We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
252
77
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
77
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural villageayurvedic massageoff the beaten tracksteeped in historyreal indiaox cart riderooms are lovelyswimming poollocal childrenindian citiestwo night staycouple stayingrelaxing stayspent one nightmemorable experiencesitting areaindia trip
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We traveled together to India and booked our stay at this beautiful, very welcoming hotel, away from all the hussle and bussle and in the country side. It was a very peaceful experience, the staff was extremely welcoming and the rooms were very beautiful. It was a very private feel and we felt very secure. The pool side was very nice and we enjoyed every bit of our stay. Had we not stayed here, we would have missed out on a lot and we are so glad that we got to meet our wonderful hosts. Definitely recommend for all travellers who would like to have a peaceful and a clean plus a maharaja feeling while travelling in India.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Fort Barli
Mid way between Jaipur and Jodhpur, about 15 minutes off the main road. Depending on your schedule do try to take 2 nights not the one night flying stop over. The small stone fort was built in the mid 1600s and converted a few years ago into a 7 room hotel by the 16 th generation of the same royal family. The dining room provides you with paintings showing the previous generations.We stayed in a Suite on the 1st floor, historically where the ladies resided away from male eyes. The room was richly decorated and very comfortable with 2 large bay windows with mattresses and pillows where you could observe the farm village that surrounds the Fort.Because of the rural location we ate lunch snacks and dinner in the hotel. Breakfast and dinner are buffet style- the vegetables are from their own organic gardens.
We enjoyed the spacious areas including a private terrace with the suite room and again the 2 night stop gave us time to  relax and also participate in the range of activities on offer. A Massage ( 1200 rupees), Bullock Safari (600 rupees each) and complimentary fort tour ( about 15 mins) and the chance to dress up as a Maharaja and Maharini for the local folk dance performance before dinner. The highlight of the activities was the ride on the bullock cart through the narrow village streets - seeing life like it probably was in biblical times. Stops to see the village cobbler,potter in action as well as a visit to the local temple and family cenotaph. Best bit for us was the 20 mins in the local school, about a 100 young children across 4 classes in a courtyard. There is an opportunity to give a receipted donation to help them buy basic school equipment.Everyone in the village seemed very happy.
Overall a recommended stop on route from Jaipur to Jodhpur to experience the history of Fort Barli and an opportunity see rural life in action.Very good service.No wifi. Buffet service.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed in the Royal Suite here in February 2011. The welcome was good and the room was massive and beautifully appointed. We checked in and then noticed the "urine" smell in the room. We mentioned it and the owner responded quickly. The smell turned out to be the 20 or so pigeons that were roosting in the canopy outside the window of our room. There was 5-8 cm of pigeons droppings on the window ledge! They sprayed and brought scented sticks to the room but did not do anything about cleaning up the source of the smell. I notice the recent review below and am surpriused that this problem still exists. The management response seems to indicate that they feel it is acceptable. It is not.
What a pity it spoilt what should have been a good stay. The welcome, the general ambience, the tour of the fort, the dancing and the buffet dinner were all good. This was the only place we stayed in India where there was no complimentary bottled water in the room!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

If you are tired of busy and hectic life and want to take some time out with your friends and family to enjoy some joyous moments among the royal culture and warm hospitality of Rajasthan then this is the place to be.I stayed here for 3 nights and i fell in love with this place and what surprise me the most was the thing that this place had to offer.I specially loved having my supper near the pool which had an enchanting sunset backdrop and also the sky with with the crystal clear stars.If i ever go back,i will love to stay here again.It was simply amazing.I will remember this stay forever!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreyas1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

It was like coming to an oasis, A beautiful ,well kept, small fort -it was for us the perfect getaway. Near a village and far from the hustle bustle of a city. Not only was the room large but we had access to a lot of open areas in the fort that added to the 'atmosphere'. Traditional food served in different areas of the fort enhanced the experience, The staff was very courteous and attentive. Our gracious hosts had arranged an evening of traditional music and dance and we really enjoyed dressing up in traditional clothes and dancing away. A bullock cart ride through the village was just what my young daughter wanted! A lot of fun and learning about interesting facets of village life. I think we would love to go back and explore the fort and the village a little more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhailshamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews