We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“STAY OUTSIDE THE PARK” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“STAY OUTSIDE THE PARK”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Had a reservation which we paid in advance. The day we were to arrive the park was getting a heavy snow and you needed by law to have chains. We had rental car therefore no chains. A foot of snow was coming . We did not want to risk our lives by driving in a foot of snow so we were going to cancel. The man on the phone was rude and advised we could not cancel for a refund for weather. DID THE HOTEL LOSE MONEY BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT RENT OUT OUR ROOM, WHO WAS GOING TO DRIVE UP INTO A NATIONAL PARK IN HEAVY SNOW? With the bad economy you would think the hotel would give a refund, they dont even answer emails. We have stayed at many hotels in National Parks and never were treated this way. Read the other reviews and you will see many people are not satisfied with this place. We lost over $200.00 dollars on this reservation and with the bad economy it hurt.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank scott4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    898
    403
    141
    52
See reviews for
816
963
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked a suite at Wuksachi lodge.

Checkin was uneventful.

We had a long drive and long trip planned so when we got to our room we were a little disappointed to have to haul them down the stairs (and back up the stairs later) as there are no elevators in the buildings with the rooms. I don't need the elevator for myself but with several large suitcases it makes a big difference.

We were quite surprised when we opened our room to find the room occupied, with someone else's things all over the room. We called the front desk from a hall phone and faced a long hold while they figured out what to do. Finally they came back on and said that they would send someone over with room keys to a similar room nearby. Another fairly long wait until we got the keys to get into our room.

The room itself was ok. The beds were uncomfortable. Two queen beds and the mattresses were just not comfortable at all for sleeping. The sofa bed was also uncomfortable, even more uncomfortable then normal for a sofa bed. There was no TV in the bedroom part of the room.

The wifi was very problematic. The staff said that it would work in the main lodge building as well as the room buildings. The wifi was difficult to connect to in the main lodge and virtually impossible to connect to in the room buildings. A major wifi system upgrade is needed as what is provided is very poor. I was trying to connect with multiple devices, so I know it was not a device problem on my end.

Restaurant was quite mixed. Breakfast items were ok but they often ran out of buffett items and were not quickly refilled. The box lunches were generally good and a good deal. The dinners varied and were a bit expensive. Chicken dish and Scallops were quite good. Ravioli was so-so. Kids had mac and cheese which literally turned out to be Kraft box mac and cheese. Not impressed with that, box M&C for $6. Taller brunette waitress was friendly and gave good service. Shorter older blonde waitress not so much. Brunette with glasses hostess not good service, not helpful, she refused to allow us to move away from the reception area to an open table by window. Finally after demanding a switch she relented.

The general scenery is incredible as fitting for the Sequioa park setting. Particularly the view from the dining room in the Lodge building is quite impressive. A great setting and generally a good but not great base to explore the area.

Oh, and "credit card machine was down" when checking out. Haven't gotten the email bill yet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FastEddddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were visiting Sequoia N.P. with our two small children in early April for "spring break," but it was still winter there. We had to scrap our plans to camp overnight at the last minute when we saw the campground at Lodgepole was covered in snow. We drove to Wuksachi Lodge, walked into the lobby and booked a suite on the spot. We still got the best available rate. The suite was spacious, and had a separate livingroom with TV which you could close off with sliding doors. The food in the restaurant was quite good and had a nice wine selection. Breakfast is buffet-style, ample and delicious. There were lots of families with young kids there. Overall the place is new, clean, and well thought-out. I don't think you can do any better than this in Sequoia/Kings Canyon if you want a hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlasandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
591 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

excellent location---rooms are very clean and comfortable---wonderful staff, we got caught by a surprise snow storm and were only allowed to drive with snow chains. The staff came out to the parking lot, fitted us with the right size chains and then installed. The food at the lodge is excellent but be certain you have reservations for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed at Wuksachi Lodge for 1 night as part of a family holiday.

We stayed in a standard room which was perfect for our needs. It wasn't particularly posh but was quite large and clean. The staff were friendly both at check in and in the restaurant. We ate dinner in the restaurant. It was quite expensive but of reasonable quality, however my daughter had the macaroni cheese off the kids menu, which tasted like packet macaroni, it's easy to make this fresh and important that kids get good nutrients, the hotel should try to improve on this.

The location is what sets this accomodation apart. It is 10 minutes drive to the General Sherman Tree and 20 minutes drive to the Tall trees trail. The scenary around the hotel is lovely, but it is very high at 7200 feet so watch for the cold and snow.

We had a nightmare drive to accomodation. We drove from Fresno on the 180 into the 198 and approached Sequioa from the north. After driving for a couple of hours of winding mountain roads we found that the southbound road was closed. We then had to take a detour which took us many more hours. Although just out of Fresno there is a sign mentioning a closure it didn't make it clear that the main route was closed due to the fact that they were renovating a bridge and gave up for the season (We only later found this out). There were many other travellers who looked dismayed when they arrived at the road closure. Shame on you National Park Service you need to make this clearer to save people wasting their journey!

We then approached the park from the South (Three Rivers). You need to be aware that there were 3 miles of road works on the road up to the Giant Sequioas. This may delay you from 20 minutes up to an hour depending on what traffic light you get!

It is for this reason that I would highly recommend staying at Wuksachi Lodge, especially if you have limited time at Sequioa. If you don't stay here you could spend your whole day just getting there and back!

Room Tip: Roadworks and Road Closures are a nightmare currently - call ahead to check
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Model_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
14.3 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
23.7 km away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
27.3 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
21.4 km away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
25.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Property: Wuksachi Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,738 - ₹ 16,861
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing