We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, excellent restaurant”
Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed there for 1 night just before Christmas. The room (number 5) was spacious and comfortable. It was too hot for us, but that was easy to fix by turning down the radiators.

The restaurant was completely full on the Tuesday night, so a good thing we had booked. I suspect there isn't a lot of local competition, but standards were very high. We both enjoyed both courses. Staff were busy, but on top of things and looked after us very well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkFromEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

We have stayed twice recently: once for my husband's birthday and once for a short pre-Xmas break with the kids. Food good, rooms nicely furnished. Pity no 'lounge' type area, as our two teens took their revision with them (bless).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HackneyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Booked 2 nights through lastmiute.com. Hotel manager unaware that her hotel was advertised on lastminute.com and the price that it was advertised per night. When we came to check out, she refused to accept the price that we had paid online stating that we had to pay their normal rates. The reason we booked it was because it was a good online deal!!! Despite being presented with our receipt of payment, she still argued that we needed to pay more. Obviously this wasn't goling to happen! We ate at the restaurant one evening and our friends settled the bill but they had no record of this- the organisation isn't v good.
The rooms are nice but ventilaton is poor. The food and service during the mealtime was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7sandy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckad, Owner at The Mistley Thorn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

What your reviewer did not mention was that the booking was for the 30th and 31st December at a total rate of £110.00. Unfortunately our on line booking provider had erroneously coded New Year's Eve as zero cost instead of blacking that night out as unavailable because a special rate applied. The customer therefore was charged £110.00 for the first night (our standard rate) and nothing for the second when a special rate greatly in excess of this applied. Unaware of this error the duty manager obviously challenged the very low bill that applied. We fully understand the customer's insistence that the low rate applied and the subsequent discussion might also explain why they declined to pay the discretionary service charge for the meal even though they regarded both the meal and service as 'very good.'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Managed by staff, with little sight of the owner, we were asked to struggle with our luggage up three flights of stairs and through two very difficult fire doors, to an attic room.
Although clean and bright, the ventilation was restricted and the room was terribly hot, so much so that none of us could sleep well.
The weather was warmish, but there was some machinery inside the wall which was acting as a permananent radiator. For two days and nights we requested a fan from various members of staff, who seemed to find running the restaurant more important than tending to the needs of the paying house guests. We were told there were fans in other rooms and one would be brought to ours. It never arrived.
There was a small kitchenette with a camp bed for my grandson.
When we tipped out the water in the kettle, the limescale was so thick it literally blocked the kitchen sink drain.
There were two televisions, one in each section of the room, and a CD player. We complained that niether worked and were told that the cleaning staff had probably loosened a plug........for two days nobody came to adjust either of the televisions for us.
Outside our room there was also a very noisy extractor mechanism from the kitchen, and the noise with the windows pushed open the couple of inches they would go, also made it difficult to sleep.

At check out, we found three errors on our bill and had to have it amended twice before it showed our actual costs.

Mostly, my daughter and myself felt the Mistley Thorn was run primarily as a restaurant for local patrons, with little regard to the guests paying around one hundred pounds per room per night.

The owner was visible at least twice during our stay, but never once attempted to speak with us or enquire as to how our visit was going.

We have stayed in beautiful B&Bs in Scotland, Stratford-Upon-Avon and Cornwall, and never been anywhere, where the proprietor did not take at least a minimal "hands-on" approach towards his or her guests.

The local area was interesting and we enjoyed our walks, but would not stay at the Mistley Thorn again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TELLERVO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Mistley Thorne a couple of weekends ago and would definitely return.

Although on a busy(ish) road the hotel is very welcoming and the staff are polite and efficient.

Fortunately we had a side-facing room and so were not really troubled by the road noise.

Double-glazing in all rooms would soon solve this minor problem.

Our room ( 4) was very pleasant with an extremely comfortable bed.

The bathroom was wonderful with the fastest filled bath I have ever had!

The complimentary toiletries were enjoyed as were the tea and biscuits.

Dinner at the restaurant downstairs was excellent with a full complement enjoying a mainly fish-based menu.

The wine list was more than adequate and the service was again fantastic - with a smile.

Breakfast the next morning was a fab full English and it was nice to see the restaurant open to locals who were there in force.

Across from the hotel is the lovely Mistley Quay, home to hundreds of swans and once the idiot who owns the quayside takes down his ridiculous metal fence, the area will be enhanced even more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyhoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
7.5 km away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
219 reviews
11.4 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
735 reviews
13.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
318 reviews
26.4 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
569 reviews
36.3 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range: ₹ 8,930 - ₹ 16,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing