We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lewis Mountain Cabins - family vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lewis Mountain Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We traveled as two families and we stayed in cabins 5 and 6, which connect through a shared bathroom (toilet, sink and hot shower with towels included!) The cabin was right across the road from the store, which had helpful staff, free coffee and cocoa and everything we needed, such as wood and extra matches, t-shirts and national park swag. Each half of the cabin had a comfortable and clean double bed, along with a dresser, hangers and table with two chairs. It is spacious for a couple. Since we are a family, our three kids slept on mats on the floor and with the heater, they slept very comfortably, though we must have looked like a can of sardines as the 5 of us took up all the horizontal space. The kids loved building campfires and playing around the campground, which has short hikes, but we also enjoyed taking the waterfall hike and going to the visitor's center. I loved just sitting in the woods with my binoculars watching birds. Very peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: The cabins were in a row and they all seemed good.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Lewis Mountain Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017

My lady & I, along with Mrs Jones our service dog, just spent a wonderful week in Shenandoah, staying at Lewis Mountain Cabins. Definitely rustic - we had a two bedroom cabin with connecting bathroom so lots of space for the three of us. We used one room for clothes and food storage and slept in the other one. Shower works fine - always able hot water. Bed was comfortable, sheets were clean. Not too many mice around - perhaps because of Mrs Jones who nearly caught one our first evening there. The fire pit and picnic table at the back of the cabin were perfect for cooking dinner almost every evening. As others have mentioned the complimentary coffee in the store was very good. Both Randy and Nigel were excellent hosts with lots of local information and stories. There is no regular maid service but fresh towels and bed linens were available for the asking. Store reasonably well stocked. Firewood a little pricy but convenience counts! This is a nice small location with about 15 cabins and 28 campsites so it is very very quiet at night - which is great as then you can hear the owls calling as they fly by around dusk.

The cabins have quite a history as Lewis Mountain was the designated "Negro resort" for the park when first built some 80 years ago. Not much has changed about the cabins on the exterior although I suspect the bathroom was a later addition. We both appreciated the rustic nature of the place and were very happy there. Just a minor quibble - while rustic is good a little capital could be invested in new sinks, taps and the like. Every tap dripped and I shudder to think of the amount of water that gets wasted everyday if all cabins are the same.

Overall an excellent spot - but if you want to stay on a weekend then plan well ahead - like 14 months or so. During the week is quieter.

We had some excellent hikes and a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Lewis Mountain Cabins is in a great location in the Shenandoah National Park just off of Skyline Drive. Its historic and scenic. Its one of the smaller lodging areas in the park which is great! Some of the trails most highly rated hiking trails are located very close as well. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

I enjoyed hiking nearby which was made possible because of "Randy" who worked in the check in office. Randy was incredible, friendly and his knowledge of the Shenandoah appears to be second to none! We followed all of his recommendations, where to eat, trails, and parking. Randy never steered us wrong and I was glad I listened to him. He was the most helpful Shenandoah representative I have ever met during my many visits throughout the years to Shenandoah National Park. If Randy is not a manger or supervisor now, it would be very smart to promote him or give him a raise because that guy is one heck of an employee. I even asked to get a picture with him at the end. He really took care of us.

I would recommend staying here to everyone I know.

Room Tip: Better views may be on the opposite of cabin 1.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jcwpoole10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We arrived late and the friendly and cheerful store manager helped us get checked in. We found the cabins clean and comfortable and the next day found that we could drive to the view spots on skyline drive easily.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arun-Deat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Quaint, charming, simple. We love building a fire in the evening and hiking in Big Meadows at sunset. The air is very fresh in the mountains and the cabin area is very peaceful. We come here several times a year if we can.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
25.3 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
993 reviews
25.5 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
25.9 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
29.3 km away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
15.9 km away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis Mountain Cabins

Address: Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 32 site campground with laundry and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lewis Mountain Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing