We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy cabin in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of WildWood Lodge

There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Welcome to WildWood! Between front door and kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Welcome to WildWood!
Between front door and kitchen.
Dining table for 6.
Sit down and relax.
Double bedroom.
Linen and towels are provided at WildWood.
Twin room has an additional TV and DVD player
WildWood Lodge has a large tub as well as a shower.
Fully equipped kitchen with good storage space and work surfaces.
Books and compact discs and a cupboard well stocked with visitor attraction leaflets.
Breakfast or a picnic or a bbq in the garden?
Your key is here on arrival
Pleasant surroundings.
Moffat Manor is the perfect place to unwind.
The beautiful close by spa town of Moffat has an abundance of restaurants, pubs and coffee bars.
Enjoy the outdoor experience - this glen is just a few miles away.
Looking down from the Grey Mare's Tail a National Trust gem on our doorstep.
Meggert Water offers a lovely setting for walking, cycling or a leisurely drive.
Tweedsmiur is just a short drive away from WildWood.
Drumlanrig Castle and its gardens are always a good day out.
We know that you will enjoy your stay at WildWood.
Another double bedroom.
WildWood Lodge has the benefit of 2 double bedrooms.
Alfred's bistro and bar on site.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Beattock, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jennifer1...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy cabin in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I just spent new year at this cabin with my 15yr old son, my friend and her 3 children. The cabin is very spacious and can easily accommodate without feeling like your under each others feet. It was very cosy and comfy. The only thing I would say is it could do with a little bit of diy in places and the front door couldn't be locked from the inside which meant trailing through wet mud in the dark to use the back door. We all really had a good time though and I would recommend it to others and would happily return myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large spacious lounge
Liked least: the shower was either roasting hot or cold, there was no medium
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Hi Jennifer
Many thanks for your review which like all reviews very much appreciated.
We are grateful that you have highlighted the issue with the front door lock - which has been fully resolved during our own new year holiday in WildWood - and we have also had the chance this past week to get on top of that snagging list of DIY matters - and we do hope to haste Ye back one day!
Rob and Steph.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M
1 review
“A lovely, well appointed little rustic cabin.”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Wildwood lodge provides spacious accommodation, sitting in front of the treeline at the back of Beattock country park, only a couple of miles away from the gorgeous town of Moffat, which is well worth taking a day to explore.
The kitchen is equipped with all the essentials and more besides, we were left wanting for nothing, and the large collection of dvds in the living room was a welcome bonus!
Whilst the place is by no means finished to a show home standard, it is certainly well worth the rental rate, and exceeded our expectations in most respects.
Will definitely visit again, and would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muir74
1 review
“Great peaceful weekend”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from a week end away , must say I was pleasntly suprised how clean and comfortable the lodge was esp the bed's and loved the jacuzzi bath which did work for us, it was rather quiet there just what we were after , there is a pub on site which we visited one ngt which serves food and meet some really nice ppl esp the staff , would definately go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene6996
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in in one of the hidden secret locations in Scotland”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Very comfortable, quiet, wonderful lake (loch) for a daily walk with our dogs. Everything is provided in the lodge and the location , with easy access to everything happening in the South - west of Scotland on your doorstep. The owner has a Comprehensive set of information brochures, so you can plan all your travel and visits and hiking in the comfort of the lodge.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect break- highly recommended!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my family had a wonderful time at wildwood lodge. It's perfectly situated close by to the lovely town of Moffat and 20 minutes from Dumfries.

Wildwood lodge is spacious, cosy and well equipped...perfect for a week away with a partner or family. We enjoyed visiting Drumlanrig Castle, Sweetheart Abbey, grey tails waterfall...and many other historic sites. Wildwood lodge is a perfect place to stay and relax....and highly recommended. We can't wait to return....and have even booked to stay at the lodge next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing