We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
252
77
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
77
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural villageayurvedic massageoff the beaten tracksteeped in historyreal indiaox cart riderooms are lovelyswimming poollocal childrenindian citiestwo night staycouple stayingrelaxing stayen routespent one nightmemorable experienceworth the detour
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed in the Royal Suite here in February 2011. The welcome was good and the room was massive and beautifully appointed. We checked in and then noticed the "urine" smell in the room. We mentioned it and the owner responded quickly. The smell turned out to be the 20 or so pigeons that were roosting in the canopy outside the window of our room. There was 5-8 cm of pigeons droppings on the window ledge! They sprayed and brought scented sticks to the room but did not do anything about cleaning up the source of the smell. I notice the recent review below and am surpriused that this problem still exists. The management response seems to indicate that they feel it is acceptable. It is not.
What a pity it spoilt what should have been a good stay. The welcome, the general ambience, the tour of the fort, the dancing and the buffet dinner were all good. This was the only place we stayed in India where there was no complimentary bottled water in the room!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

If you are tired of busy and hectic life and want to take some time out with your friends and family to enjoy some joyous moments among the royal culture and warm hospitality of Rajasthan then this is the place to be.I stayed here for 3 nights and i fell in love with this place and what surprise me the most was the thing that this place had to offer.I specially loved having my supper near the pool which had an enchanting sunset backdrop and also the sky with with the crystal clear stars.If i ever go back,i will love to stay here again.It was simply amazing.I will remember this stay forever!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreyas1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

It was like coming to an oasis, A beautiful ,well kept, small fort -it was for us the perfect getaway. Near a village and far from the hustle bustle of a city. Not only was the room large but we had access to a lot of open areas in the fort that added to the 'atmosphere'. Traditional food served in different areas of the fort enhanced the experience, The staff was very courteous and attentive. Our gracious hosts had arranged an evening of traditional music and dance and we really enjoyed dressing up in traditional clothes and dancing away. A bullock cart ride through the village was just what my young daughter wanted! A lot of fun and learning about interesting facets of village life. I think we would love to go back and explore the fort and the village a little more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhailshamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

it was one of my best holidays wid my friends ,the place is beautiful,wid so many diffrent activities for every age group ,we saw beautiful folk dances of rajasthan n we enjoyed da camel ride ............the food was excellent ......and da rooms wer so comortable and the staff were so well trained and took good care of us .........we really enjoyed da services and were so at home .........i would love 2 make a trip 2 barli fort atleast once or twice a year ...........its a place wer fun n peace can be felt 2gether ........thumbs up

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heerpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We were on a luxury holiday tour and booked here for three nights for a final relaxation, but only stayed one as we were so disappointed. Our view is that this is a one-night quirky stopover but not a luxurious and relaxing hotel as depicted on the website.
Situated in an uncharming village with no views.
Our rooms were large and high-ceilinged, smelling of damp with old tired fittings. They were freezing at night and we only had one sheet and a thin blanket. Hundreds of pigeons have made their home outside the window and you hear them all night long, flapping and scratching around. The bathrooms are sparse with small thin towels, cheap soap and no shampoo. You have to switch the water heating on before you shower and, quite frankly, it didn't seem to work.
The pool area is not pleasant to sit around, as you are covered in flies and to pool is full of pigeons. Flies in the courtyard mean you can't sit outside to eat - even in December.
Food was nothing to write home about. Dinner was a buffet of 4 veg curries and a meat dish. We only had the veg, at a whopping 600 rupees per person. Lunch wasn't much better - inedible chips cooked in old fat served with a filthy ketchup bottle. We'd been in India for three weeks and this was the most disappointing food of our tour.
The only positive was the village dancing and music group performance in the evening before dinner, which was charming.
We were glad to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortBarli, Manager at Fort Barli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sparing out time and writing to us. Fort Barli is a family run establishment comitted to serve all our guests. As per your review you said there were thin blankets and a sheet. We could have gladly provided you more quilts if required as well as a heater if requested at the reception and once brought to the managements notice.

The hot water works on a boiler in which you have to wait for 15 mins and we always brief all guests at check in about the procedure and would have instantly made you comfortable if you could have told that you are not able to get hot water. As for the accesssories we keep towels, good soaps( 2 soaps on washbasins and 1 in bath area), shampoo,shower cap in all the bathroom. We would have assisted if you didnt find your shampoo and made you comfortable if you brought it to our notice.


As far as pigeons are concerned its natural to find them more in villages(rural areas) and shouldnt be a concern.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews