We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“could be better”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

we took a cowboy cabin in the ponderosa ranch resort - the idea was to get some kind of 'authentic' american experience. well, the cabin itself was not that bad - fully made of wood, with queen bunk bed, and space to park the car right near the cabin.
however, the area near the cabin was not attractive - no landscape design of any kind, just some unattended bushes and grass.
on top, the cabin does not have a wc/shower, which we expected, but shared shower and wc were not very clean. i understand we took the cheapest accommodation option there, but i guess i can expect the public areas to be clean.
overall, it did not leave to the name 'resort', definitely not recommended for any romantic getaway.
also, on the check out, caused me a couple of unpleasant moments - my card was declined, there was no atm within few miles around. when i called the bank they told me the hotel is charging the card via internet transaction, for which I have the limit set. this is the first time i came across hotel charging card via internet transaction, usually card is swiped and my internet limit does not apply. my bank increased the limit and hotel could charge me, but this was frustrating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jarek_Yaroslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    256
    104
    71
    47
See reviews for
397
231
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Oh the BEST service and hospitality received in that remote area. FREE WIFI and signal strength is really awesome. Although phone service is NULL and they don't have phone lines inside the cabin. Its a private resort and a mile away from Zion national park. Its about another 5 miles driving on North Fork. Please drive slowly on way to the resort as deers love to cross randomly. We stayed on Cabin 9 and 10. They are closer to mini-golf and main office.
Cabin 9 has bigger bedroom with bunk beds and space to walk but living room is smaller
Cabin 10 has bigger living room but smaller bedroom with zero space around other than the bunk beds.
About the dining: Vegan folks, no need to worry.. they got it all covered. In our group one of them is a vegan and was worried about the trip during Thanksgiving. We made reservations for our party of 9 for Thanksgiving dinner. The chef was very understanding and cooked special vegan food just for him. Any other requests regarding food was made as long as they have enough resources. The chef and the staff were very friendly and even remembered who ordered and who likes what kind of bread/juice despite the number of people who come and go. Special 5 stars to the chef =)
They have a barn area, swing, volleyball court, tennis court, table tennis - all are free for renting. They have other paid activities like wall climbing, zip lining, ATV rides (group or solo) but I find them bit lame except for ATV tours.. we couldn't check out ATV as they are available from 2pm onwards and we were leaving earlier.. so be sure to check with them on ATV ride schedules.

For hiking they suggested a route which goes from their resort to observation point. They have a shuttle (like $20 per person - you can bargain the price if you are a big group) which will take you from the resort to the observation point hike.. where you hike for about an hour to reach the Observation point. From there we chose to hike down to weeping rock trail which took about 3 to 4 hours where at the bottom the shuttle picked us up. This you can opt, if you dont prefer to drive through the windy roads. Or else you can explore on your own.

It was a good stay over here. Clean bathrooms, good AC/heater control, clean sheets, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Will stay at this resort if we happen to check out Zion again.

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had an amazing vacation at Zion Ponderosa this July. We are a family of 3 and we teamed up with our best friends who have 4 kids and splurged to rent a home at Zion Ponderosa. We had an AMAZING vacation. With just minutes to the Zion National Park and an hour from the Grand Canyon and an hour from white water rafting this was truly a vacation to remember. There was even a kids camp that we let the kids stay in so the adults could go canyoneering. The staff at Zion Ponderosa were so kid friendly and really helped make the vacation amazing. If you are looking for a great, fun and amazing family vacation, book this place now.

  • Liked — I loved the location, friendly staff and beautiful housing
  • Disliked — I really liked everything about the location
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Ponderosa is a great place for a family vacation! There are lots of activities to chose from, but for most of them you need to buy tickets which are $10 each. We took advantage of the horse back riding, ATV riding, and the sunset jeep tour. All were a lot of fun! The guys especially liked the ATV riding and got very dirty/dusty. So bring some old clothes if you plan on doing that. Our guide on the horse ride was very nice and made the ride very enjoyable. Plus, we got to see areas of the Ponderosa that you normally wouldn't be able to explore.
Right by the main lodge there is also free activities like the pool, basketball and tennis courts, and playground area. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool. It was plenty big and had 2 waterslides and 2 hot tubs.
We ate at the resort restaurant a couple nights, but wasn't overly impressed with the food. It was okay, but nothing fancy. It's fine for just a burger or something simple.
Zion National Park is about 5 miles away, but it was such a beautiful drive, we didn't mind at all. Always so much to see!
Our rental house was definitely best! We had the most amazing view from our deck! The house was very clean and we enjoyed the quiet of the canyon. Definitely worth it to stay at the rental house instead of a little cabin.

Room Tip: We rented the "sunset" house. It was the best! Our deck overlooked the canyon area and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysreadyfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was an awesomel vacation for us. Everyone we met here was so friendly & the resort was great. We stayed in the Mtn View Cabin & it was awesome. Really felt homey & made it so much more enjoyable. It was certainly a different experience being on a bike. It was great to have laundry facilities since we didn't have much room to pack things. We really felt like we were more a part of all the surrounding areas & saw so much wildlife. Such beautiful scenery everywhere you look. It was all breathtaking. We visited the North rim of the Grand Canyon, Lake Powell, Bryce Canyon & Zion. I would absolutely recommend this as a vacation for anyone. We had such a great time & are already anticipating our next trip back.

Room Tip: Don't know much about this since we stayed in a cabin @ the resort. It was very quiet & priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
7.5 km away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,915 reviews
13.2 km away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,829 reviews
14.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,115 reviews
14.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
15.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Property: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,811 - ₹ 33,915
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing