We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Potwisha Campground(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver City Mountain Resort(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wuksachi Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cedar Grove Lodge(Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
183
242
114
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
242
114
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings canyonnational parkpanorama pointgift shoppost officegrant grovevisitor centergreat roomfood courtrocking chairsjohn muirgeneral grantfirst floorlobby areano elevatorbeautiful areaboth parks
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights at John Muir Lodge located at Grant's Grove. The greatest part of the stay was how convenient to park entrance and both King's Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. We enjoyed the gift shop, market, and full service restaurant within walking distance. The lodge features a large comfortable fireplace lobby with sofas and chairs. Rocking chairs on the porch and wifi in public areas. Private rooms with full bath, mini fridge, and in room coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kirt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Thank you Kirt, for your 5 stars and for telling us about your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful park, and hope you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed in the John Muir Lodge by booking the breakfast buffet and 2 nights at the lodge. The main thing this place has going for it is the staff in the hotel. They greeted us with a warm welcome, gave us excellent info. for our visit, and were very helpful and kind when we had difficulties.

1. I booked on the phone and was told there was air conditioning (which I thought was wrong, but figured the person booking would know this info.) It was July and it was HOT all day. There was only one fan in the room. It cooled off, but not until around 11 PM, which made it difficult to go to sleep. If you don't go in July, it shouldn't be an issue.

2. The tub had a bluish green stain in it. We called the first night to the front desk and we were told someone would clean it the next morning. When we got back from our hikes in the woods (8 PM then next night), not only had the tub not been cleaned, the room had not been cleaned, garbage not emptied, and beds not made. We contacted the front desk and they explained that the stain on the tub could not be removed and was due to some sort of water treatment. They also cannot clean with bleach due to environmental factors. The resolved this issue by giving us 25% off of the 2nd night's stay. They were very apologetic.

3. We booked a room with a breakfast buffet. There was NO BREAKFAST BUFFET! We had to go to the restaurant (down the hill 1/4 mile walk or drive --1/2 mi. round trip). This wouldn't have been an issue except that the restaurant was VERY SLOW, EXPENSIVE, and did NOT HAVE A BREAKFAST BUFFET. Part of the reason we like breakfast buffets is because we like to eat quickly and get out on the trails. They gave us $12,95 toward the price of a breakfast. This did not cover the typical american breakfast (2 eggs, bacon, toast, potatos) and a drink (Juice/coffee). The breakfast was around $11 and a drink was about $2,50. Unfortunately, we had to eat here because it is the only food available. For dinner you'll need to make a reservation or wait at least 20-30 min. This is especially frustrating because usually, half of the tables are empty, they are just majorly understaffed.

This place has excellent potential, it just didn't meet our standards. If you're bringing your own food and you don't care if your room is cleaned, this place would be fine.

Room Tip: Visit during cooler weather
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linochat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

This is a pretty lodge, and is located central to everything you'll want to see when visiting. There are mini fridges in each room and a small coffee pot. Beds are comfortable. There are two small decks on the end of the building that are wonderful to enjoy the scenery. The lodge is near a restaurant, gift shop, and market just a short walk down the road. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Thank you Rodney, for taking time to send us your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Kings Canyon. We love hearing from our guests about their stay and thank you for giving us your 4 star rating. we hope you return many times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This hotel is in a great location. It is a nice building but a bit worn inside. The hotel was short on coffee for the rooms while we were there, but the front desk staff searched for me and made a pot early for me in the lobby when they could not find any. The restaurant was just average but again the staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel isn't cheap but it really was lovely. It is right in the heart of one of the villages in Kings Canyon! You can walk to the shops, visitors centre and the General Grant tree! We spent a lot of time sat on the veranda reading and listening to the wildlife, which was so relaxing. The parking is free and it's less than an hour's drive to get to loads of the sights in Sequoia and Kings Canyon such as General Sherman, Zumwalt Meadow and Hume Lake, all of which are must do's on your stay. We did the night hike which is on the Tuesday and it was very informative whilst being fun. We saw lots of wildlife what staying in the park (including bears).

The only downside to an otherwise fabulous place was the lack of eateries in close proximity. The village restaurant was closed for refurbishment (which was long overdue being open again) so your only choices unless you want to drive an hour for dinner were takeaway pizza from the shop (cheese or pepperoni are your only choices) or the very limited hotel menu.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate to go back or recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TripMember091520151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews