We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lavasa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

enjoyed a short break to laavasa from mumbai and this hotel is meant for that, riverside brunces et all - good time

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H0spitalityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time out to give us your feedback on your stay at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time staying with us.

We thank you for choosing The Waterfront Shaw for your stay and look forward to welcome you back again.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa.
Contact No : +91 9920081024
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    367
    85
    13
    7
See reviews for
441
197
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We are an extended family of 11 members including 3 kids.
We had gone to Lavasa during the month of march.
The weather was cool and pleasent in the early morning and night and a bit hot in the afternoon but its not a problem as it gives us a excuse to take rest.
Waterfront shaw is very easy to locate as it is next to the main lake.
We had booked two - 1 bedroom flats, which could accomodate 4 families.
We had done the booking using the early bird offer which was very good.
The checkin went smooth
The rooms were huge, beautiful, spacious and cosy facing the lovely lake.
The rooms and bathrooms were clean.
Hot water was available throughout the day.
The service was quick and good.
It has its own huge parking area.
There is a small garden at a 5 minutes drive distance from the hotel which is very good for childrens.Toy train is also available for 50 rs. per person which will give a small ride around the lake.
Lots of eating options are available just below the hotel.

I would recommend it to everyone who goes to Lavasa. Its just the best.

Best Experience: The cool breeze which came in from the window early in the morning.
Lots of eating options are available just below the hotel.
Even small supermarket was there where we could get milk for kids.

Room Tip: As everyone suggests take rooms facing the lake. One bedroom rooms are huge and spacious which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSKDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay with us at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as your comments are of vital significance to us.

We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and found all our rooms and amenities more than your expectations. Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa.
Contact No : +91 9920081024.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visited Lavasa in Jan end this year when the weather was pleasant enough to enjoy the day. We started in the evening from Pune and had no clue that the roads leading to Lavasa will be so dark and haunted at night. Although we reached safely but strictly advice people not to travel through those ghats during night. We reached at around 10 in the night and had to rush to grab the dinner as the restaurants get closed early. But all the rush and scary drive was worth when we saw the nicely lighted promenade and the quick food served at All American Diner which was better than the italian food expected at a hill station. The hotel rooms had all the required facilities and nicely maintained. The location of the hotel is just perfect, right on the promenade, with all the restaurants, adventure sports, etc located nearby. The trip became memorable with the views of the unfathomed green valley of Lavasa with quiet river Mutha following along and the drive through the unfolding roads. It was a peaceful weekend gateway at a well planned hill station which is designed unlike other such places in India.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yashvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontshaw, General Manager at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Mr. Yash.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay with us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation facilities.

We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations. Your compliments have been conveyed to the staff and they are grateful for the appreciation. Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Waterfront Shaw.
Mukesh Kumar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I enquired about Lavasa and there were only 2 hotels with good view, Ekaant or WFS. We opted for the later and gladly didn't regret. Lot of advantages, few listed below,
- bang on the river side, excellent location.
- lots of food outlets around, with good option.
- all activities nearby, except adventurous sports, which was ok for us. Water sports, kids park, some other sports activities were possible.
- enjoyed cycling, that too free.
- well behaved and friendly staff.
- tie-up wit Dasvino club for free use of swimming pool and gym. Good option to utilise.

Few tips to remember-
- while travelling, take care of kids since this has 2 ghats, which might create nausea.
- don't take daily meal vouchers of 850 pp at WFS. Explore around.
- don't eat at pizza-vala, very bad quality. In stead, have frankie next door, its too good.
- Hungry hippo gives some tasty pav bhaji and tava-pulav, enjoy it.
- for veggie^s, go to Dasvino club, they serve very good food, at least worth the pay.
- u can also carry Maggie and bread in room and cook in oven at night, along with a drink of ur choice.

Overall, a great experience at WFS. Will surely visit again, soon.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ravi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontshaw, General Manager at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Mr. Ravi.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay with us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our facilities.

We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations. Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.
We regret that the food served at Pizzavala was not to your expectation. Your feedback has been discussed with the Chef, who sends his apologies and would like to assure you that he would be definitely looking into it.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Waterfront Shaw.
Mukesh Kumar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and 15 month old son went to celebrate my birthday in Mar’12 in Lavasa.

Here is my first hand experience:

Travel:
From Mumbai it is far…quite far (160 km to pune and than 72 km to lavasa which is longer since the roads are winding). The road is winding especially the Dasve Ghat. The heat was killing. May be the month of travel was not ideal. So select the month for travel but as you know the peak season commands a high premium.

Stay:
After careful thinking we chose Waterfront Shaw as it is a service apartment and was conducive for cooking for a baby. After we reached lavasa, waterfront is the best choice as it is the heart of the activity, the other hotels don’t have much of a view. The room was small it was a studio and had a common door with the other room. So we could hear all the noise in the other room and also the channel they were watching not much of peace!! The other room people kept ringing our bell as the bell of the 2 rooms was so close.
We had a tough time with the room the AC, lights, fridge nothing worked. Had to get everything fixed.
Nothing is given in this hotel… everything has to be asked for even if it is complimentary WIFI or complimentary mineral water.

Food:
Food is expensive so carry stuff. The only reasonable thing is the pizza and subway. A veg dish costs 200+ and non veg 400+. Try the fig and honey icecream at grandma’s was good.

What to do in Lavasa:
Nothing much… the watersports are too expensive, there is no sightseeing to do…you can swim in the Dasve club that’s what we did for the 2 days we were there and watch a movie (the hotel provides the same complementary for a deposit)

Final Take:
For the same money (and less) you can visit Lonavla/ Mahableshwar. There is nothing much in Lavasa it’s just overhyped and overpriced.
You can get a mountain view with water much closer to Mumbai.

Room Tip: Room facing the water on the 2nd floor, so u dont have people from the road peeing into your room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank elainevishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfrontshaw, Manager at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Ms. Bibra.


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay with us, on Trip advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation facilities.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused due to noise, filtering from neighboring room. However, we are considering various sound dampening factors, which will be incorporated in the next renovation.

We regret that the air conditioning was not effective. Your feedback has been discussed with the Chief Engineer who sends his apologies and would like to assure you that the necessary corrective action is being taken.
Guest suggestion has played an important role in understanding our areas of concern. We have discussed your feedback regarding the equipment not working, with our Housekeeping Team, who would like to assure you that they would be definitely looking into it.

We do hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing our apartment hotel in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you again at The Waterfront Shaw.

Thanks & Regards
Mukesh Kumar
General Manager
E. Mail: gm@waterfrontshaw.com.
Mob No : +91 9920081024
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavasa
0.5 km away
Mercure Lavasa
Mercure Lavasa
#2 of 3 in Lavasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 km away
Fortune Select Dasve, Lavasa
30.9 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.3 km away
Ekaant the retreat
Ekaant the retreat
#1 of 6 in Lavasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
26.6 km away
Aamby Valley City
Aamby Valley City
#1 of 1 in Aamby Valley City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa

Property: The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa
Address: Village Dasve Post Pathershet, Lavasa 412107, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lavasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lavasa
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,212 - ₹ 9,828
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa designed on the famous Portofino style of architecture is located on the amazing promenade of Lake Dasve, nestled between Lake Warasgaon and the picturesque mountain ranges of Lavasa. A boutique all suites full serviced apartment offering a choice of studio, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments that can comfortably host a family, the hotel also operates ten branded F&B outlets on its sprawling promenade which include The All American Diner - serving hearty American meals through the day; Chor Bizarre - Fine Dining Indian Cuisine; Orient 8 - South East Asian Cuisine; Past Times - English Pub; Granma's Homemade - Bakery; Pizzavala - serves homemade Pizzas; Tabakh - Lebanese Cuisine; Tikka Town - Indian fast food; Cafe Promenade - Multi Cuisine Al Fresco dining in fair weather; Chaat Waat - Indian street food; Twisteez - a unique QSR fried potato snack on a stick. All rooms are fully furnished with air-conditioned bedrooms with attached bath. Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, Tea/Coffee Maker and supplies, crockery. Cable TV and Free Wi-Fi Internet in rooms/ Free In-room entertainment (movies and games on demand). Full security - Electronic door locks, Room Safes, Writing Tables Plus *Toiletry set, *weighing scale, *hair dryer. Daily needs - Daily Newspaper/ Daily Car Wash/ Free Ice. Resident guests are pampered and spoilt for choice, whether it is free delivery of newspapers, ice or freshly baked bread to all rooms, daily complimentary car wash, free cycles and games consoles for kids, a pet friendly hotel that gently bids you goodbye with a memento of a personal photograph along with a rare bloom of the indigenous Karvi plant besides packaged drinking water to thoughtfully take care of your return journey, we work hard to make each visit of yours a memorable experience. The Waterfront Shaw also boasts of being the only resort in the country that offers Free Hollywood Movies on Demand through its state of the art Walt Disney acquired MovieBeam service. An RCI affiliated and award winning Platinum resort, The Waterfront Shaw also manages The Dasvino Town & Country Club which includes: The Karvi Spa & Salon, Swimming Pool, Nautilius Gym, Tennis Courts, Squash Courts, Snooker & Games Rooms, Card Room, Kid's Play Area, Amphitheater, Conference Rooms besides Oriental Octopus - Fine Dining South East Asian Cuisine; Dance Vino - Bar & Lounge; The Deck - Multi cuisine All Day Dining; Lounge & Tea Room By The Lake. Needless to mention, entry to the club for its guests is complimentary as well as use of the swimming pool that overlooks the lake Dasve and the Nautilus gym. Special discounts and privileges are also extended for partaking other services at the attached club In April 2013 The Waterfront Shaw became India's first hotel to earn the "Certified Guest Service Property" title awarded by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (EI). To earn the title, all front-line employees completed EI's Guest Service Gold Training program and successfully passed the Certified Guest Service Professional (CGSP) exam. Trip advisor has recognized the property with its Certificate of Excellence for three consecutive years 2012 - 2013 - 2014. The property consistently receives praise for its guest service, which is amply demonstrated through its Top Rating amongst all hotels in Lavasa Some of the other awards won by The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa are; - RCI Platinum Award 2014, Best Timeshare Resort, Mid Category, Mumbai Region - Make My Trip Platinum Pick Year 2013 For Stellar Performance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelGuru, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa Hotel Lavasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing