We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
252
77
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
77
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural villageayurvedic massageoff the beaten tracksteeped in historyreal indiaox cart riderooms are lovelyswimming poollocal childrenindian citiestwo night staycouple stayingrelaxing stayen routespent one nightmemorable experienceworth the detour
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Fantastic fort overlooking small village in rural Rajasthan. Made to feel like 'royalty' on arrival and throughout 2 night stay. Rooms full of character and richly furnished - we stayed in the 'queen's bedroom'. Fascinating personal tours of the fort and village (by bullock cart) and account of their rich history. Outstanding food and service - hosts were very attentive and ensured our stay was both memorable and will stay in our memories for many years.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

the hotel seems to add to the beauty of barli... beautiful... had a very good time staying here.. and it gave a push to my trip.. amazing service.. thank uu!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

September 2011

Give you a break from busy and hectic life, away from touristic places

Fort Barli is located between Jodhpur and Jaipur and only one hour drive to Ajmer or Pushkar. The marvellous 16th centuries Fort in the middle of „nowhere“ is sourroundet by the unspoiled Barli Village and gives you the great oppurtunity to see rural life in action.
The Fort is in the 16th generation of the same Royal Family, the owners (a young couple) are wonderful and charming people, and gave us a very warm welcome feeling almost like a family member.

They themselves took care of us and offered and organized us a variety of fantastic activities: The Ayurvedic Massage made by a Massage- Therapiste from the village, was excellent, the Bullok-Safari trough the village with its friendly people, was our highlight. We also had a lovely Sunset Pic-Nic at the near lake, and an excellent poolside Dinner. All meals were cooked with love and fresh lokal ingridients, like the authentic Rajastane Cuisiene has to be. I had my very best homemade Masal Tea!

The lavish well decorated and comfortable rooms with private terrasse gave us a real Mahraja feeling and peace after visiting major cities.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the service excellent.

It was a delightful stay and most memorable, but too short, we advise to everybody to stay at least 3 nights in this peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fischto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very friendly hosts & staff. Amazingly friendly village. Definitely a change in pace after the major cities. The food at dinner was also fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

In Jan.2011 we spent 18 days travelling around Radjastan. We stayed in Havelis, small guest houses,hotels and one other old Fort. Fort Barli was by far our best and most memorable experience.
The owners are charming people, they made us so welcome, we almost felt like family!
The fort, which has been in their family for generations,is a wonderful,truly Radjastan place to stay.It is furnished with antique furniture, colourful hangings and spreads. We had a large bedroom and sitting area and a stunning terrace with views over the village,a tree beside our balcony was full of chattering green parrakeets, very atmospheric!!
We hope to re-visit one day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews