We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Barn accommodation in quiet village...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn
Pets Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The Barn
Pets Welcome
Large kitchen/diner
Spacious living area
Living area
Reading area
Ground floor double bedroom
Mezzanine bedroom with king-size bed
Mezzanine bedroom with two singles
Ground floor shower room
Patio area
Kings Head pub, just 2 minute walk from The Barn. Dog friendly & great menu.
All Saints Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Merriott, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JACQUELIN...
1 review
“Lovely Barn accommodation in quiet village location.”
Reviewed 2 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had a great family weekend. Eric and Amanda were very helpful and the eggs, bread, milk etc left for us were much appreciated. The Barn was very clean and the kitchen well equipped for a self catering break. The pub (only a few minutes away) served good, reasonably priced food.
We can highly recommend the accommodation and hope to visit again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonyhm
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 22 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a very pleasant stay at the cottage while visiting friends in Crewkerne. The location is excellent in the village with a pub and shops and a perfect place to explore Somerset. The cottage was very well appointed with everything you could need and the owners had kindly provided bread, milk, juice, eggs, tea and coffee as well as toilet rolls and shower gel. I wish all owners could be as thoughtful. The upper room is a challenge for the taller person but you soon get used to it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilltop29
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Have just returned from a long weekend here. We were met by the owner Eric who made us very welcome and had thought of everything.
The property was perfect, located in the village of Merriot, which is within walking distance of the local pub which had a friendly atmosphere and good food. We took our dog, a black Labrador with us, and there was a dog bed, dog towel, dog biscuits and fresh water waiting for him. There was a field just down the road to walk the dog as well as some other lovely walks, so our dog was very happy. We were also within 30 minutes of the coast and Eric recommended an excellent beach to go with the dog which was adjacent to a National Trust walking area. The property, was warm, well furnished and very comfortable. A lovely welcome pack awaited us which included fresh bread, croissants, butter, milk, eggs, so thoughtful. Would highly recommend the property with or without a dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2018
Sandra, Anthony and dog Max spent a cosy weekend at The Barn. They enjoyed the many walks through and around the village and visited the dog-friendly Kings Head. They left the property in the same condition that they found it which was very much appreciated. We would be delighted to welcome them back for another break, when they feel the need to get away from it all. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilcross...
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Wonderful stay in wintry Somerset”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Excellent accommodation in a great village location. The barn conversion was perfect for our stay over the New Year - great for a small family of four. Excellent amenities in the village including a great pub a short stroll down the lane (locally owned, with great food and ale). Erica and Amanda provided a generous welcome pack and good pointers for local knowledge - great hosts who respected our privacy. The Barn is perfectly equipped with all mod-cons and appliances - our kids loved the mezzanine adventure! The village is centrally located in South Somerset, with easy access to Crewkerne (we walked there) which has main line rail links to London or further South West. We enjoyed a blustery visit to Lyme Regis which is one of our favourite seaside destinations. We would highly recommend this Hamstone Barn Conversion - thanks for a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill V
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Beautiful well appointed cottage in Merriott. It has everything you need to cook with, a very comfortable lounge and gorgeous bedrooms. Very well situated for the local pub and central to other shops in the village. Great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Gill and Brian met rendezvoused with son Ben and Ed for a mid-week break at The Barn. They were impressed with the village amenities and took in an evening meal at The Kings Head. They took time to discover Seatown, which we know is a great seaside favourite in neighbouring Dorset to walk their dogs. They are moving to Somerset in the near future and thoroughly enjoyed their time here. We were delighted to be their hosts and look forward to them visiting us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing