We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Big Meadows Lodge(Shenandoah National Park)
US$ 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
US$ 240
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mimslyn Inn(Luray)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 143
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 94
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 94
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
65
34
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
34
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent campingcamp storeappalachian trailperson tentgreat siteshort walkbathrooms were cleanbig meadowsstoring foodpay showersbear countrywind and rainevery summerparking areaprivacycampgroundsites
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Deer tick haven! Campground gets an F for this issue since it could have been easily resolved with proper management. We complained that our campsite on 5/20/17 was not mowed and had very tall grass. The campground office said they hadn't mowed any of the campsites in a month and had no equipment to loan me to do so myself. The girl I was camping with just found a deer tick attached to her which is two days after we checked out of the campsite. Now, she has to play the waiting game and see if she contracted Lyme disease. The very least the campground and park could do is regularly mow their campsites. We had even sprayed down the tent and a large portion of the site with 30% DEET spray

This is very concerning since we didn't want to camp on that site but had no real alternatives since we had driven over three hours to get there. All other campsites and lodges nearby were booked. Thinking of going to the media about this since I saw plenty of children playing around there campsites with the same tall grass that hadn't been mowed in a month. For the park entrance and campsite fees, it seems as if the park should be more proactive managing Lyme disease risks as much as possible for their patrons. I will be calling park management today and hope they are available to discuss this situation.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We were so excited to try camping at Loft Mountain! When we arrived we were stunned to see that the site we had was about 10 ft by 15 ft, filled with half-sunk rocks, on an incline, and with a picnic table and fire grill in the center. That's right- NO place for a 6 person tent. We talked to the ranger who gave us a list of open sites for the whole weekend (we had asked to move into one and were told there were campers coming in to that site Saturday night.) After finding one we could pitch our tent in we returned to the ranger who transferred our reservation for Friday and Saturday night. Or not. We were told on Saturday afternoon that someone had booked the site we were in and we had to move. Disgusted, we just left. Overall it was a very poor experience and I'm so disappointed in the management of the campground.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank VACampingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Outstanding visit in Oct 2016. Three dads and 8 sons stayed 2 nights just before Halloween. First day was seasonable. Good hiking weather. Access points to AT could be a little more visible/prominent. First night was very cold, but everyone was prepared. Car camping makes that easy! Second day was summer-like and made for great hiking. Second night was very windy, but did not cause any issues. Rangers are serious about storing food in your car or bear-proof boxes. My friend got an $80 fine for leaving some items out during the second day. Rangers confiscated coolers and other supplies, so he had to go retrieve everything and get the fine. Rangers came back around 11:30 pm and "knocked" on the tent and scolded my second friend for leaving condiments and a few other things out. We were letting the fire burn out and that was another "no-no". No ticket for all that, but I will say the rangers are diligent and serious.

Still, it was a great trip and I look forward to going back again in 2017.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Two of us tent camped the night Hurricane Matthew decided to stay inland longer than expected. The result was a steady night of 30-40 mph winds and rain buffeting our tent. We stayed nice and warm/dry, however, and no tree limbs visited out campsite, thank goodness. The camp store was one of the few in the area with a backup generator, so we were able to get some warm coffee without having to fight the wind to start up a camp stove. (There were reports of gusts to 70mph). We were there for two nights, but spent our days hiking other parts of the park and sneaking out to Monticello in Charlottesville so I can't comment too much on the sites other features. However, the camp store was very well maintained and well provisioned, and the bath/shower areas were in excellent shape. Yes, the showers do cost $1.75, but that is a small price to pay for a quality refresher. Plenty of power outlets just outside the facilities to recharge phones/gps devices/camera batteries while you do laundry, shower, or shop. Friendly staff. I don't know about the winds on a normal day, but I would definitely return. We had a campsite in the middle of the area, surrounded by RVs and campers, but it didn't matter. Everyone was hunkered down so we head wind and rain, not people. Bathrooms were nearby and clean.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The camp ground is on top of Loft Mountain. Perhaps it has that name for a reason. It seemed to be always windy. The setting is beautiful , the sites are generous in size and privacy. The views from the Amphitheater are incredible. Showers are a drive or long hike from camp, as is the well stocked camp store. The main drawback is the seeming constant strong winds which blew our awning over the first night.

Room Tip: This is a campground, not a hotel. Pick sites in the interior of the campground with a little less wind.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nutrinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews