We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
11
9
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
9
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

If you want night life, you are a little far out of town, but it is perfect for relaxxation. It is a family owned, working farm that employs ecological practices. Lots of wildlife, bring your binoculars as you are on the lake and there are lots of birds. The family is very welcoming.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 402charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director Comercial at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable opinion, such opinions are what we seek, and what we try to create with our efforts, resources and many hours of work.

Very grateful for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We stayed at the Tierra Blanca in the beginning of January, which is still high season on Ometepe. We couldn't get anything else online and didn't want to go there without a reservation.
The Tierra Blanca is 4 km from Moyogalpa, but 2 of these are off street so walking there is not really an option. Taxis are 4 Dollars per person, TukTuk 150 Cordobas per ride. The hotel is a really a finca with cows, chickens, horses and so on, directly at the lake. It is simple but very nice. The owner Susann is a very, very nice person though still a tough business woman. Tough business woman because of the following: As beautiful as the setting was, our room was not. It was awful actually. It was ok clean but the walls looked awful, my mattress must have been either 20 years old or a 600 lb person slept in there for a year. The water did not work so every time we wanted to wash our hands our shower, we had to go to Susann and she turned on our water. Everything had rather a hostel than a hotel character but Tierra Blanca charges 45 Dollars per night, which is way too much although a very good breakfast including eggs, juice and rice was included.
The following points are more of a must know, if you stay there: Dinner is 12 Dollars. Which is ok depending on the food of the day. We had a very simple chicken dinner one night where 12 Dollars are horribly overpriced, but had great fish the next night. We didn't ask before how much the dinner was, so we were a little upset about the costly chicken dinner - but that was our fault! The food was amazing, cooked by Susanns mother. Furthermore, please note that this is a farm/finca and that there are animals everywhere. Spiders, ants, the occasional cockroach. You need to be ok with nature because you are sleeping in the middle of it. The wifi doesn't really work, so do not rely on it.
Overall: If you're looking for solitude and nature, this is your place to stay. But try to get a better price than we did. 15 Dollars/night/person is enough.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank derfruehling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Good nights estimated Katrin,

First of all thank you for your sincere and bona fide comments that enrich our business.

We're really in the middle of nature where it is virtually impossible to get rid of insects, birds, howler monkeys, cows, pigs, dogs, ducks, geese, vultures, buzzards, woodpeckers, constrictor snakes, hummingbirds, spiders, scorpions, ants (almost all species in the world are there), owls, owls, etc., etc. and that's really what we're trying to balance to make more pleasant the stay of our clients.

All basic services like power, water, gas and others are generated or produced by ourselves, energy using solar panels, water by pumping and filtering underground water, processing of organic material for production of gas through digester, etc, so we should not rationalize, but rather to optimize the use of them to always guarantee the availability and presence of the same.
Our restaurant is simple, but in turn has been perhaps the most important point of reference for the site, as the culinary specialty you it has recognized, thanks to these partners that know how to do well is that you get to enjoy each dish. The prices of course will differ depending on the order, so we recommend always see the same prices.

We are grateful for your comments make us improve every day more and more.

We hope to have better conditions for their arrival at the next occasion.

P.S. The beds are orthopedic, that's the reason why the felt a little stiff.

Hernán García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

If you are looking for a place that is completely calm and relax this is the place to go in Ometepe. This is ran by the Garcia Gonzalez family who has been there for over 55 years.

My daugther and I just visited again and we loved it. The food is great.

Everything is natural no A/C
Luis

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HotelXolotlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director Comercial at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Valued Customer,

We are very happy to serve you and know that you found the right place for your needs, we are investing so that you feel better every day.
We are grateful for the valuable comments that will serve as reference for other customers looking for the conditions that we can provide.

Thank you very much,

Hernán García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

The three nights that we spent at Hotel Ecologico in Tierra Blanca were the highlight of our two week trip to Nicaragua. The family that owns/manages this farm/hotel are incredibly kind and gracious hosts. We spent our days wading in the lake, lounging in hammocks, and eating some of the freshest and most delicious food we’ve ever had. The lady of the house kindly invited my husband into her kitchen to learn her cooking secrets, her son gave us a tour of the farm showing us all the local produce (lemons, limes, oranges, coconuts, coffee, etc.) My husband tried his hand at milking cows and we both enjoyed any chance to converse with the owner in Spanish about NIcaraguan history, farming, and many other topics. The owner joked when we left that we would soon wish were back in Tierra Blanca and she was right, in truth we still do!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director Comercial at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

We are grateful for your kind opinion, really our small business is oriented to serving our customers, we are aware of the improvements to be made to grow every day and get closer to what our customers need.
Hopefully your next visit we have many other entertainment options so they can stay longer.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Let me start by giving you the positive about our stay here. Our hostess (I believe her name is Ligia) was a very welcoming and friendly lady. She really tried her best to please. She made every effort to converse with us and attend to all our needs. And because of this, I thought long and hard about writing a review.

I felt the rooms left much to be desired. It was very hard for me to rate the cleanliness when it would be next to impossible to keep these rooms clean. The floor is made of large, porous bricks, making sweeping and washing difficult. Insects prevail - we found a dead scorpion in our room as well as many large spiders in our bathroom. Lots of creepy things everywhere. And no mosquito netting for protection. Apparently, they had just sprayed for insects before we arrived. The mattresses sagged but the sheets were clean. Maid service is provided if requested.

The internet was down while we were there. I did not see a "spa". There is no restaurant. Meals are prepared for you ($6 per plate) but you don't have a choice of fares. Our lunch was lovely, but supper and breakfast were a disappointment. The beach is small with course sand and could have used a cleaning. We paid $45 per night because we booked ahead and on-line, but another guest paid $25 per night because he got his room when he arrived.

The common patio area was nice, and had a great breeze.

This was just not the place for me. By my definition, it was a bit beyond rustic. The hotel is definitely not what it has been billed as by the owner.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Del1564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tierra Blanca H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014
Google Translation

Hola a todos,

De antemano queremos agradecer a las personas que se han mostrado interesados en hacer críticas a nuestra empresa, les estamos profundamente agradecidos por su colaboración y aportes para que esta empresa mejore cada día mas y poder ofertar el producto que Ustedes demandan y que se sientan muy complacidos con nuestro servicio.

Efectivamente como parte del control de insectos rociamos frecuentemente soluciones repelentes e insecticidas naturales para mantener fuera las plagas e insectos que nos visitan en el Hotel, aun así se nos escapan algunos que resultan molestos para los clientes, queremos pedirles disculpas por los inconvenientes ocasionados, estamos bajo los planes de mejoras continuas y nos comprometemos a cambiar en pro de Ustedes nuestros clientes.

Siempre estaremos pendientes de sus críticas, les estamos muy agradecidos por las mismas y esperemos que cada día la estadía en el hotel sea mas placentera.

Saludos cordiales,

Hernán García G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews