We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get-away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lewis Mountain Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

You can't beat staying in the Park. These rustic cabins date from the 1930s, a piece of history of this National Park. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is tiny, but functional. Daily cleaning service is not provided, but you can get clean towels from the camp store. Each unit has a fire pit and picnic table, but we ate breakfast and dinner at the lodges (just a few miles away). We enjoyed sitting out on the little porch (comfy chairs) and reading. We were in cabin 7 (across from the camp store & public showers) which has pretty constant activity until later in the evening when it quieted down.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 July 2017

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our little slice of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Lewis Mountain Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

The Lewis Mountain Cabins offer a return to simplicity which is as refreshing as it is rare. The cabins are clean and well maintained with electricity and shower/toilet. Cooking facilities consist of a picnic table, a fire pit with grill and a bearbox to keep the critters away. Great fun to prepare the meals over an open flame but still sleep in a comfortable bed. The staff in the campstore were friendly as well. Turn off your mobile phone and soak up nature for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank IMParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 8 and it was great. Location was right across from camp store and snuggled into the trees. It was so cute and quaint. It was clean, good heater, inside bathroom with shower.
This could be a downside to some but it has no television or wifi. For me, it was a nice relief.
But we arrived from hiking 10 miles on the Appalachian Trail and when we were checking in, at first we were told they had tried to call us because the cabin we had reserved had issues. They wanted to house us instead at the Skyland Resort.
Since the idea was to walk from lodging to lodging, and the idea of walking another 20 miles wasn't going to work, it was upsetting. The guy at the desk made a call and rearranged something and we did end up staying at Lewis Cabins, but I would recommend calling ahead so you don it have that kind of shock if you are walking lodging to lodging.
Also you cannot see the cabins from Trail, you can only see the campground. The cabins are just up a tiny rise from the campground.
We loved our walk and the cabin.
The camp store has mainly grab and go food. If you are car camping it has everything. The free coffee was welcome the day we set off for the seven miles to our next stop at Big Meadows.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dianna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Love Lewis mountains. We stay in the cabins, which have a bathroom, shower and a bed. They provide a campfire area with each cabin. It is truely a great place to "disconnect"! The staff in the camp store are a wealth of knowledge, be sure to pick Randys or Nigels brain!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Syale00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

I've stayed at this campground several times, and every visit is relaxing and soothing. It's small and intimate providing that personal touch larger campgrounds lack. George the host was helpful and welcoming. Randy at the camp store was informative and entertaining. This IS my home away from home. If I can only catch good weather I'd be a truly "Happy Camper".

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank amsxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
25.3 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
993 reviews
25.5 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
25.9 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
29.3 km away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
15.9 km away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis Mountain Cabins

Address: Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 32 site campground with laundry and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lewis Mountain Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing