We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay”
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Close to all amenities groceries, food, visitor center, trails and trees.
Comfortable beds and great shower pressure. Loved the challenge to take a less than five minute shower. Slept with the windows open and needed covers. Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cherylsm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Thank you Cherylsm2017, for taking the time to give us 5 stars and telling us a little about your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful park and hope you return many times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights at John Muir Lodge located at Grant's Grove. The greatest part of the stay was how convenient to park entrance and both King's Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. We enjoyed the gift shop, market, and full service restaurant within walking distance. The lodge features a large comfortable fireplace lobby with sofas and chairs. Rocking chairs on the porch and wifi in public areas. Private rooms with full bath, mini fridge, and in room coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kirt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Thank you Kirt, for your 5 stars and for telling us about your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful park, and hope you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed in the John Muir Lodge by booking the breakfast buffet and 2 nights at the lodge. The main thing this place has going for it is the staff in the hotel. They greeted us with a warm welcome, gave us excellent info. for our visit, and were very helpful and kind when we had difficulties.

1. I booked on the phone and was told there was air conditioning (which I thought was wrong, but figured the person booking would know this info.) It was July and it was HOT all day. There was only one fan in the room. It cooled off, but not until around 11 PM, which made it difficult to go to sleep. If you don't go in July, it shouldn't be an issue.

2. The tub had a bluish green stain in it. We called the first night to the front desk and we were told someone would clean it the next morning. When we got back from our hikes in the woods (8 PM then next night), not only had the tub not been cleaned, the room had not been cleaned, garbage not emptied, and beds not made. We contacted the front desk and they explained that the stain on the tub could not be removed and was due to some sort of water treatment. They also cannot clean with bleach due to environmental factors. The resolved this issue by giving us 25% off of the 2nd night's stay. They were very apologetic.

3. We booked a room with a breakfast buffet. There was NO BREAKFAST BUFFET! We had to go to the restaurant (down the hill 1/4 mile walk or drive --1/2 mi. round trip). This wouldn't have been an issue except that the restaurant was VERY SLOW, EXPENSIVE, and did NOT HAVE A BREAKFAST BUFFET. Part of the reason we like breakfast buffets is because we like to eat quickly and get out on the trails. They gave us $12,95 toward the price of a breakfast. This did not cover the typical american breakfast (2 eggs, bacon, toast, potatos) and a drink (Juice/coffee). The breakfast was around $11 and a drink was about $2,50. Unfortunately, we had to eat here because it is the only food available. For dinner you'll need to make a reservation or wait at least 20-30 min. This is especially frustrating because usually, half of the tables are empty, they are just majorly understaffed.

This place has excellent potential, it just didn't meet our standards. If you're bringing your own food and you don't care if your room is cleaned, this place would be fine.

Room Tip: Visit during cooler weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linochat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

This is a pretty lodge, and is located central to everything you'll want to see when visiting. There are mini fridges in each room and a small coffee pot. Beds are comfortable. There are two small decks on the end of the building that are wonderful to enjoy the scenery. The lodge is near a restaurant, gift shop, and market just a short walk down the road. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Thank you Rodney, for taking time to send us your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Kings Canyon. We love hearing from our guests about their stay and thank you for giving us your 4 star rating. we hope you return many times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This hotel is in a great location. It is a nice building but a bit worn inside. The hotel was short on coffee for the rooms while we were there, but the front desk staff searched for me and made a pot early for me in the lobby when they could not find any. The restaurant was just average but again the staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
23.7 km away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,429 reviews
9.4 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
26.6 km away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
36.8 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
35.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93641-9765
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: ₹ 7,590 - ₹ 11,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing