We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$35
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com$34
Expedia.com$35
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
11
9
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
9
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

A quiet, family run ecolodge about a 5min drive out of town.
It was great, perfect for relaxation! The family offers activities to keep yourself busy including horseback riding and hiking up the nearby volcano, Conception. The farm is quite large and you could spend a day exploring it! The food here was home made and delicious. Everybody in the family was very nice and more than willing to help with anything needed. The owner, Hernan, is an amazing local veterinarian that is very interesting to talk to. He is full of knowledge and passion for his life and local area. He knows how to speak English, Spanish, and Russian (better than I do and I'm Russian!). Everything was clean and the grounds offered several places to relax on the lake as well as a few hammocks and undercover areas.
I recommend renting a motorcycle to fully explore the island and all that it has to offer!
I cannot wait for the opportunity to return in the future!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director Comercial at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review, I was really surprised many attributes and qualities there and offer our customers. We are always in the constant struggle to innovate and grow as service providers, we care about our customers and always be ready to offer the best of us.
We know we have many deficiencies as a hotel and some customers expect a lot more of us, our apologies for not being able to attend throughout its best when requested.

We will be waiting for you to give the best of us looking for your best stay in this modest but warm beach hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This hotel is very dirty; the beach is not ready for swimming or taking a walk by it. The place is full of spiders. Do not eat the food, it is bad, and they over charge. Also it is locate very far from town.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank vmgleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director Comercial at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you very much for your opinion, strengthen us much each of them and always take into account to define our future to follow.

We thank you for your valuable collaboration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This accommodation is quite rustic as one might expect from an ecolodge and definitely not suited for everyone. That being said the longer we stayed the more we liked it. The family that runs the lodge is very friendly, helpful and hardworking. We were travelling with our two large, long haired dogs and this was the perfect spot for them. No a/c but was comfortable as lovely breezes come off the lake and there are plenty of shaded areas. (Plus lots of hammocks!)
It is true that the water is rationed, but a simple request to turn it on when a shower is wanted is all it takes. This lodge is a little out of town but within walking distance of a keen hiker, about 4 klm

Room tip: One on either end for additional air circulation
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director Comercial at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

We are deeply grateful for your comments, it's nice to serve people who enjoy the stay and humble conditions in which we can serve customers who visit us and help improve conditions in the hotel and the quality of service you personally provide to everyone.

We thank you very much for your review and contributions to our hotel every day improves, we believe in you and we hope to overcome our conditions every day to please a larger number of visitors.

Hernán García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

If you want night life, you are a little far out of town, but it is perfect for relaxxation. It is a family owned, working farm that employs ecological practices. Lots of wildlife, bring your binoculars as you are on the lake and there are lots of birds. The family is very welcoming.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 402charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director Comercial at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable opinion, such opinions are what we seek, and what we try to create with our efforts, resources and many hours of work.

Very grateful for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We stayed at the Tierra Blanca in the beginning of January, which is still high season on Ometepe. We couldn't get anything else online and didn't want to go there without a reservation.
The Tierra Blanca is 4 km from Moyogalpa, but 2 of these are off street so walking there is not really an option. Taxis are 4 Dollars per person, TukTuk 150 Cordobas per ride. The hotel is a really a finca with cows, chickens, horses and so on, directly at the lake. It is simple but very nice. The owner Susann is a very, very nice person though still a tough business woman. Tough business woman because of the following: As beautiful as the setting was, our room was not. It was awful actually. It was ok clean but the walls looked awful, my mattress must have been either 20 years old or a 600 lb person slept in there for a year. The water did not work so every time we wanted to wash our hands our shower, we had to go to Susann and she turned on our water. Everything had rather a hostel than a hotel character but Tierra Blanca charges 45 Dollars per night, which is way too much although a very good breakfast including eggs, juice and rice was included.
The following points are more of a must know, if you stay there: Dinner is 12 Dollars. Which is ok depending on the food of the day. We had a very simple chicken dinner one night where 12 Dollars are horribly overpriced, but had great fish the next night. We didn't ask before how much the dinner was, so we were a little upset about the costly chicken dinner - but that was our fault! The food was amazing, cooked by Susanns mother. Furthermore, please note that this is a farm/finca and that there are animals everywhere. Spiders, ants, the occasional cockroach. You need to be ok with nature because you are sleeping in the middle of it. The wifi doesn't really work, so do not rely on it.
Overall: If you're looking for solitude and nature, this is your place to stay. But try to get a better price than we did. 15 Dollars/night/person is enough.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank derfruehling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Good nights estimated Katrin,

First of all thank you for your sincere and bona fide comments that enrich our business.

We're really in the middle of nature where it is virtually impossible to get rid of insects, birds, howler monkeys, cows, pigs, dogs, ducks, geese, vultures, buzzards, woodpeckers, constrictor snakes, hummingbirds, spiders, scorpions, ants (almost all species in the world are there), owls, owls, etc., etc. and that's really what we're trying to balance to make more pleasant the stay of our clients.

All basic services like power, water, gas and others are generated or produced by ourselves, energy using solar panels, water by pumping and filtering underground water, processing of organic material for production of gas through digester, etc, so we should not rationalize, but rather to optimize the use of them to always guarantee the availability and presence of the same.
Our restaurant is simple, but in turn has been perhaps the most important point of reference for the site, as the culinary specialty you it has recognized, thanks to these partners that know how to do well is that you get to enjoy each dish. The prices of course will differ depending on the order, so we recommend always see the same prices.

We are grateful for your comments make us improve every day more and more.

We hope to have better conditions for their arrival at the next occasion.

P.S. The beds are orthopedic, that's the reason why the felt a little stiff.

Hernán García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews