan to renovate more of the Fort and gradually increase the number of guests though it will never be crowded.
Overall, a fabulous experience, I wish we could have stayed longer in this delightful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Fort Barli is a wonderfully renovated fortress overlooking a village of approx 5,000 inhabitants. We stayed in the King's suite, which was lavish and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. The fort itself is a relaxing environment in which to spend a few days. However, the village adds enormously to the experience. The hosts organised a trip through the village by bullock cart enabling us to meet with many of the local people, most of whom wanted their photographs taken! Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is a wonderful place to enjoy a Rajasthani fort experience. We had a wonderful suite with plenty of space, view and comfort. Great hosts, pool and delicious food. We also had the pleasure to eat our second dinner in a private room with beatiful decor. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Excellent place to get away from city life and relax for a while. The lady owner is 15th generation and she and her husband were excellent hosts and very friendly. They have made a big effort to keep the fort authentic while at the same time making the accommodation very comfortable. I stayed in the Prince's room which was over 3 floors with great views over the local village and countryside. Lovely swimming pool and places to sit around in the courtyard and unwind with a beer! Food was great too with a music show in the evening which was fun. This was the best place I stayed in 17 days of travel around India and certainly not the most expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOBSKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My family had planned a trip to Rajasthan . We had stayed at fort Barli for 3 nights . The hotel was situated in the middle of the village . It was huge !! I was charmed by the palace .The rooms were huge in size and were so rich filled with luxury !! Rajasthan is truly an amazing place. The food quality was so good .There was a good variety in buffet . We had a pool side dinner which was amazing !! There were stars all arround as the pool is situated at height.The staff was so friendly and welcoming. The village walk and safari was very well organised . There was a dance show organised . The care takers of the hotel took personal care of our needs and were so humble . I will surely rate fort barli , as I had a lovely stay .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews