We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want contemporary, this is for you.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Design Hotel des Francs Garcons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Design Hotel des Francs Garcons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Sauvant
Newark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you want contemporary, this is for you.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We booked this hotel after seeing it in Alastair Sawday's book. It is an extremely interesting building in that the architects (one of whom was running the show during our stay) have packed a lot into 5 floors of a very narrow building, including a charming roof terrace with a small pool. It is located towards the top of this hill-top village in a small square. Everything is extremely modern/contemporary and minimalist. We were surprised how rapidly we got used to this new experince but on occasion, it did become irritating. For instance, trying to shave in the extremely elegant bathroom, was awkward becaus the free-standing basin aws tucked into the corner with the mirror to the right; it looked great but was not the most practical layout. We enjoyed the food, served on the roof terrace by the pool with wonderful views. We paid €138/night for our spacious double room, €45 each for dinner (plus wine) and €12 each for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    44
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
17
80
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

One of the friendliest hotels we have experienced. Comfort and design with a very good cuisine. Children were welcome, indeed. Do not miss this hotel when visiting Saintes and Cognac.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
169 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

On a two night return trip from Murcia to Calais this was a special treat for night 2. This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in ( I have been fortunate to travel a lot over the last 30 years & this hotel is 'top draw!')
Location wise - set in a very typical small French village, loads of history & short or long walks are a plenty, easy to find and near the main routes for North, South, East or West!
A family run business who understand the meaning of service, hospitality and detail. Whether it is fine wine or wi-fi access. Dinner was excellent followed by a glass of Cognac (after all it is in the region!) The hotel has a small swimming pool which was most welcome after 7 hours in the car & a temp of 37 degrees! We were the only people with a young child/adult (son of 12) the other guests were all couples; only 8 rooms available within the hotel - so book quickly! As I think you get the picture this hotel is a must for a stop over, romantic break, wine or Cognac lovers & those who enjoy hotel owners who are engaging in conversation and service orientated.
Would I stay again - 150% yes!
Our costs; Room €98 + €15 supplement for extra bed; Breakfast €12 per head. Dinner ranges from €25 3 courses or select adhoc. Wine ranges from €15 to €80+ & Cognac €12 per glass; may sound expensive but for the value of service, food & location it is a steal! (car parking is free opposite hotel)

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We booked here last minute en route to Bordeaux. It's the only hotel / restaurant in the town and we thought it was expensive for what you got. Our room was dark and pokey; the bathroom needed to be refurbished. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful. There is plenty of free parking.

The 'restaurant' (dinner by the pool which was pretty) is overpriced - I guess you are a captive audience since there is nothing else in the town. €15 for a small salad and €5.50 for a small glass of wine!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mossie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

This charming hotel, fit within an old stone house in the middle of a centuries old village is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Cognac region. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and the facility is completely unique. I would highly recommend the restaurant. The dishes were presented in the most interesting way and were all delicious. I will return one day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRoyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Sauvant
12.3 km away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
14.3 km away
Domaine des Chais de Thenac
15.6 km away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#4 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Citotel des Messageries
Citotel des Messageries
#1 of 19 in Saintes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
15.1 km away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
14.1 km away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel des Francs Garcons? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel des Francs Garcons

Property: Design Hotel des Francs Garcons
Address: 1 rue des Francs Garcons, 17610 Saint Sauvant, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint Sauvant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Sauvant
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,283 - ₹ 8,442
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel des Francs Garcons 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the village of Saint Sauvant at the heart of the Saintonge region between the towns of Saintes and Cognac. An attractive privately-run hotel with a refined and contemporary decor.Nestled in the medieval village of Saint-Sauvant surrounded by a landscape of cognac vineyards and Romanesque churches, the Design Hotel des Francs Garçons offers a stylish and personalised welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Design Hotel des Francs Garcons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing